We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Save Saved
You added Place d'Armes Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Bedding In All Rooms
Ranked #35 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel was nice and easy to find and park. We had paid for a deluxe room, but you could either end up with a queen or king sized bed and the view could either be courtyard or overlooking the street. We had requested a king with a courtyard view, and both were accommodated. The courtyard was lovely, the pool looked nice but it was too chilly to swim this time of year. The room served its purpose, it was nice and very much resembled photos we had seen. It was clean but looked like it needed a good detailed cleaning. We stayed in room 322.
The bed however, as grateful as we were of the king size, the mattress was very springy and uncomfortable; it hurt our lower backs and hips. We had looked around for the thermostat to control the temperature, but wasn’t able to find one until our last night there, it was hidden behind a door that is left open and separates the bedroom from the vanity area. The staff were super nice and very helpful, especially the parking attendants when my husband had left his sunglasses, then his beanie in the car, they were happy to go and retrieve them both times. The breakfast is as other people have said, consists of juice, coffee, tea, fruit, croissants, muffins, and a few other pastries. Wasn’t spectacular, but again, was enough to start the day until lunch, one less meal to buy.
The location is definitely what you pay for here, as within some 15 steps from the front door you are in Jackson Square. One block away you can enjoy some café au lait and beignets at Café du Monde. Two blocks the other way is Bourbon Street, so after a night out, you don’t have to walk far. On the downside, we were treated to the St. Louis cathedral bells every morning, particularly between 7 and 7:30. I would consider staying here again, as I could live with the bells, but would need a better mattress so I could get a good night’s sleep before the cathedral wake up call.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    574
    137
    67
    59
See reviews for
267
662
66
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Arthur, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I totally enjoyed my stay at this hotel...service was wonderful, breakfast pasteries were perfect ..little hint if you want your pastry warmed just ask the attendant she will happily warm it in the micro...makes a big difference). The location to all things French Quarter was dynomite yet despite the morning trash trucks it was relatively quiet for sleeping and I had a streetside room with Balcony. Each room is a different layout and since we had several rooms booked for our group I was able to check out the diversity. My only wish was that all upper floor rooms had elevator accessability..but the stairs were fine. My room 229 was just up stairs from the front desk and as a single woman felt very safe. We definitely will stay again at this gem of a property.

Room Tip: There is a 3rd floor (elevator access) which one of our group moved to and sounded like it's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I got a great deal for a 2 night stay at this old New Orleans hotel. It is less than a block from Jackson Square. It is touted as the most haunted hotel in New Orleans...the ghost tour stopped right in front of our balcony. Disregard the 'date of stay' in this review, my stay was a couple of years ago, but at that time they had the best croissants brought in the morning by a local bakery for the continental breakfast. Of course, Cafe Dumond is only about one block away for an early morning stroll for beignets and cafe au lait. We loved our balcony suite. We had breakfast there each morning and watched the early morning happenings on St. Ann St. We were walking back to the hotel one night and passed Jackson Square, which evidently is locked up for the nights, there were at least 30+ cats in there! It was amazing. They all knew where the safe place to sleep at night :) I have recommended this hotel to friends and they now say its the place to stay when visiting the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is located right in the center of tourist area - two blocks from Cafe D'Monde, 1/2 a block from Jackson Square, and 2 blocks from Bourbon Street. The rooms are clean, and the staff was helpful...... make that the day staff, the night staff on two occasions were useless - but the day staff turned the situations around so there was no problem! I would definately stay there again!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you are going to New Orleans, you don't want to stay in a cookie-cutter modern hotel. Place d'Armes is steeped in history and has lots of character and characters. It is well priced, located just off Jackson Square and within walking distance of most French Quarter attractions.

Most of the staff are warm and friendly, a few more reserved. Rooms are quirky, but comfortable. The only downside - parking is expensive, but that is the norm in the FQ. We had a courtyard room with a balcony which was fine with us. Quiet at night except for the animals (or ghosts) walking across the roof.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are fine - streets are quiet so a balcony over the street doesn't offer much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Check in was easy; we were allowed to leave our bags before check-in and after we checked-out with ease. We had a courtyard room that opened up right onto the fountain area; couldn't have asked for a better view! The rooms are not modern by any means but the beds were comfortable and the room and bathroom very spacious. Trevor, one of the bellmen, was super helpful with calling us cabs and recommending places to eat. The location was perfect; only steps away from Jackson Square and Cafe DuMonde! The only noise we experienced was our neighbors upstairs in the morning and the occasional foot traffic by our door. Nice breakfast of pastries, fruit, juice, and coffee. We had an amazing experience and plan to come back many times!!

Room Tip: Courtyard View recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WORTH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Place d'Armes is one of three Valentino family owned hotels in the French Quarter. It is located just off Jackson Square facing the Presbytere, which flank St. Louis Cathedral. This makes it accessible to the action, but far enough away to sleep quietly. These hotels are all very reasonably priced for New Orleans, but very low for the French Quarter (normally under $100 including parking & taxes). These hotels are very well-maintained & nicely furnished. This one has a complimentary breakfast. The staff at all hotels is great.

Room Tip: Try to get a room either on the south side, from which you can see Jackson Square or the west side f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#34 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Place d'Armes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.