We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com JWMarriott.com
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2,000 Bonus Points
Ranked #27 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great Weekend Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great location, wonderful hotel and even better customer service!

My husband and I stayed at the JW Marriott over a long weekend in late July and we could not have been more happy with our hotel selection. While it's conveniently located within walking distance to every restaurant, store and bar in the French Quarter, it's just far enough away to get away from the hustle and bustle for a peaceful nights sleep. The staff went above and beyond in every way possible. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    389
    124
    40
    20
See reviews for
136
317
44
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mi.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I took a 4 day trip to New Orleans. It was not our first time to New Orleans. We wanted a little get-away and this was a perfect place to go. The J.W. was a great location. Just a few blocks from Bourbon Street and the Canal Streetcar stop was right in front of the hotel. Our room was a corner room on the 29th floor. The view of the city was super! The hotel was clean, staff very pleasant and accommodating and the fitness center was more than I had hoped for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear gator33,

A four-day vacation in New Orleans is a fantastic summer getaway, and it sounds like yours was no exception. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Positive feedback like yours is an inspiration, and drives us to keep raising the bar.

One of the first things that guests notice about our hotel is its one-of-a-kind location, centered in the heart of our celebrated city. As you mentioned, the streetcars stop right outside the hotel, and offer guests a fun and affordable way to tour the city. And if you're in the mood for a short walk and plenty of culture, nearby Bourbon Street is always alive with activity.

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here, and in particular, the city views. Let us know if we can be of any help when you book your next stay.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here the Fourth of July weekend for the Essence Festival and the rooms are great. It is centrally located close to the casino, convention center, and bourbon street. I would definetly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Was here as overflow from a conference at the Sheraton next door, this hotel was very nice. Counter personnel courteous and professional. The location is at the French Quarter, clost to a lot of good restaurants. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here one night with my family. We were cruising out of New Orleans. If coming here in a taxi or shuttle, make sure you specifically identify this hotel. There is another Marriott property on Canal street and it can be confusing.

I liked the location on Canal. It was an easy walk to the French Quarter, but separated from some of the bustle. Our room was nice, but there were a few cleanliness issues. The bathroom is very small. There was some street noise, but it was not too bad. The inside of the hotel looked great and every employee we interacted with was helpful and nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I moved to New Orleans for work in 2006. I've only ever stayed in the JW once but I've been going to the lobby bar weekly since 2006 with coworkers that were staying in the hotel. Ever since then I have been bringing my friends to get a drink from Deborah the bartender. She embodies the love of New Orleans and talking to her taught me to love the Saints, the fleur de lis, and the great food. Since then the bar was remodeled and some other great bartenders have joined the team so I continue to go for the great experience. Oh, but I miss the purse hooks since the remodel. :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Melissa P,

We're so glad you took the time to share your JW Marriott story. We've been lucky enough over the years to develop great relationships with regular visitors, and sometimes it's nice to just take a step back and reflect on all the good times.

You couldn't have picked a better go-to bar in New Orleans. Deborah, as you know, is the best of the best. Not only can she mix one of the tastiest cocktail in all of the Big Easy, but her positive attitude can also brighten anyone's day.

Your business means a great deal to us, and we're looking forward to many more years of great food, drinks, and conversation—and in the near future, purse hooks. Cheers!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel ws better than I had anticipated. The location is great - short walking distance to the French Quarter. Close enough to the action but not in the center of it...
The concierge and other hotel staff were very helpful when we asked for maps, directions, details on public transportation, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list