We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save now in New Orleans
Ranked #26 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had to make a fast trip to New Orleans for business and the JW had rooms, so we stayed here. What a great location for easy walking to scores of great eating places and sights.
Room was very nice and quiet. Everything I have come to expect from a JW.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear TexasJimC,

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We're so glad you were able to find comfortable accommodations while on the road for business. Though we try to provide everything you could possibly need right here on property, our central location does indeed offer plenty of options for post-meeting dining, drinks, and diversions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, whether for leisure or business. Either way, we'll be ready to roll out the red carpet and provide more of the great service, exceptional comfort, and unique amenities that you've come to expect.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    534
    433
    135
    42
    22
See reviews for
160
358
49
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe Twp
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This upscale hotel is on the perimeter of the French Quarter (Canal Street) which makes it a great place to based. Just a brief walk to Bourbon St. or Royal St. (my favorite) or the riverfront. The service is what you would expect from a hotel of this caliber. They really want one to have a comfortable stay. Just ask the Concierge and it will get done. The Canal Street Grill has a really nice breakfast buffet. The only odd thing; the bathroom sinks were unusually low.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear MattMonroeTwp,

Thank you for your review. You're absolutely right about out hotel's unique location. Guests are always pleasantly surprised to discover just how close we are to many of the New Orleans' top destinations. Of course, peace and quiet is often just as important as accessibility, and there's plenty to be had at the JW Marriott as well--especially on our upper floors, where the views are second to none.

It sounds like everything about your stay hit the mark, from the service to the cuisine. We take all feedback very seriously, and if we can find a way to adjust our sinks before your next visit, rest assured, we will. As you said, our priority is ensuring that each and every guest has a comfortable stay. Until then, please let us know if there's anything we can do to help plan another exceptional vacation.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The JW is a very nice hotel but it is the people that make the difference. When we checked in Alfred took us to our room and when my wife asked for a fan to help her sleep he immediately left and came back with the perfect fan. No questions asked. The doormen were exceptional getting cabs. especially Paul, that my wife could get into (she has mobility problems) and always being there when we returned to help. The bar in the hotel was great fun with exceptional bar tenders (especially Vickie and Deborah). and we even got invited to the Saints-Dallas game with a tail gate party starting at 12:00 (for a 7:00 game) but we could not stay over. As expected, the room was excellent, but is the people that make this hotel. It is very busy but not the mad house of the large New Orleans Marriott. By the way, the grill has the best grilled oysters that I have ever tasted. Also, it is right at the entrance to the French Quarter, a great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear RetiredEngr,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. It was a privilege to host you and an honor to have made such a positive impression. There's nothing that makes us happier than hearing from a satisfied guest after his or her stay. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to each of the staff members named.

Like you, we believe that exceptional people can make all the difference in a stay. You can find a spacious room and a nice view in many hotels around the city, but only at the JW Marriott will you encounter the sort of personalized service that truly makes an impact. We employ the very best, because that's what you deserve.

We look forward to hosting you again soon. Please let me know if there's anything I can do to help plan a visit.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
460 reviews 460 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you are into New Orleans and have the bucks this is absolutely the place to stay. Next to everything fun in New Orleans. Bourbon St just 2 blocks. The riverfront a 5 minute walk. The hotel itself is beautiful and the service impeccable. Bottom line is I can't say anything more. This is a first class Marriott. located where you want to be in New Orleans. Questions???

I recommend this for the location and the service.
If you find this helpful please mark it so.
Berny

Room Tip: Views on the upper rooms are much better. Check your room out first you may want a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is the best I have ever stayed at in New Orleans and I have stayed in many of them. I cannot stress how great the staff is at this hotel. They more than once went above and beyond the call of duty for us. I travelled with my wife and 2 young children and they really helped us out. Concierge was great, check in was flawless, location was great. The manager for this property should be proud of his employees. Top notch.

Room Tip: Try and get a upper floor room to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in October for our 25 th wedding anniverary and loved it! I had read all the reviews so was prepared for both good and bad, however; after staying here I think some of the bad reviews must be for a diffferent hotel (maybe the Marriott across the street?) .

We stayed in a corner king room which was very roomy. We rented bikes for our stay and parked them in our room and hardly even noticed the bikes were there as there was plenty of room. No one minded that we took our bikes right up the elevator with us into our rooms. We tend to spread out also and had plenty of surfaces/drawers/etc. to lay our stuff. Other people were in the rooms on each side of us but noise was never a problem (I actually brought earplugs bc of other reviews but never needed them). The rooms were also very updated w/ a mix of modern and updated furnishings. Everything looked very clean and new.

The tub/shower and toilet were in a room together which proved interesting for us....while using the bathroom my husband noticed that the ceiling over the toilet was leaking into our tub. The people over us must have been taking a shower as he said it was prettty much a constant flow. We called the front desk who promptly had someone come see what was going on and then helped us move into a very similar room on a higher floor. The move was quick and painless and the accommodations were just as nice. Then the front desk staff sent us a wonderful wine and gourmet cheese tray for "our inconvenience"! The yummy tray was not expected but was very much appreciated even though any inconvenience to us was minimal!

When you first walk into the hotel , the lobby does look small and with many people sitting in it. However, if you walk around the corner the lobby extends to a much bigger area with a nice library and several tables and comfy chairs to lounge in.

I had first booked this hotel because some New Orleans brochures stated that Jeremy Davenport had a lounge here. Unfortunately this lounge was closed and awaiting a renovation. Not really a big deal though as many other music venues were in walking distance.
Plus we had our bikes. We only needed a cab once, to go to the Little Gem Saloon @ night.

Every single staff member was respectful and nice.

We used the rooftop pool once. I was hoping for a little sun but the pool was shady in the afternoon bc of the nearby buildings. Better sunning time would be in the morning. Oh well, gave us more time to explore!

Over all we were very happy staying here and would stay here again! The rooms as I said were above our expectations (from previous reviews), the staff were delightful, the location was perfect, and the problem with our bathroom ceiling was handled promptly and with grace.

Room Tip: The corner rooms with king beds are big and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear snorkeltime,

Let me first begin by staying congratulations! Twenty-five years is a truly special milestone, and we couldn't be happier that you chose to spend it here in New Orleans at the JW Marriott.

It sounds like you and your husband did your research before visiting, and we'd like to thank you for contributing your personal experience to the conversation. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience caused by the issue in your bathroom. As you found, we make our guests' comfort our number-one priority, and will do whatever it takes to resolve an issue as quickly as possible.

Finally, we're so glad to hear that you were able to explore the city by bicycle. New Orleans is eminently walk-able, but nothing compares to the flexibility and ease of a bike. Should you visit again, we'll be sure to share a few more of our favorite routes.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Rooms - well decorated and clean. Hotel staff was extremely helpful, especially the concierge. Location is great right on Canal Street, yet not noisy and safe. Had a great manicure. Wish internet cost was included, but it is free in the lobby. Best shops are on Royal Street which is very close to the Hotel.

Room Tip: Trashy Diva is a great place for dresses and it is not trashy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear NWS2012,

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the JW Marriott New Orleans. It sounds like just about everything hit the mark, from location to service to décor. Your comments about our "extremely helpful" staff are greatly appreciated. We love to see when exceptional service makes a significant different in a guest's experience. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to our concierge.

We know that staying connected is an important part of travel, and that's why we're proud to offer high speed internet access in every part of our hotel. However, we're always looking for ways to improve and will certainly take your feedback into consideration as we look ahead.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.