We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Accommodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #37 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely Accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We moved to the JW after a poor experience at another hotel and our room was reading at 10:30 a.m., which was a pleasant surprise! The room was very clean and laid out well. The beds were comfortable and their were covers over the mattresses which is always a good feeling. The front desk staff was absolutely excellent! Every time we called with a question or stopped by they were more than accommodating and friendly. The pool area is a little strange but was a welcome respite on an extremely hot day. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our river facing room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    573
    190
    53
    23
See reviews for
211
482
59
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel was ok. The location is great. The service and rooms were not up to JW standard in my option. I have stayed in many Marriott include JWs. Usually the rooms are trendy and the service is great. I did not find that here. Each day we needed to call down you have room cleaned, it was usually not clean until 5pm. The rooms more like that a hotel near an airport.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Economist_AI,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding our hotel. Being "OK” is not OK with us. We sincerely apologize for not providing an outstanding experience for you. We will use your comments to make the necessary adjustments to improve the experience for all guests that choose the JW Marriott. We appreciate your comments regarding our location. We are in the heart of the downtown New Orleans and certainly provide access to all that the city has to offer. We hope that you will return to our hotel, I am certain we can provide the service that you have come to expect from the JW Marriott Brand.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
JW Marriott New Orleans
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The workers at the property are very on point...very friendly and attentive. The rooms are spacious as well and the location is great. I was surprised though that the registration area was small compared to the rest of the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at the JW Marriott for 4 nights and enjoyed myself the entire time. It's located right on Canal St only a block or two from Bourbon. Besides the location the staff was very kind and courteous. One of the mangers I believe his name was Cole told us where all the best places to visit in town. The next time I book a vacation in New Orleans it will be at the JW Marriott.

Rich W

Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear valued guest,

We are thrilled that you find our hotel to stand out as being first-class in New Orleans. Thank you for letting us know how much you loved our location, kind staff and enjoyable property. We appreciate you letting us know about Cole's excellent recommendations in the city. We love hearing when our team shares their knowledge of New Orleans with our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Called ahead for late check-in, so no problems when I arrived around nine pm. Front desk very efficient, as well as valet. Albert, the bellman, was exceptional and especially helpful as I always travel with a lot of bags! Late-night room service was also great.

Room Tip: Higher floor away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear northlafamily,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to let us know what stood out to you about your stay. We are thrilled that our team was so accommodating for you with efficient service. We appreciate you letting us know about Albert's notable service as well. We are glad that you also enjoyed your in-room dining experience. Thank you for your generous review and we hope you will come back soon.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for four nights at the JW Marriott on Canal Street late in June. The hotel is a lovely full service Marriott with all the bells and whistles such as upgraded bath amenities and good sheets, pillows and towels. But the best part of the hotel was the staff. From the front desk to the Executive lounge to the maids in the rooms, the staff was unrelenting in their kindness and professionalism . Ask where some local site is and they Google it for you and offer other suggestions. Ask for extra towels and the appear in your room magically.
the location on Canal Street is perfect. The entire French Quarter is at your doorstop, all sorts of music, a mall, shops and restaurants.
One note, the pool area is very small, only about 7 lounge chairs and 80 guests fighting for them. Don't plan on getting one. There was some sort of girls volleyball team staying there and everything was crowded including the executive lounge. I can't believe they were all elite members and question letting 100 kids and parents into a lounge with limited capacity and food. Perhaps management should rethink that
All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear SallyForth211,

We would like to thank you for your incredibly generous review of our hotel. We always love hearing what out guests love about our property. We are overjoyed that you love our luxurious amenities, outstanding staff and perfect French Quarter access. Thank you for your feedback on our pool area and executive lounge on the busy weekend of your visit. We appreciate your kind review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

6/19/15. Why I love my trips to New Orleans? It's because I love my stays at the JW Marriott, 614 Canal St, NOLA - my home away from home! Effortless valet parking, warm welcoming check-in, very friendly and courteous staff, as well as the beautifully decorated guest rooms are just a few reasons why I always choose this specific hotel. Mr Neil W operates a very professional operation at this location. Although there are many great restaurants in the area, this restaurant also has a great Cajun and Creole cuisine. Hence, I didn't have to go to far to enjoy some great Southern cooking. The hotel is located in a great area - available to all types of entertainment for family and friends. Again, another awesome stay!!

Room Tip: Bring a great attitude to have a great time. You're in the great area - Bourbon Street and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Dkmdkm11,

We could not be happier to hear that your time in New Orleans is made better by the JW Marriott New Orleans. We are incredibly honored to be the highlight of your travels and your home away from home. From our efficient check-in and warm welcome to our friendly staff and beautiful guest rooms, it sounds like you truly enjoy the luxury of our property. We are also delighted that you love dining with us on-property as well. Thank you for your positive feedback on Neil's hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.