We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #28 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed at the JW for a recent business trip because it was within walking distance of our meeting location, and everything else in the French Quarter. Loved the "boutique feel" of the property and the staff could not have been nicer! Every single employee we interacted with was friendly, helpful, and upbeat. I didn't write down names, but Paul the bellman was our last contact and left a perfect final impression. The recommendations by all of the concierge staff were right on--The Ruby Slipper was the perfect last meal for Sunday brunch, and a nice change from the local fare we had been eating for the previous four days. I LOVE LOVE LOVE New Orleans cuisine, but our group was kind of fried and buttered-out by the last day, so the RS was a huge hit! I would agree with other reviewers that the rooms weren't as nice as other JW properties we've stayed at, but still very comfortable and well-appointed. The lobby and bar areas are lovely, and a nice refuge from the heat of NOLA summers.

The only reason I didn't give the JW an Excellent rating was an experience we had on Saturday evening: as we walked down Canal St. toward the property, we noticed two "working women" strolling up the street. One was rolling an obviously empty suitcase, and the other was wearing what could only be described as a "ruffle" around her waist because it covered nothing, including the thong she had on. Our group kind of chuckled and thought "wow", but that's not a completely unusual sight in the French Quarter, so whatever. As we got closer to the hotel entrance on the Canal St side, it became clear that the JW was their destination, as well. These gals went straight through the lobby/bar (turning every head in the process) to the elevators, where the person checking guest credentials at the elevators allowed them to pass on through and head upstairs. I'm not clueless and certainly no prude, but felt this was inappropriate and sort of sad considering the type of property, and the fact that there were families with small children in the lobby/bar area at the time. I'm not exactly sure what the elevator security was for if it didn't address that kind of spectacle?

I would definitely stay at the JW on Canal St. again due to the location and the wonderful staff! A perspective check on the necessity of that elevator security role might be helpful, though.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best. Canal St side for the views but a little more noise, Common St side for peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
​Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are very pleased that, due to the wonderful service that Paul and the rest of our staff provided, you would definitely stay with us again. It's great you experienced the Ruby Slipper, an excellent choice for a nearby brunch. We do take security very seriously at our luxury property and we will certainly take your feedback to see where we can improve our guests' experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    488
    143
    47
    22
See reviews for
174
406
54
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great location on Canal where you can walk to everything. Where do I begin with the disappointing quality: 1) we did not get many channels on TV (much needed on vacation mornings in NOLA). Engineering could not fix it because it was an issue with the provider. 2)Our door didn't click shut properly and our housekeeping left it unlocked after cleaning (nothing stolen fortunately). 3) the rooms are clean but sometime tired. The pool was so murky you could not see the bottom (ICK). Not what I would expect for price. 3) Come on with your $40 hotel parking. Next door Residence Inn is $34. Or, just go down the street a block and park for $25 at a city lot.

As usual, I will also comment on the gym. It was GREAT. (TV worked better than in my room.) It was clean with updated equipment. I'd give it a 9/10.

We complained to management about our room concerns and they were extremely apologetic. Hopefully in addition to apologizing and awarding us points, they have also fixed the lock on the room, worked with cable tv provider so guests can watch CBS, NBC and ESPN. I would stay here again, but I have to say that I would try the Residence Inn next door first.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear mhodges71,

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review of your experience at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We are disappointed that you felt your stay was not up to JW Marriott Standards. Thank you for mentioning our health club as a great space to maintain your fitness routine. On the other hand, we will look into each area you mentioned that needs improvement and insure that we make the necessary corrections. We do have the major networks that you mentioned, CBS, NBC and ESPN, which may mean there was a localized problem with the TV in your guestroom. As mentioned we will address each of your concerns so that a future guest does not incur the same issues you experienced. We would like another opportunity to be of service to you if travel brings you back to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed in May at the hotel and it was a great location for those wanted to explore the French Quarter in New Orleans, Frenchman Street, the WWII War Museum. I can not say enough about the Front Desk Service as well as the great concierges, especially Daisy. Her recommendations for restaurants were top notch and 2 of our favorite meals during our stay. She had recommended Dante's Kitchen and Cafe Atchafalaya. My mouth is still watering from our meals! Thanks to the front desk who always had an umbrella at my disposal as it rained everyday too! I wish I would of tried another one of Daisy's recommendations instead of going to the much touted Commanders Palace, which was very disappointing and one of the worst meals I have had.

Room Tip: We stayed on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Fran,

We very much appreciate your feedback and we are delighted to hear that you not only discovered some of New Orleans' best destination but also experienced superb service. Daisy is a fantastic concierge and we are so pleased that she gave you excellent service and recommendations. We eagerly await your return.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The whole staff was amazingly friendly and welcoming. It seemed that all of the staff went out of the way to make things easy for us. Especially Paul the bellman who had my cellphone taxied to me at the airport after I left it in the room. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Katie,

Thank you for your kind words about the JW Marriott New Orleans. We understand that exceptional service is paramount to a luxury experience and our staff truly go the extra mile for our guests. Paul is frequently mentioned on TripAdvisor and we are very pleased that you had the chance to experience his amazing service. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next New Orleans trip.


Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

One of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was extremely customer-focused. Kudos to Paul the Doorman was extra helpful in assisting me and my co-workers with navigating the city. His recommendations on food and night light were spot on, and made our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Tamara,

It was our pleasure to provide you with one of the best hotel experiences you've ever had. We are indeed incredibly focused on customer service, as Paul exemplified during your stay.We are so glad that Paul was able to make your stay truly exceptional. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel lobby was nice. But, for the amount you pay, the Westin is better. The bathrooms are extremely small. They only have valet parking for $40 a night. The Westin has self parking and they validate it before you leave.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Mark H.,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at the JW New Orleans. As your review indicated, you were not very satisfied with your experience at our hotel. We are disappointed that your experience at our hotel did not provide the value you expected. We sincerely hope that you will consider returning to our hotel in the future and allowing us to provide you with the simple luuxuries that JW is known for.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Exceptional personal service at this centrally located hotel. The staff is focused on giving personal service, especially Peter Fitzgerald at check in, Daisy at the Concierge desk, Eve in the Canal Street Grill and Michelle in Functions. The food is excellent and beverages outstanding--thanks to George. Great stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Songbird1045,

Thank you for sharing your stay at JW Marriott New Orleans with us. We strive to provide the best possible experience to all of our guests and it sounds like Peter, Daisy, Eve , George and Michelle delivered outstanding service to you! We're also glad you that had the chance to enjoy our menu at Canal Street Grill. Our Executive Chef Rene Bajeux is one of only 44 French Master Chefs in the United States. We eagerly await your return.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.