We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely love this hotel, courtyard, & balcony room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Place d'Armes Hotel to your Saves list
Place d'Armes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$89 Weekday Rates
Ranked #34 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely love this hotel, courtyard, & balcony room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012 via mobile

We had a balcony room and the view was of Jackson Square and the front of the St. Louis Cathedral. They had an intercontinental breakfast but Cafe Dumonde is a short walk so we got beignets and cafe ole and sat on our balcony to have our breakfast overlooking Jackson Square. When we checked out we were able to check our bags so that we could finish sightseeing. The rooms, courtyards and balcony were gorgeous and the service was excellent. You will love the location.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    581
    138
    67
    59
See reviews for
270
673
67
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My freinds and myself stayed at Place d'Armes 4 days in January The staff of the hotel was freindly and outgoing it was like staying with freinds we were steps away from everything in the quarter If you or your freinds are looking for a safe clean hotel just footsteps away from everything is is the place for you Place d'Armes will be my hotel of choice when staying in New Orleans LA

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivoryk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We love the Place d Armes hotel. The rooms are clean , and the Staff are always friendly and eager to help. The location can't be beat. Mario, one of the Bell Hops was always willing to go the extra mile to help with anything you ask of him. The Lady that works in the Breakfast area is very nice and keeps evrything going there.
Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We loved our stay at Place d'Armes December 26-29th, 2011. It is located in a perfect spot--close to everything you will want to do in the French Quarter. The Mississippi river is a block or so away, there is a park right down the street where artists set up their artwork everyday, and musicians play all day. The famous Cafe du Monde is a block away where people wait for the delicious beignets they make fresh everyday. It is a short walk to Bourbon street in one direction, the French market in the other direction. The room was so beautiful! It is worth it to get a room with a private balcony. The staff was wonderful--so friendly and helpful. We walked all over the quarter and saw other nice hotels, but I believe we stayed in the best one there. It is historic, beautiful, charming, safe and comfortable. I loved our room! It was very clean, and decorated in a warm, cozy way. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, and we had a perfect stay there. I would go back to New Orleans and stay at Place d'Armes in a heartbeat. We loved it. If you want to experience the French quarter with charm and beauty, stay here. I highly recommend this place and staff. The staff were always friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. This is a great place to stay with a family as well.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a room with a private balcony overlooking the street. It is worth it! We love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pass Christian, Mississippi, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Our entire family loved the hotel. It was the first experience for our two kids to visit New Orleans, and this hotel was perfect for that. The hotel has a wonderful and friendly staff and the location was perfect and safe. Anyone traveling with kids I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a court yard view, it is peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

A fab little hotel just a short walk from Bourbon street. Stayed for 3 nights in October 2010 and after reading a few reviews was a little dubious of staying here as I'm terrified of the supernatural!!! Thankfully, I never experienced anything remotely frightening or scary. We stayed on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard and pool and our room was nice. All I can complain about is the ceiling fan and air con, they were both really noisy keeping us awake even after a very long trip from the UK. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Charming boutique hotel just steps from Jackson Square; very clean and true flavor of New Orleans! Staff couldn't have been nicer. Could see Jackson Square from the balcony. Stay here if you want the true French Quarter experience; choose another hotel if you are looking for the Holiday Inn experience with modern and sterile rooms. Intimate courtyard. Would have given it an "excellent" rating, but the tv is kind of small and out of date. Otherwise, would DEFINITELY return!! Stayed in room 322 in a king bed room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Place d'Armes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.