We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls trip to the Essence Festival 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #39 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Girls trip to the Essence Festival 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

First time vacationing in the South and J.W. Marriot in NOLA was a great place to start. It's just between the Central Business District and French Quarter area off of Canal Street. The hotel building is attractive pretty much what we expect from the J.W. Marriot property. The staff , however, is what will keeps us coming back. Their professionalism and attention to detail were exceptional. Looking forward to our next visit. NOLA Jazz Festival 2015!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Ginger,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We are delighted that you found our hotel attractive and up to the high standards of the JW brand. It is such a pleasure to hear about the fantastic service you received during your stay, as we pride ourselves in delivering an exceptional, detail-oriented luxury experience to our guests. We can't wait to exceed your expectations again in 2015!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    601
    199
    59
    24
See reviews for
228
505
60
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Belvoir, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our first time staying here at the JW Marriott. I am truly impressed. We come here to the essence festival every year and this truly was our best experience thus far. Gary and Catherine among all others there are truly what you called great customer service. I was not only comfortable but truly pleased with everything . Thanks you have won me over. See you next year!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Michelle,

Thank you for your kind words! We are thrilled to hear that our service made your Essence Festival stay one of the best so far. Gary and Catherine will be very happy to hear that they contributed to making this stay an exceptional one for you. We're eagerly awaiting your return in 2015!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've stayed numerous weeks at this location. It's nestled between the Central Business District and French Quarter area right off Canal Street. The hotel building is very classy and what you would expect from a typical J.W. Marriot branded property; however, the staff of this hotel makes it my first choice for my New Orleans lodging needs.

The executive lounge is managed by Tom and Earnesto. Their attentiveness to detail and true professionalism are superb and should be recognized and compensated as real assets to the New Orleans J.W. Marriott.

Room Tip: The corner king suites are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Jeff,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that our professional, superb service is what truly makes this a terrific hotel for you. Tom and Ernesto are indeed wonderful examples of the kind of luxury service we provide, and we deeply appreciate them as well as the rest of our exemplary staff members. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Lets face it, there are a lot of hotels in New Orleans. From the small and intimate up to the large convention hotels. The JW here is normally my first choice when I come to the city for a lot of different reasons - that are important to me at least. First in my book is that its not known as a convention hotel, however it has the same location as many of them do. The large Sheraton is right next door and the even larger regular Marriott is directly across the street. If you want that really large, crowded experience (albeit with a few more amenities), just go there instead of here. While the JW isn't necessarily a small hotel, its very small comparied to its competition that surrounds it. It feels cozy and the staff are very friendly and available. Yes at times it can be a little pricey, but gracious it is right in the heart of everything. The location can't be beat. Just steps from the french quarter, a couple blocks to the river and the shopping malls, but protected and quiet at the same time. Hard to beat.

If you are an elite member or have access to the executive lounge, it is done better than most. While not extremely large (it can get a bit crowded at peak breakfast time) the food is fresh and good and the evening snacks are almost meals upon themselves.

loose ends: No reason to rent a car here if you are staying primarily in the downtown areas, taxis are plentifull and reasonable while parking is difficult and expensive. lots of good restaurants within walking distance.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear RC30319,

We are honored to be your first choice hotel in New Orleans! We could not agree more about the serene, luxurious environment that we offer our guests in the heart of downtown New Orleans. With all of the nightlife and daytime activities available in the French Quarter, it is important to many of our guests that they can retire to a quiet, pristine and luxurious environment. It is also pleasing that you mentioned our Executive Lounge, which boasts spectacular views, delicious meals and genuine service. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again on your next trip to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed at the JW Marriott last April 2014 for the Easter week-end. We had two rooms, both were impeccable. The staff was professional, sooo friendly and helpful. The customer service lady booked our Bayou Tour in no time, the bellman greeted us at the door every day with bottles of cold water and a huge jar of fresh fruit punch was available in the entrance on a daily basis. Its location is perfect; from there you could walk or take the trolleys or buses to anywhere you want. The price was reasonable, the swimming pool is located on the roof top which was a plus for our teenagers. One tiny complaint: there was only one bathrobe in the room when we arrived and received one right after we asked. We would not hesitate to book there again and very much appreciated their Southern hospitality. New Orleans should be on your bucket list!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear juanjuanita2014,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your April stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We couldn't be more pleased to hear that you found your rooms impeccably maintained and the service excellent. We are happy that we were able to immediate deliver you an additional bathrobe as soon as it was requested and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience. We certainly hope you return to New Orleans!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I lioved the location but for the price I think the hotel should provide free or for a nominal fee a shuttle to and from the hotel. The parking rate should be lowered to house your rental car as well.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear AngieBMW,

We're delighted to hear that you loved our convenient location in downtown New Orleans! We're in the perfect place to discover the French Quarter, within steps of Bourbon Street, the Outlet Collection at Riverwalk, and historic Jackson Square. We appreciate your feedback as it will help us continuously improve our guests' experience. We work hard to keep our parking as affordable as possible given our downtown location and it is comparable with similar hotels in the area. It would be our pleasure to host you on your next trip to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I just came back from the JW Marriott: stayed from the 27June2014 to 4th July 2014 ,love my experience at the hotel. The staff are very nice polite from the reception, house keeping to the security guard, valet boy, any questions are suggestions from the City, they are so open mind to give you any needs you ask with a smile and a great sense of humour. Hotel is clean, even with The Essence 2014 Event, the hotel is remain pretty quiet. Great location for restaurant, casino, French quarter..My comfortable king bedroom on the 14th floor has a nice view on canal street!! The pool on the 8th floor is very appreciated after a long sticky day of walk. The gym room is well equipped! I will go back anytime! Only one thing internet is not available everywhere, my only disappointment ..but still can get free WiFi on "The marriott public " in the lobby.

Room Tip: Don't pay for internet 14$ per day, because you can go to the lobby for free: just connect on Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Darouny,

We deeply appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It's fantastic to hear that you found our service warm and friendly. We absolutely recommend our 8th floor pool as a relaxing place to lounge after a long day of strolling the French Quarter. We are also happy that you enjoyed our complimentary wifi on the first floor, which is a great option for our guests. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#92 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,378 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#27 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#15 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#82 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,239 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.