We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms, courteous staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Save Saved
You added Place d'Armes Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$89 Weekday Rates
Ranked #37 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms, courteous staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

You couldn't ask for a better location in the French Quarter! We had a window room, and it was clean and well-decorated. We didn't expect high-dollar antique decor, since the room was affordable and not outrageously priced, and we were pleased with what we got. My husband and I have traveled a lot, so you come to know what to expect within certain dollar ranges. Place d'Armes didn't disappoint! Everything was clean, the staff was pleasant and knowledgeable, the courtyard was lush and serene, the pool was clean. And for being so close to Jackson Square it was really quiet! The only negatives we found were the bed springs were busted and quite saggy, but neither of us had a problem sleeping on it. And there was construction on a nearby building that started, loudly, at 8:00 in the morning. But I wouldn't think twice about staying there again!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    708
    562
    134
    68
    58
See reviews for
250
650
63
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Check in took a lot longer that it should have. More staff is needed to make sure rooms are ready, but this is a great place to stay. The location is perfect. It's clean, the staff is attentative, and the courtyard is beautiful. Great place to relax. I've been staying there for years, and every time I leave, I can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 2 times during my trips to New Orleans over the years. This hotel has a lot of good memories for me. It also has one of the most beautiful courtyards at a hotel I have seen. You can simply open your door to it and listen to the sounds of the fountains only feet from your doors. The staff was always accomodating and very helpful. Unfortunately during my last several trips to NOLA, it has been hard to get a good room so I have stayed elsewhere. That is for good reason though.....it is still one of the best.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Place d' Armes. The front desk was nice and helpful every time we needed anything. The room was very old french, very clean with a nice bathroom. The TV was small, but we weren't there to watch tv. The courtyard was very beautiful with lots of greenery. The pool was only 5 feet and there were kids in it everyday, but no one was a bother. The hotel set up our tours and we were picked up and brought back. Driving and parking is crazy there. They have a garage right out front to pull in. Bourbon Street was a block away, but from the room you couldn't hear anything. The free breakfast was muffins, juice and coffee and the ice machine was broken. I loved the pictures so much I didn't really price around so I'm not sure what other hotels cost. $179 was what we paid and I feel it was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel was perfect for our first trip to New Orleans. To say the location is excellent is an understatement. You walk out of the front door, make a left and you are just a hop, skip, and jump away from Jackson Square. We booked an interior room with no windows, and we actually enjoyed it. We were on the third floor at the back of the hotel, our room was quiet at night, and since it had no windows there were no distracting lights in the middle of the night to keep my husband awake. Just down the hall was a small balcony with chairs and an excellent view of the cathedral and the street. Some of front desk staff was iffy, if you smiled and said "hello", they would respond back, but they wouldn't go out of their way to greet you. They were having a bit of a rough time (apparently there was a bad storm that knocked out their computer system causing problems with room keys) and had quite a few upset guests. However, if we asked a question they would help us, but they could use a few customer service classes, or just a refresher in general etiquette. However, the bell hops make up for the front desk staff. They were prompt, friendly, and always had a "hello" and a smile for us. We never used the pool, because it was often occupied with kids and we just had better things to do. The courtyard was beautiful, and we would often just sit and enjoy the day in between going out on the town. Breakfast was ok if you are just looking for some fuel for the day. We rented a car one day and parking at the hotel for the night was a breeze.

Room Tip: The third floor at the back of the hotel was excellent. And the balcony had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Awesome location.
Loved the courtyard and the pool. I went for a dip and it was lovely.
Short walk to restaurants, Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, Cafe du Monde.
Would stay here again.
Parking garage for car.
Felt safe and breakfast was good!

Room Tip: We had an interior room with no windows but was very quiet so didn't mind not having access to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We usually stay in chain hotels when traveling but wanted to experience the charm of the French Quarter so chose this hotel and am glad we did. It is close to all of the sights we wanted to see-Jackson Square, Cafe du Monde, Bourbon Street, Royal Street-easy walks to all.

We stayed in a 3rd floor room overlooking Chartres Street. It was charming with tall brick walls and huge windows. The room was very large so the dated TV looked even smaller than it actually was, but we weren't there to watch TV. There is a common balcony accessible from the hallway which was a great way to unwind after a day of sight seeing and shopping. The courtyard with the pool is beautiful and always seemed cooler than the rest of the city as we were walkng through.

The continental breakfast was basic but enough to get you started on your day. The staff was helpful with suggestions especially the bellhop-sorry I did not get her name.

Overall a great place, would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Place d'Armes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.