We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, lots of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Place d'Armes Hotel to your Saves list
Place d'Armes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Rates from $119
Ranked #43 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, lots of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We loved the location of this quaint hotel in New Orleans. We were staying in New Orleans for just one night on our way across the country and wanted to be in the French Quarter but because we were traveling with our 8 year old, we wanted to stay away from the debauchery of Bourbon Street. This hotel was exactly what we were looking for. It was right near Jackson Square, and Cafe du Monde. We were able to enjoy walking around the French Quarter and the French Market, easy walk to many, many restaurants. We particularly enjoyed watching the street musicians at dusk and just after dark.

We chose the interior room with no windows due to budgetary reasons. The room was spacious, but its proximity to the breakfast lobby and elevators made the room very noisy. I'm sure the balcony rooms were much nicer. For the price, however, we were not disappointed. The room was a great deal for the price. The courtyard and pool area were beautiful and parking was easy.

I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    644
    156
    71
    60
See reviews for
299
737
76
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlstad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed there in July, and it was the most perfect hotel. A big, green garden with a nice pool in the middle. Our room had a big balcony facing the street, and it was super to sit there in the evenings looking at all the people passing by. The hotel is in the middle of the French Quarter and has friendly staff, quite good breakfast and a wonderful atmosphere. We'll be back.

Pelle, Maria and Erik from Sweden

Room Tip: Room 301 has a very big balcony facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The location is perfect!!! The hotel itself has old world New Orleans charm. We will never stay anywhere else. The staff was top notch. The courtyard is absolutely breathtaking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Al
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Very middle of the French Quarter, good access to everythng. The continental breakfast was good, the room, courtyard, and lobby areas very clean. Great weekday price. What would I do different, get a room with a window, didn't think that would bother me but it did. The cleaning staff kept on knocking on the door to clean, even though we had put out the do not distrub sign. Check out time was 11 AM and we wanted to sleep to the last minute not be "rushed out" @ 9A.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helens, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Being only a block from Jackson Square and close to the riverfront made it worth staying here. It had a nice pool area which was nice after hot days of sightseeing. Breakfasts were nice pastries and croissants, not much protein, but they were fresh and tasty. Rooms not huge, but we weren't in our room much. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We have stayed here often. The first stay was based on value and location. It was our 1st visit to New Orleans. Expectations in each of these were exceeded. We were amazed at the beauty and charm of the hotel as a whole and our room specifically. We were doing mutual 'back-pat's and 'high-fives' at being surrounded by history at so little expense. These self-congratulatory actions were repeated each time we ventured out to explore this wonderful city. We were unbelievably close to each of our chosen destinations: Jackson Square, Antoinnes, Court of Two Sisters, Rodrigue Studio (blue dog), Cafe du Monde, Central Market, Flea Market, St. Louis Cemetery, Street Car stop. The list goes on and on. The front desk staff were excellent, helpful, friendly. No request was too small or too much.
The courtyard is a pleasant area to rest, reflect, and/or eat one's complimentary breakfast.
We were a bit surprised-in light of otherwise perfection-with the maid service. One day we returned to our room & the maid was just beginning to clean our room. We chose to have some pool time and she said she would let us know when she was finished-20 to 30 minutes. After an hour we returned to check. She was in an adjacent room & had forgotten to notify us. It was a rush for us to prepare & meet our dinner reservations. Another day we returned to a wonderfully clean room; however our consumed toiletries had not been replenished. We found this surprising especially because we had left her a tip. A call to the front desk & toiletries were promptly delivered.
We cannot wait to return to this 'place' !

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in April. We are a family of four, our kids 18 and 14 years old. We loved this hotel and would definitely stay there again if we were to visit New Orleans. The hotel's location is perfect, a few steps from Jackson Square and Cafe du Monde. The courtyard of this hotel is very lush and charming. We were in room 114 in the courtyard and thought it was perfect. We took our breakfast outside to eat in the courtyard. We thought the breakfast wasn’t great, but it wouldn’t keep us from here staying again. We didn’t use the pool but it did look like it needed some cleaning. The staff was very nice and helpful whenever we asked a question. We didn’t have a car so I can’t comment on the garage. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I wouldn’t hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Place d'Armes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.