We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a Free Night!
Ranked #25 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Great hotel stay. The Staff was awesome. Daryl the bellman was incredible. He gave us some great places to eat and see. The whole entire staff was wonderful. Only bad thing was the pool and fitness centers were closed and we were not informed if that when we made the reservation. You have to go across the street to the Marriott to use the pool. Taking 2 young boys across Canal St wet and tired was no fun but oh well. Great time had by all.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear bearcatfan50,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your fantastic experience at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We are delighted that your family had such a wonderful time with us and that you especially received such excellent service from Derham. We are glad to hear that he guided you to the best of New Orleans restaurants and attractions, which included plenty of family-friendly options near the hotel. We hope you had the time to enjoy the nearby Insectarium, Aquarium and Children's Museums with your little ones! Additionally, please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced while our pool and fitness center were closed. We hope you'll have a chance to experience our refreshed pool and fitness center on your next visit to New Orleans!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    464
    139
    43
    22
See reviews for
170
389
53
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Me and some of my friends stayed at the JW Marriott on Canal Street for a weekend getaway. The hotel is located in a prime location, putting you right at the French Quarters. A couple of blocks away from bourbon street, and a few blocks away from the River Walk, Malls and other places to see in New Orleans. The staff at the hotel was outstanding,very accommodating and extremely responsive to our needs and requests. The hotel is very clean and décor is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Daneli0045,

Thank you for your feedback. We could not be more pleased to hear that you found our hotel ideally located near some of the best sightseeing and shopping in New Orleans, such as the recently opened Outlet Collection at Riverwalk and Bourbon Street. It's great that you also enjoyed our exceptional service as well as ambiance. We'd be delighted to host you again on your next trip to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The positive points for this hotel are:
1. Clean
2. Friendly Staff
3 Good location
On the other hand, the hotel does not offer free internet to Gold Status member. The size of the room is on the small size as compare with other JW Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear 08180326,

We deeply appreciate the time you took to provide us with your feedback. Thank you for telling us how much you enjoyed our hotel's cleanliness, wonderful staff and prime location in the heart of downtown New Orleans. We apologize for the confusion concerning your complimentary wireless internet. It is complimentary for all Gold Elite reward members. Please contact the hotel directly to make the appropriate correction to your bill. In addition, we are disappointed to hear that you found us to be an average JW and hope that we may have an opportunity to truly amaze you with our luxury service on your next visit to New Orleans.


Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willimantic, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The staff are a real advantage at this hotel. The concierge recommended good, affordable restaurants in the area and were cheerful even at 2am. The staff at the doors seemed to really enjoy their jobs and meeting the guests. There is a staff member at the elevators to check for room keys so only guests can go upstairs. I didn't have any problems with noise from the hallway even though it was a summer weekend in New Orleans. The restaurant was pricey (as hotel restaurants are) but the food was really tasty. The rooms were clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Annalida500,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback about your stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. It is wonderful to hear your praise of our staff's excellent service, knowledgeable recommendations and sincerity. We're thrilled you had a chance to experience Chef Rene Bajeux's menu at Canal Street Grill. Chef Rene is quite a treasure- he is one of only a handful of French Master Chefs in the United States. We eagerly await your return.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed here on a trip to visit Tulane University, Great location right on the street cart route. Nice size hotel. Not too big. Beautiful rooms. GREAT Club Floor Lounge. Close to everything you want to do and see. Concierge made excellent recommendations.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Lisa,

We're glad to hear you had such a great experience with us while you were visiting beautiful Tulane University. Guests always rave about the quality of our Executive Lounge and it's wonderful you were able to experience its panoramic views, exquisite buffet and superb service. We're also pleased to hear that our concierge helped guide you to experience the best of New Orleans during your stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Big Easy.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

THE SERVICE IS FABULOUS!! All of the staff go out of their way to make your stay wonderful, especially, the doorman, Paul, and the bell hop, Alfred! The rooms are very nice, the views are okay; The beds/pillows are extremely comfortable! Our kids (11, 8 & 4) loved the roof top pool! My husband and I would absolutely stay here again (this was our second time staying here, last trip was in November 2013, and again, the stay was great!!)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Theresa,

Thank you so much for sharing about your fabulous stay with us! Our staff strives to deliver an exceptional experience to every guest and it certainly sounds like this happened in your case. New Orleans is a great place to visit with your family and we hope you had a chance to experience the Louisiana Children's Museum, the zoo, the aquarium, and the many other family-friendly destinations located close by our hotel. It would be our pleasure to host you again.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed here for an extended period of time during summer/fall 2010. The rooms were great, comfortable and clean. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They even upgraded me to a 2 room suite for my birthday. The staff made this stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Andrew,

We couldn't agree more about our front desk staff, who continue to impress us every day. It was our pleasure to make your birthday extra memorable and provide you with a comfortable, clean luxury environment during your extended business stay. We hope you will come visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.