We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Building, Excecptional People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #33 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building, Excecptional People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

I spent a long Memorial Weekend solo in NOLA. I'm part of that group of travelers that prefer the large chains to the boutique hotels. What some travelers might call "cookie cutter" hotels means "clean & consistant comfort" to me. Furthermore, the employees of the hotel put in the extra effort to make your stay more relaxing and enjoyable. EXAMPLE: While having breakfast in the hotel, I saw a CHEF (not a waiter/waitress)personally serve food to an elderly couple, making sure that the meal met their special dietary concerns. Over the weekend I witnessed several events of this type. Everybody knows that the JW has a great location and is beautifully (modern) decorated, but their concern for customers puts them on top of my list of favorite places to stay. While dining at Shula's Restaurant in the hotel (great food!), I met Donna Brown, the Operations Manager of the JW property. She exuded energy and pride while talking about her worker's committment to excellence. I felt good just listening her her, because her committment to excellence is a committment to ME! I'm going back to NOLA in a few months and I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    520
    160
    49
    22
See reviews for
184
433
54
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park Hills, KY (just outside Cincinnati)
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

It was great when we arrived before 11am and they already had our room ready. We headed to the 22nd floor and had a corner room. The view was so-so but the room was fairly small. We had concierge lounge access so we went up to get some waters and check it out. We were informed that the lounge would be closed for over a week due to renovations and it would be relocated to a small room off the lobby.

The next morning, the renovations started... at 6am. Every morning of our 3 night stay began that way. Loud drilling was heard till almost 6pm one day out of our 3 day stay. Not so relaxing! We were still able to enjoy the breakfast, appetizers, and honor bar at the concierge lounge but it seemed like EVERYONE at the hotel was as well. The front desk clerks were asked what was going on in that room. The clerk then told the guest that since they had low occupancy, they could go ahead in and grab a snack. Sorry, I was a bit upset after spending $40/night more for the access that this person wasn't spending that! We were looking forward to taking advantage of the free wireless access in the lounge and the exclusive setting like we've experienced at all other Marriotts. DEFINITELY did not get that!

Like others have said, the location was great. Jackson Square was a 10 minute walk, the river 5, Bourbon just across the street... doesn't get much better then that! I felt 100% safe walking around late at night in that area. Maybe try it again after the renovations are over but I think I'd rather stay at the much nicer looking Marriott right across Canal!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

The JW Marriott in New Orleans was wonderful. Beautiful 22nd floor corner room. The front desk people were attentive and provided excellent service. Nice pool, on the small side. Great bed and linens. Enjoyed the nice large flat scree TV. Great location, close to the french quarter. Would definetly stay again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami fl
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Stayed for Memorial Day weekend with partner & friends. Hotel has small lobby as opposed to other JW's, however, there is a small bar area to meet others in your group. Room was nicely furnished, comfortable & had a great plush bed. Bathroom was clean and comfortable. Pool area is very very small for the size of this property, however, how much time do you really stay at the pool when in NoLa. Enjoyed, would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

This hotel is located on Canal Street (address maybe on an other street) and easy walking to the French Quarter (Burbon St. two blocks away) and casino and River Front (and I think walking to the Convention Center). There is a Shula SteakHouse in hotel but who wants chain restuarants (even if excellent) when there are so many great independents in NOLA).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
588 reviews 588 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 219 cities Reviews in 219 cities
561 helpful votes 561 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

The J W Marriott in New Orleans is an excellent place to stay for either business or leisure. On the business side of Canal Street, it is convenient to the downtown business area, but one has only to walk across Canal Street to enter the French Quarter area. Royal Street and Bourbon Street are only a few blocks away and easily accessed on foot. We were glad not to be staying in the noisy French Quarter and are certain that we slept better by staying just outside that area. The location is downtown, however, and you will hear some sirens.

The hotel public areas are contemporary elegant – clean and inviting. The reception area is adequate but can feel small if you happen to arrive at the same time as 30 other guests. The staff is efficient and calm in handling high-volume times. Two computers in the corner of the lobby (one dedicated to airport check-in) are almost constantly in use.

Our room is beautiful – crisp, smooth white linens on the king-size bed with one of the most comfortable mattresses and pillows I’ve ever slept on. Granite top cabinet and desk, a task chair, 2 upholstered chairs, a glass-top iron table, and 2 nightstands complete the room. Large windows look out to the city providing as much entertainment as the flat panel TV. The bathroom is not spacious but is well-maintained and is appointed with toiletries and good towels. Even the hallways and elevator areas are attractive as you move about the hotel.

We were fortunate to obtain a weekend AAA rate which made this hotel an affordable extravagance for us. Nothing special was going on in town to draw tourists, so we even got complimentary breakfast buffet at Shula’s restaurant in the hotel each morning. A woman makes great omelettes to order, but approach her gently – she was the only person we encountered who did not have a welcoming , service-oriented demeanor. We highly recommend the J W Marriott to anyone visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

The JW New Orleans isn't the most grand hotel in the city, but it works. The location can't be beat if you are looking for easy access to Bourbon street. It's just a few blocks away from the action, but is still far enough away that you can get away from the Bourbon street craziness if you need to. Also within walking distance from the aquarium and the casino.

The staff was friendly. Concierge was a little hard to get an appointment with. We were looking to plan a day trip to the swamps and every time we walked the desk she was either with someone or has a sign up that she was "returning soon." I called and left a message and never had my call returned. We ended paying a visit to the visitors center in Jackson Square to book our tour and were very happy with their service.

Beds were very comfortable with plush linens, but the decor left a bit to be desired.

Beautiful gym. Nice rooftop pool, but tiny.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.