We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad if you get a discount” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2,000 Bonus Points
Ranked #28 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Orange Beach, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not bad if you get a discount”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

First I have to review otel.com because I have read many negatives. Everything went exactly as they said it would and they sent MANY reminders about bringing the voucher. My only recommendation would be to call the hotel you are booked with a couple of weeks after paying otel.com to make sure they have received the paperwork. If not otel.com wil make sure they do. Now the hotel is nice and in a great location for the French Quarter. But if I had paid $ 200.00+ for this room I would have been very disappointed. Staff is great and lobby/bar is very nice. Rooms are nice but bathroom is old and even though we were on a high floor it was noisy. Probably will try another hotel the next time we visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear dcbi,

Thanks for your feedback. It sounds like there was a lot to love during your time here, but we regret to hear that your stay ultimately didn't inspire confidence in a return visit. I hope you'll give us another chance, as I'm sure we can find you a room better suited to your needs next time.

We know value is always a consideration for our guests, which is why we're happy to know that you received a favorable rate. While prices can fluctuate depending on the season and occasion, one thing that remains constant is our friendly, dedicated staff. You won't find a more helpful or knowledgeable team in New Orleans, and you can count on us to do whatever it takes to ensure an enjoyable visit.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    441
    388
    124
    40
    20
See reviews for
136
316
44
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Went for a 4 day weekend and the Marriot was great. The location is spot on. Walking distance to Bourbon street, the Frenchman area with the flea market, the mall, casino, ferry and plenty of food. We arrived on a Thursday and check in was a breeze. We were on the 17th flood which didn't have a great view, but we didn't spend much time looking out the window. The room had two standard full/queen size beds and a bath. The room was spotless and very comfortable for our needs. The fitness center was new and had multiple machines. The pool was what brought this from a 5 star to a 4 star for us. The weather was beautiful for our trip, but the pool was small and not many lounge chairs around. Wish there could have been at least an indoor pool with Jacuzzi. We are Marriot Rewards Members and had access the the JW lounge. We were only able to have breakfast there one day (due to our desire to eat and do as much as possible around the area) and it was great. The coffee and espresso machine was a hit and the breakfast buffet was perfect. Pauline the manger of the lounge is wonderful and made our morning extra special. There is a lounge, bar and restaurant on the main level of the hotel. While we didn't eat there, the bar was always full and people looked like they were having a good time.

Excellent stay, will surely return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear an0802,

Thank you for being Marriott Elite Reward Members and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you had a lovely, relaxing long weekend in New Orleans, and we're happy we could be a part of it. There's nothing like your first time in the Big Easy, and as you found, our central location makes it easy to explore the city.

Of course, location is only one part of the equation, and that's why we place an emphasis on exceptional service and comfort throughout the hotel. I'm so glad Pauline made your mornings start out special in the Executive Lounge, she is a huge part of taking care of our Elite reward members like you. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed all of our facilities including our fitness center. I hope you'll have a chance to visit New Orleans again soon, because there's always something new to see and do. Right here on property, there are fabulous dining options that all guests should experience at least once. And since you mentioned the lack of a view from your 17th floor room, we would be happy to set you up in a room with breathtaking views during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALMYRA,PA.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Good location ,clean rooms ,nice restaurant,well trained and friendly staff .You need to look no further this i the place to stay when in Nola.Only a few minutes from great restaurants,attractions,casino and clubs with great local music

Room Tip: Get a room up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've stayed at Marriotts before & this is comparable. Nice service, decent size room & view, clean, & within walking distance to shops, restaurants & of course Bourbon St! Concierge helpful in booking excursions & reservations. Fitness center had everything I needed. Pool looked small but clean. I would stay here again. Oh, and breakfast buffet was pretty good, but I'd recommend the omelet chef to stay at the omelet station because if/when he leaves, you don't feel like troubling someone to call him back to prepare your food for you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sara S,

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We're so glad you chose to stay with us, and it sounds like you enjoyed every minute on property and in the city. Consistency--of service, accommodations, and amenities--is a key focus of Marriott hotels everywhere, and we're happy to have upheld that reputation during your visit. As you noted, our concierge is a fantastic resource for visitors, whether it's your first or fifteenth stay. There's always something new to see, a new restaurant to try, or an event to attend, and you can count on us to keep you in the know. Thank you for your input regarding our omelet chef, we will take note and make adjustment to insure she available at all times.

I hope you'll stay again next time you're in town. We'd love the opportunity to raise the bar and show you an even better time here in New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

First time to New Orleans for a weekend trip. Hotel was very nice and comfortable. You can walk to anywhere in the French quarter. Hotel staff were exceptional friendly. Highly recommend this hotel for New Orleans stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Although I have used Tripadvisor for years in selecting hotels and restaurants, this is the first time being motivated to post a review. My wife and I were looking to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and chose New Orleans, a place we had never been to. We can't say enough positive about our experience at JW Marriott. The hotel was perfectly situated for us; on the edge of the French Quarter, walkable to all of it, but not in the middle of the craziness, and right on the street car lines. The service throughout the hotel was warm and welcoming and skillful, and the hotel is immaculate. Management, on learning we were celebrating our anniversary, went out of their way to make us feel special. We give this hotel our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear SueandJim2013,

First, let me begin by offering congratulations once again! A 40th anniversary is a magnificent occasion, and we are honored to have been a part of your special celebration here in New Orleans. On behalf of the entire staff, I'd like to thank you for choosing to spend your time here at the JW Marriott. There are many choices in New Orleans and we believe we offer the best of everything. It sounds like we provided that and more for you. Our location makes it easy to experience the best that the city has to offer. Our location coupled with the authentic and genuine service our associate offer makes us a prime hotel, particularly when it comes to special celebrations.

One thing is for sure, you can expect the same level of service no matter when you visit. We take great pride in fostering a warm, welcoming, comfortable environment in which our guests can settle in and feel at home. We look forward to seeing you again someday soon, whether for your 41st or simply a weekend getaway in the Big Easy.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The rooms are small, but they are at many hotels in this city. But, the rooms are very nice and the service is very accommodating. Requests are promptly fulfilled with a smile and a thank you. We had a car and the valet service was excellent. We were in and out several times a day with no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.