We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save now in New Orleans
Ranked #26 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, great location, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

I was in town for a medical convention. Originally I was booked at the New Orleans Marriott across the street but was bumped up to the JW due to overbooking. This hotel is very clean and the staff are incredibly accommodating. Be sure to talk with the concierge on great places to eat! In the five nights we stayed, he never led us astray!! The location is great- walking distance to the French Quarter and Bourbon Street. I would skip Bourbon and see the French Quarter first- it's very beautiful. My room was well cleaned daily and it was very quiet in the rooms at night despite the downtown location. There was a fee for internet in the room. We never tried the restaurant on site, but the bar did ok.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    543
    438
    135
    42
    22
See reviews for
162
361
50
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

I am sick of writing/talking about my experience here, so I will just cut and paste my last email to their customer service. So many things went wrong during our 2 day stay there, I believe it really is a process problem. Staff are so disconnected from each other, it is not funny anymore. (and I am a Marriott elite, this is the worst service I got at a Marriott)

--------
Hello,
Could you please check your records again on the 2nd charge of $XXX.00. This was taken out of our bill by the manager on duty when we were checking out BECAUSE MARRIOTT MADE SO MANY MISTAKES during our stay there. We didn't ask for it, we were given by the manager because there were so many problems and mistakes by Marriott staff. I see this charge as ANOTHER MISTAKE in a chain of mistakes during our stay with JW Marriott New Orleans!!

I thought this was behind us but obviously it wasn't so here I go again telling/writing someone what happened.
1) We made a reservation for the "romance package" which included champagne and strawberries when we arrived. When we arrived it wasn;t there, so we called and asked that it be ready in the evening when we get back from dinner. When we came back, it STILL WAS NOT THERE. Then the manager came late with the package, apologized, etc.

2) Our breakfast was charged to our room eventhough it was in the package

3) In our last day, even though our package included late check out, and further, even though we asked again for confirmation of our late check out, and further more even though there was a "DO NOT DISTURB" sign on the door, here came loud loud knocks on the door (as if a landlord knocks on a unpaying tenant). There she was, the cleaning staff!!! I remember staying in W and ordering room service, and I received a call saying "Sorry sir, our room service is outside your room but can't knock the door since you have a do-not-disturb sign on".

4) Now this!! I get charged the $xxx which was provided without asking for it as an apology.

How incompetent a hotel management system and staff can be!!!!

Obviously, it is a system, process and HR problem. I will write directly to your CEO because nobody through out the chain could get it right!!!

Marriott New Orleans does not deserve the JW classification if JW really stands for something!!!

Good day!!

XXXXXX

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We went to New Orleans for a 3 night trip over MLK holiday. We had booked a different hotel through Priceline that turned out to be a nightmare and once we checked out from that place, I called Marriott to find a hotel nearby using our points. We ended up at the J.W. Marriott at Canal Street and loved it.

The staff was super friendly, we got a great room at the 9th floor - spacious, quiet, nicely decorated, wonderful bed. We got a roll away bed for our 3 year old daughter, and still had lots of room around it. The only thing that could be nicer in this room was the bathroom, which is small for this level Marriott. Everything was very clean and looking fairly new. We only stayed for 2 nights but were able to sleep wonderfully (hey, we came from a hotel where we couldn't sleep the night before, so that was much appreciated).

Our daughter had an accident and got her clothes wet while we were out, and I was able to use their guest laundry on the 8th floor, which is complimentary (you pay for detergent or bring your own). While I washed and dried her coat she and her dad stayed in the room watching cartoons on TV. In 1 hour everything was dry and we were able to go out again and continue our tour of the French Quarter, which starts right across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Marriots are usually great and this one was too. Everyone was friendly and happy and accommodating. Great proximity to everything and wonderful views. It's so close to Bourbon St. that I heard the street musicians bounce music around 7pm and it called me out...don't worry it wasn't loud...I have great hearing and it was slight but enough to draw a music lover like me. The place was packed due to American idol auditions being in town. The second night I stayed in a different room to get another perspective/view. This building has a very interesting design with large windows in the outer corner of the room which really optimize the view . The only very small details that did not "wow" me...the pool seemed a bit small and kinda luke warm and very urban with only concrete in site even so I enjoyed it and suprizingly the restaurant closes at 10 with last orders placed at 9:30. After gallavanting around town I noticed the rooftop pool at the Westin so as soon as there was a room available I moved over there to enjoy yet another perspective of this crazy town. Loved it!!! Oh I was gallavanting around town via bike and both hotels were very bike friendly!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrier, AR
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We booked our room through Priceline so we got it cheaper than regular price. I loved the location and the room was fantastic. We upgraded to a corner room and the view was nice. Shula's Steakhouse was really good. The bed was really comfortable. Really close to Bourbon but far enough away that you could sleep at night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

JW Marriott is what you'd expect of most mid-range chain hotels. It's clean, well maintained, welcoming -- but nothing to write home about. The design and guest experience is what I expected it to be.

The staff are nice and friendly. The gym has good equipment, the pool is on the smallish side but was empty because it was winter.

The location is great, right in the French Quarter and the street car lines, so you can pretty much get anywhere in the city.

It's a great option if you want to be in the center of town, and don't care about having super design-focused customer experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

This is the hotel where we stay when we come to New Orleans throughout the year. It's perfect because my husband and I like to party and this hotel is literally directly across the street from the party scene in the French Quarter. The rooms are nice and we have rarely had issues with service. The spa is a bit spare and could use some upgrades, as it is a very small spa with no true separation of the waiting area from a real relaxation area/room and truly is not worthy of such a large establishment. The massage and facial themselves were great. However, I get cold really easily and the technician who did my facial did not have a heating pad for the table....she was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.