We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, service and luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #39 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Location, service and luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and we were disappointed to leave. The staff was wonderful. They were friendly, professional and helpful. The rooms were very nice. The beds were luxurious and comfortable. The rooms were modern and clean. The concierge lounge is the best I have experienced. Great food in the morning and evening. Well worth staying just to experience the level of service at the lounge. The hotel is steps from the French Quarter or the Riverwalk and Casino.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear ResortMike,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. Our staff always puts the guests' needs first, with the hope of creating a truly unforgettable vacation.

We're very pleased you were able to recognize and enjoy the luxury of our concierge lounge. This space adds a little extra something to your visit. Our gorgeous rooms and cozy amenities are always a crowd pleaser.

We hope to see you for a return visit in the near future. Please let us know if we can be of service as you plan your next trip to the JW Marriott New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie

General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    599
    199
    59
    25
See reviews for
229
504
60
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed for a business meeating just for one nigth but it was really nice the time I had at this hotel. It has 2 ways to enter, but the best one is the one on Canal street, just in the middle of everything. It is really close from the Shops (about 5 blocks).
My room was big and very confortable. Beds were so inviting to stay longer. I had a perfect view to Canal Street and you can even see the river.
My only complaint would be that I was there for a meeting and I guess my neighbors were there to party so they were making noise all across the hall closing and opening doors and talking too loud. Walls seemed to thin at that moment.
Maria was really helpful and trying to make a difference and she realy did.
The meeting facilities are very well equiped and it has a whole floor just for that (3rd floor).
Food was realy good and diverse, including New Orleans style cuisine.
The quality of this hotel is just over the top. I would stay there again and recommend it for short or long stays.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room and far from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I started by showing up before check-in time thinking that maybe I could stow my bags but they checked me in early and into a beautiful room with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The staff was accommodating and helpful (even when I wasn't asking for anything), it was like they read my mind. The location is great, the pool was nice and that bed was absolutely wonderful after walking all day. Also, I had booked at priceline - which sometimes gets you less that the best room & service, this was definitely not a problem at the JW - NOLA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Mimi1791,

Reading your review was so refreshing! It sounds like we were able to exceed your expectations and we are so pleased to hear it. Our highest priority is to provide unbeatable service and quality to all our guests. We hope you enjoyed some sightseeing around New Orleans once you hopped out of that cozy bed—we know it can be hard to start the day when you're so comfortable!

It's our hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again and show you more attentive JW service. Our doors are always open to you.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Outstanding weekend! Cole Wallace, Gersan Paz, Natalia, Tamya & Madeline provided by far the most outstanding customer satisfaction to guests that we've had the opportunity to experience during all of our many Marriott stays. The property is spotless, the rooms are spacious and very comfy. The location is excellent! Great Father's Day weekend with our family! Thank you JW our experience during this visit has surly led to our return to your magnificent property!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Paul R was very nice and friendly. He provided us with great southern hospitality. The hotel was located in a great location. The quality was superior and the room had a great view. We really enjoyed all the staff making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

we had booked 2 nights with 3 rooms We were not disappointed in our rooms or our service
staff very friendly and helpful had requested baby beds they were in place by the time we got to rooms we requested adjoining rooms that was done as well i will stay here again i like the location and the staff

Room Tip: end rooms they are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear mmt50,

Thank you for your kind words. As one of the top hotels in New Orleans, we make it a priority to cater to each and every need of our guests. We are happy that we were able to personalize your experience by delivering your request to your guest room prior to your arrival. I hope you'll return to our fair city soon, because although two nights is nice, a longer stay opens up all kinds of new possibilities. We'd be happy to set up a fun-filled itinerary to maximize your time. Please let me know if I can be of any help booking your next trip.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Steven the bartender at the bar and grill was awesome. Great service great drinks and great personality. Made the stay at the j w Marriott even more enjoyable. Thanks Steven and good luck on future endeavors!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#92 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,370 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#27 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#15 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.