We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff could not be nicer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #33 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“staff could not be nicer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

nice location - situated near bourbon street on canal, it's convenient to all the restaurants, and tourist attractions. the rooms are smaller than most and a little noisy, but very clean. nice lobby for hanging out or for eating.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    536
    176
    49
    22
See reviews for
196
451
57
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Really enjoyed 6 nights at the JW recently. Was in town for a big convention (not at the hotel), so everything was busy. Arrived at the hotel near 1am, but check in was easy and friendly.
Didn't eat at the hotel, but tried one night to get into Shula's, as we had heard it was good. We had great meals at these restaurants just nearby - Mr B's Bistro, Red Gravy, Jimmy J's, and especially nice at Palace Cafe, which is right accross the road.
Staff were all friendly and helpful, and I would stay here again. I was on the 29th floor, but there are 4 lifts which were very quick.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, OH
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful lobby, friendly staff. Room was very lackluster. Air intake HVAC was constantly humming. Room wouldn't cool below 71. Housekeeping never cleaned my room- not sure how that happened. I was billed for 2 days of internet access, but didnt even bring my laptop. I wasn't impressed enough to return- definitely expected more.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear comito,

We're troubled by your recent experience at our hotel. There are no excuses for issues like inaccurate billing and lack of housekeeping. We sincerely apologize for what sounds like an extremely atypical visit to the JW Marriott New Orleans. We encourage all of our guests to contact us as soon as they encounter an issue, so that our staff can set out to fix it as soon as possible. If there are still erroneous charges on your bill, please contact me at your convenience. Rest assured, we'll do everything we can to earn back your trust.

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, with a great location and professional staff. I am attending a business conference here is week...recommend this site for business or pleasure trips. The hotel is clean, quiet, and well run.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Walking distance to French quarter, etc.

Hotel was very clean and put together.

My favorite part was the conciege lounge breakfast and appetizers- one of the best I've seen for Marriott.

I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great location, close to wonderful restarants and the French Quarter, the staff was very friendly and accomodating. While the hotel does not have very much charm it was clean and the rooms were nice. I was surprised how quiet it was at night since it is located fairly close to Bourbon Street. As other travelers have noted it is mainly a convention hotel, but I still felt I received great service even though the staff was busy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I recently completed a brief stay (2 nights) at the JW Marriott, New Orleans. This was our first stay at the property, and given it was Mardi Gras, and the stay was short, I will limit the comments to a few takeaways. First, we stayed on the concierge level of the hotel. The concierge suite had good service and was well appointed (breakfast, dinner).. was definitely worth stopping in (usually relatively crowded) on our way out of the hotel. Unfortunately, given the food in New Orleans, we didn’t fully appreciate what they had at the hotel.

With respect to the hotel property, the location is great- far enough from Bourbon Street to get some peace and quiet, but at the same time, only a few blocks from all of the action. The only issue I had with the main hotel was the lack of a formal lobby on the first floor. It was sort of cut-up (various areas to sit in front of and behind the elevator area), and not what I would have expected at the JW level. The rooms were decent, seemed like they needed some updating, but overall, about what I expected for New Orleans- the weather has clearly taken a toll on the building. The service in the hotel was very good- worth noting. Service at both the front desk, and room service, was attentive. Overall, given the concierge floor as an option, I would likely go back during a stay. That said, I did attend a conference at the Westin, on the river, down the block. The property, the main lobby floor overlooking the river, and overall condition of the hotel (for roughly the same price), is definitely worth taking a closer look on a future visit to this great city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room either facing Bourbon Street (the majority of the French quarter) and/or the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear bigsur221,

Thank you for reviewing your recent two-night stay. We appreciate you giving the JW Marriott New Orleans a chance, and we're pleased to know you'd consider coming back! We take pride in our service and believe it's second to none in the city. As you found, our Concierge Level is a fantastic option if you're looking for a little extra from your stay.

We'll be sure to take your feedback regarding the room décor and the lobby layout into consideration as we move forward and think about future renovations. If there's anything we can do to help plan a future stay, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.