We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base for Our Sightseeing Adventure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #37 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Base for Our Sightseeing Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Not to be confused with the more prominent New Orleans Marriott across the street, the JW Marriott is located on the south side of Canal Street with parking entrance on Common Street. The JW Marriott is a nice, full-service property conveniently located to the French Quarter. Parking is by valet only and the retrieval was quick for us. Check-in went smoothly and we used bell service for check in and check out. The bellmen in both instances were very courteous and helpful. Our room was comfortable, but I was disappointed to find bits of debris still on the floor in the bathroom. The bathroom was cramped but the shower and tub were full-size and nice. We were on the 30th floor with a nice view facing the water and Quarter. This hotel close to streetcar stops, and you can do so much in the area without ever using your car. Jazzy Day Passes are available for $3.00 and make hop-on, hop-off easy. Since this was our first visit to New Orleans, we did the touristy things and walked around the French Quarter, visited Jackson Square and took in the sights. This JW Marriott was a great base for our sightseeing adventure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear apswen,

Thank you for your beautiful photos of our property as well as your kind words about your stay. It was our pleasure to be the base for your first New Orleans experience. We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be conveniently located and our service to be very courteous. We are however sorry to hear that we did not exceed expectations in every detail and we appreciate your feedback as it helps us continuously elevate our guests' experience.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    582
    193
    54
    24
See reviews for
215
487
60
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Paul always spotted is out each day and made sure we were enjoying our stays. His smile and cheerful personality was always a warm welcome. He is a great asset to this hotel. The hotel was nice and accommodating as well.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Melinda,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. Paul is a bit of a TripAdvisor celebrity at our hotel and we are delighted to hear that you received his excellent service. We certainly appreciate him and we are very proud to have wonderful ambassadors like Paul on our team. We would be honored to host you the next time you visit New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

A plea to hotel companies, just let us park our own cars. Probably waited 45 minutes to get my car and I even called down 10 minutes before heading down. But what do you expect for 42 bucks. I'm also pretty sure they damaged my car to boot. Note that to get to valet you have to go in back alley, not the destination spot of your gps. Follow the sign. That being said, hotel was nice, good service at check in, well supplied breakfast buffet. Room good. Internet good (luckily status kept me from paying high price).

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Gottdownunder,

Thanks for the positive comments about the wireless internet, breakfast buffet, service at check in and the hotel overall. However, we are concerned about your valet parking experience. Please contact me directly to discuss further. We truly want your entire hotel experience to be flawless and your feedback helps us achieve this goal. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

1. When you enter in the back to valet all the men are most helpful to assist with your bags and opening the door for you. Paul is one that I remember the most as I have stayed at this hotel for several work trips. Paul greets you with a warm welcome and gives you specific directions to make your stay most comfortable.
2. The drinks at bar are delicious. Please ask for George. He has an outstanding personality and makes you feel at home.
3. The rooms are clean, neat, and located near most attractions.
4. Jim Fein and Carmen Joseph are hands on if you need to make group reservations. They both follow-up to ensure that you are happy.
5. Needless to say "I will only stay at the JW Marriott when traveling to New Orleans"

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Amber,

Thank you for your kind words about your stay at the JW Marriott! We will be sure to pass on your compliments to Jim, Carmen, Paul and George, who are all outstanding examples of the service we consistently deliver at our luxury property. George makes a mean Hendricks martini and we hope you had the chance to try it! We eagerly await your return.

Sincerely,
Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Room: First night I had a hole in my bottom sheet and a broken AC. I felt like I was staying in a budget hotel and not a top of the line hotel. On the second night I found out the maids threw away something important. The cleaning staff need some training.

The front desk staff are great and very helpful but I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor if you don't want to hear street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Citygir,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that the Front Desk Staff were great and very helpful to you. However, Please accept my apology for your experience in your guest room. We would agree with your sentiments and will take the necessary steps to address this situation with our staff to help improve our performance. Please contact me directly as I would like to speak to you further regarding your experience. I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to change your opinion of our hotel and pay us a return visit.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

All amenities of a luxury hotel with the price of a premium hotel. The concierge lounge served great food and had a really nice breakfast. Rooms are well appointed and elevators are fast. Lots of space in the rooms and good closet and drawer space for the business traveler who needs to call this home for more than a couple of days. The hotel itself is excellent, but food in the lobby restaurant "Canal Street Grill" is just fair. Example - gumbo was barely lukewarm and the shrimp in it were soggy (not fresh.) Skip it and venture across the street to the French Quarter for something to eat. Otherwise great place and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Joe,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is spectacular to hear that you were very satisfied our luxury amenities, such as the delicious cuisine in our Executive Lounge and well appointed rooms. While we definitely encourage our guests to explore the incredible dining options nearby such as Tableau and Le Foret, we are sorry to hear that your meal at Canal Street Grill did not exceed your expectations. Our Executive Chef, Rene Bajeux, is a French Master Chef and we would very much like to make this up to you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Phenomenal concierge lounge. Sodas, juices, water, and coffee available all day. They say "Hors d'oeuvres" around 5:30PM, but it was so good and such a great spread it could serve as dinner if you're in a pinch.

Rooms are what you'd expect at a JW Marriott and you are centrally located so it's a great place to enjoy New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Joshua,

We couldn't agree more about our Executive Lounge! It's a wonderful place to work or rest, with its panorama views, great service and wonderful food and beverage options. There's nothing better than grabbing an Illy cappuccino and enjoying the view of the French Quarter to jumpstart your day. Additionally, we thank you for mentioning our excellent rooms and exceptional, convenient location in downtown New Orleans. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#94 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,320 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#29 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#17 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.