We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price for New Years” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Place d'Armes Hotel to your Saves list
Place d'Armes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$89 Weekday Rates
Ranked #33 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the price for New Years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Well, our initial impression was good. Historic street front and beautiful courtyard, deak and portoer staff were friendly. However the disappointment came with the room itself. For such a historic hotel I would have expected better decor; there was one picture on the wall and the rest was yellowing wallpaper. Come on guys, there's a market two blocks away where you can buy pictures for $5 each. The bed was satisfactory, however we were not impressed with the cheap foam blanket under the comforter. Looks and feels cheap and doesn't breath so you get very hot. After an 8 hour drive in the car we were looking forward to a nice hot shower. The temperature was barely adequate and the water pressure was nearly non-existant. We were actually laughing at how silly it was. The coffee maker did not work properly, we put in the full amount of water and got back barely half a cup of weak coffee. Finally the lamp shade had yellowing stains on it. Now, for $250 a night I really expected more from this place. I realize I am paying a lot for the location but that only goes so far.
Again the staff were friendly and the grounds beautiful, but we will not be staying here again and we recommend you inspect your room upon arrival.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    600
    146
    68
    59
See reviews for
279
696
70
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon Valley, PA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just came back from my stay over Christmas. We were in room 214, a courtyard room with double beds. The room has double small doors that you could walk out to a long thin balcony that had a table and 2 chairs overlooking the courtyard. It was very quiet, however the room is above an outside small bar that was closed for the winter. So could be noisy in the nicer weather when people are hanging out in the courtyard.

Room was nice, not fancy. Bathroom was nice and clean. Better then what I expected. There is a lot of staff at this hotel, cleaning, sweeping etc...The concierge/bellhop Corey (I believe that was her name) was super nice and helpful. She was impressed with all of my TripAdvisor restaurant recommendations.

We had the breakfast one morning before we headed for a tour. Coffee, Tea, Juice, muffins, and danish. Nothing special. Not homemade so we skipped it the other days.

But the location of the hotel is great, You are in the middle of everything so its wonderful to be able to stop back at the hotel, change coats, rest a little any time. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Can't beat the location - just far enough from Bourbon st to escape the noise but mere minutes away with Jackson Square around the corner.We had a balcony room on the Street and loved it - even learnt some history as a walking tour stopped out the front [apparently the Hotel was originally NOLA's 1st school] - felt rather Grand too as we were sipping our drinks looking down at the tour groups upward admiring glances.
The rooms themselves are cramped yet quaint , and whilst it was late Nov , so it was'nt of any use to us , the pool and courtyard looked positively charming.

Negatives ; the mattress was'nt quite large enough to cover the old metal base and as a result [with the doona hiding this fact] my partner received a nasty bruise on her shin when she bumped into the sharp corner of the base. The Wi-Fi was quite bad - we could only get an intermittent signal inside and eventually had to go out onto the balcony to get a [weak] but consistent signal. Also , a personal bug-bear of mine - no fridge.

All things considered , if you're looking for an immaculately located Hotel with an Old World feel at a good price point you would be hard pressed to beat the Place' de Armes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you plan to stay in the French Quarter, it should be because you want to experience the ambience that it offers and this hotel would be a great addition to that experience. If you want a standard, no-surprises, full-service hotel, don't stay here. The staff was helpful, and mostly very friendly but this is a small, quaint hotel, not a Hilton!

I was here with my husband and daughters (15 and 10). We stayed in room 212 which was perfect for us: large double-double, courtyard room with a large, private balcony. On first entering it was a bit intimidating: narrow, rather dark, with high ceilings, but once we got used to it and saw it in the daylight, it was great. It was clean, very quiet and private--accessed by its own private, narrow staircase. The bed was okay but not the most comfortable. Bathroom was small and not much counter space. Towels were standard fare, toiletries acceptable.

The courtyard of the hotel is really lovely and very well-maintained which made our balcony a very pleasant place to sit. Too bad a cold front had just gone through! The location in the French Quarter was perfect--close enough to the action, but still quiet. The hotel is safe enough that my husband and I felt fine leaving our children for a couple of hours and we walked to Bourbon street the first night and to Frenchman St (about a 15 min walk) the second night. All in all, a great value. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Courtyard room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I come down to New Orleans usually a couple times a year but this was the first time I stayed at the Place d'Armes. I LOVED it. The courtyard was amazingly beautiful and comfortable. The staff was wonderful and let me check in hours early as well. The room was also beautiful and the bed was so comfortable I slept like a baby. It was a wonderful stay and I will totally stay here again.

Room Tip: We were up on the 5th floor which was the top level so there wasn't as much noise from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at place d'armes for 4 days last April. The hotel has old world charm in the epicenter of New Orleans. You are steps away from Jackson square and burbon street, you can smell the beignets from cafe du monde once you step out on to the street. If your a snoby traveler with high expectations this place is probably not for you, but if budgett and location is paramont this is your place! The rooms are just whatever, but really who goes to New Orleans to sit inside your room. It's all about location, loacation, location! give it a try!

Room Tip: all I know is our room had no windows so a bit closterphobic, but again who goes to New Orleans to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

This is the first review I've written on Trip Advisor because even though I use this site frequently I am not much of a reviewer. However, I feel I owe it to people to share my experience this time.

My boyfriend and I had been travelling through the states for a while so to keep within our budget we booked the cheapest room.

When we opened the door, the first thing we saw was a cockroach dashing across the room. Upon closer inspection, to our horror, there was an entire cockroach nest in the corner of the room. But it didn't end there. There was cockroach faeces on the towels in the bathroom too - this room was infested with cockroaches.

Now I know the French Quarter is old and I am more than willing to sleep in a room that is outdated, but I am not willing to sleep with cockroaches.

We were offered a rather unapologetic upgrade but the damage had already been done.

Please think twice before you stay here and especially before you book the cheapest room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcharlesnola, Owner at Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Management is not aware of this guest complaint. Certainly this condition would not be allowed to exist. To our knowledge, no such condition exists ANYWHERE in the facility, which is well maintained, clean and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Place d'Armes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.