We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a Free Night!
Ranked #27 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
San Angelo, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Was here as overflow from a conference at the Sheraton next door, this hotel was very nice. Counter personnel courteous and professional. The location is at the French Quarter, clost to a lot of good restaurants. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    464
    139
    43
    22
See reviews for
170
389
53
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here one night with my family. We were cruising out of New Orleans. If coming here in a taxi or shuttle, make sure you specifically identify this hotel. There is another Marriott property on Canal street and it can be confusing.

I liked the location on Canal. It was an easy walk to the French Quarter, but separated from some of the bustle. Our room was nice, but there were a few cleanliness issues. The bathroom is very small. There was some street noise, but it was not too bad. The inside of the hotel looked great and every employee we interacted with was helpful and nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I moved to New Orleans for work in 2006. I've only ever stayed in the JW once but I've been going to the lobby bar weekly since 2006 with coworkers that were staying in the hotel. Ever since then I have been bringing my friends to get a drink from Deborah the bartender. She embodies the love of New Orleans and talking to her taught me to love the Saints, the fleur de lis, and the great food. Since then the bar was remodeled and some other great bartenders have joined the team so I continue to go for the great experience. Oh, but I miss the purse hooks since the remodel. :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Melissa P,

We're so glad you took the time to share your JW Marriott story. We've been lucky enough over the years to develop great relationships with regular visitors, and sometimes it's nice to just take a step back and reflect on all the good times.

You couldn't have picked a better go-to bar in New Orleans. Deborah, as you know, is the best of the best. Not only can she mix one of the tastiest cocktail in all of the Big Easy, but her positive attitude can also brighten anyone's day.

Your business means a great deal to us, and we're looking forward to many more years of great food, drinks, and conversation—and in the near future, purse hooks. Cheers!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel ws better than I had anticipated. The location is great - short walking distance to the French Quarter. Close enough to the action but not in the center of it...
The concierge and other hotel staff were very helpful when we asked for maps, directions, details on public transportation, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I weren't even staying at the hotel but had a great experience. We stopped in at the bar because of a rainstorm and met George the bartender. Sure his drinks were great, sure we weren't in a hurry, but his awesome personality made us stay. As a successful businessman, I can say this to the Marriott Corp, "he needs to be training your other employees".

If you are traveling in the area, go ask for this guy

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The location is fantastic - at the edge of the French Quarter, 5 minute walk to everything, but still quiet at night. The staff is so nice and thoughtful, the property is well taken care off, the rooms were clean and comfortable. There is a concierge floor which I recommend. Honestly, not one complaint! We stayed with 2 children and they were entertained by the staff, taken care off in the room, and we all enjoyed our 4 nights here. Breakfast is not included unless you are on concierge floor, but within minutes you have tons of cafes and options. The pool is small, but very enjoyable. The hotel offers free apples, waters, ear phones for working out, etc and you just feel welcome here.

Room Tip: Ask for the concierge floor if you care about free breakfast and lounge. Otherwise eat outside, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Karolina517,

We appreciate that you took the time to review your family's recent stay here at the JW Marriott New Orleans. Staying on our Concierge Level was a great choice, and it sounds like everything either lived up to or exceeded your expectations. From the moment you step through our front doors, it's our goal to impart a warm feeling of comfort and familiarity. And when you step outside our doors, we do our best equip you for a memorable time on the town. Our location certainly makes exploring, dining, and sightseeing easy, and our staff's local knowledge means you'll encounter only the best that New Orleans has to offer.

We hope to see you and your family again soon. Please let me know if there's anything I can do to help coordinate your next vacation.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ville Platte, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were undecided what hotel to stay at but picked the JW Marriott for our stay. We were not disappointed. The hotel is Beautiful and very Clean. The Staff was Excellent. We would Recommend this Hotel and We do plan on staying there again. We had to pay for Valet Parking but it was well worth paying for it. We felt very safe at this Hotel. The JW Marriott Hotel is a 4 Star but should be a 10 Star. We want to Thank All The Staff for making our stay the BEST. The Location of this Hotel is Great .Again Thank You to Andrew Morgan and Everyone for Everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.