We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canal Street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #32 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NorCal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Canal Street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the JW from Saturday to Tuesday in January 2013 at the JW using Marriott reward points. The check in experience was nice and fast. They were slow bringing up the arrival gift, but then once it was delivered it was explained that they couldn't find a half bottle of wine so they brought a full bottle instead (that certainly made up for the slowness!). Overall, the hotel was nice experience. It wasn't super special - a little loud due to the location and a little older but overall a nice stay. The only exception being the pot smoking guest on Saturday evening. The staff was attempting to find the source but certainly the entire floor was filled with smoke. It did cause us to order some late night room service that was delighful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear WestCoastTravels034,

So good to hear from you. It sounds like you and your husband had a wonderful time here at the JW Marriott New Orleans. There are indeed worse fates than receiving a full bottle of wine instead of a half! We'd like to take this opportunity to apologize for the behavior of your fellow guest(s). If there's anything else we can do in the future to more efficiently fix a similar situation, please let us know. We hope to host you again soon!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    519
    160
    49
    22
See reviews for
184
432
54
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here for a business conference - location was very convenient to the riverfront, french quarter, casino, etc. Canal street is fairly busy but gets its fair share of "characters" in the evening...
Hotel staff in their entirety were very friendly and helpful...a real pleasure....Rooms are typical of what you would find at a Marriott and beds were really comfortable. I didn't use the gym facilities but were told by my collegues that they were very nice.

Free Wi-Fi in common areas but (and this is my pet peeve), they charge $14.95 for connection in the rooms...never understand this since in the lower tier Marriotts, you get
in room wi-fi for free...

Bar area was small but comfortable - bar food was pretty good with the usual suspects but as can be expected in hotels bars, it is a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Get higher floor for nice views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

There is no shortage of hotels in Downtown New Orleans. You can pick form brand new, historic, whatever. The good folks at the JW clearly want to set themselves apart with service. Gracious and helpful, with that great Southern Hospitality flair, you would be hard pressed to find a complaint. The corner King I had was comfortable, spacious, and well appointed. I had a few minor glitches, all of which were addressed quickly and cheerfully.

I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I’m not sure if it’s the slow crawl of restoring post-Katrina standards for the city’s upkeep of public areas, but New Orleans must pay more attention to the highly trafficked walkways of the French Quarter and its bordering streets. A light post, taken down (somehow) and left lying with its exposed wires and metal stakes on Camp Street, innumerable sidewalk potholes waiting like a bear trap to break a tibia. It’s the location that is the best and worst part of this hotel, and it’s the guestroom details that need work in order for this to be close to a JW experience.

Outside of its Canal Street entrance, a good half block from where the guestroom tower is actually located, the slop spills out of Bourbon, and you don’t move an inch before the solicitors are ringing in your ear like the brass band from the night before. I say this to that uncompromising Marriott Rewards fille de joie who is spending his or her hard owned points on what Marriott describes as Luxury accommodation; consider more of an escape location. The warehouse district is only a few blocks south, but seemingly miles away from fending off the freaks that are relentlessly trying to sell you what you seriously don’t want. And, yes, the hotel is decent, but it is nothing more than a Marriott, far short of what a guest would expect for a JW. There is a dead Shula’s Steakhouse, just like any other Marriott, and the rooms are of early 2000’s template. The lounge, I must say, is great for the preprandial drink, and it even features a bartender who is proud in his similarity to George Constanza. The front desk and the bellmen were attentive and helpful. The beds are ok, the TV screen is flat, but the bathrooms are tiny, have sporadic lukewarm water in the shower and mine featured a strand of black hair so long and blatantly stuck on the wall that I wondered whether the facilities were cleaned at all. The sink did not drain and two housekeepers barged in the room in the middle of the afternoon without giving adequate announcement or waiting for me to answer the knock of the door. They simply said “we’re checking something,” then scurried off.

If you want to stumble home from the sludgy floors of Bourbon Street every night, this hotel is located just far enough away to maintain some dignity. But if you’re in New Orleans to catch some local scenes, see more than the French Quarter, do yourself a favor and find some real luxury. Even the Lowes has this beat by a mile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Aptidude,

Thanks for your thorough, eloquent review of your recent stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. Though we cannot control what happens outside the hotel, we certainly think our central location is a positive feature for the hotel. We're just close enough to the action to make travel and sightseeing a breeze, but far enough to escape the constant thrum of noise and activity. We sincerely apologize for any unpleasantness you may have encountered while in the French Quarter. We can only hope our hotel offered enough calm, quiet, and comfort to balance it all out. Providing great service and immaculate facilities are two of our main priorities, which is why we are confident you'll find a return visit to be far more satisfactory. Please don't hesitate to get in touch directly if you have any other comments or questions.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I travel all the time and stay here approx 150 days a year. The folks there treat me as family. The hotels rate are average for the area so dont be surprised. Parking is about $35 per day with tax. If you dont need a car, take a shuttle or a taxi. In the long run, this will same you money. Schulas is a great place to eat downstairs, but extrememy pricy. After all, it is just steak and you are in the seafood capital. If you were to spend the $70 to $100 per person, there are better places...

They just renovated the first floor. Thet took a nice looking entrance and make is crappy.... However, if you overlook these things, great location with great staff....

Room Tip: Ask for an Executive Corn room if you plan on being there a while.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Casey B,

So great to hear from you. We’re honored to be your home away from home, and
sincerely appreciate your continued patronage, and I appreciate your comment
regarding our staff. As you mentioned, there are countless, world-class restaurants in
the area, and we’re always more than happy to make a recommendation. We eagerly
anticipate your return, and hopefully our latest renovations will begin to grow on you!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wife and I went there for Christmas time Dec 2012, we stayed there for 5 nights. I was excited to book the JW Marriott, because my experience with JW has been really great. Usually a 5 diamond hotel. But this hotel was OK, very average rooms like any Marriott or Hilton. The rooms were small, the restroom.bath area was small, specially given the premium price they charge for there rooms. Pillows were very uncomfortable. There is a regular Marriott literally right across the Canal street. Might as well book that and pay half the price. That said the staff is very nice, room service is quick. The hotel is clean, the Shulas Steak house is very good. SPA is OK, nothing special, very small. Now the location, its very nicely located in the French quarter, but not in the middle of it, so you don't have to hear the noise. I would still recommend getting the regular Marriott across the street or a Hilton or Hyatt. Not worth the $300 per night for regular room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear kkamalx,

Thank you for your review. You’re right about our location—central yet secluded—and
I am pleased to hear that our staff made a positive impression. However, we regret to
learn of your overall dissatisfaction. High expectations are justified, and we work hard
to meet and exceed them for every guest. While the Marriott New Orleans is a fine hotel
indeed, we’d love another chance to show you what makes the JW Marriott special.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA, USA
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

As with any JW Marriott location, it's pricy. You might get lucky with an off season special, but this is not the hotel for bargain hunters. I found the service (luggage porter and front desk) to be quite courteous and responsive. Top-notch restaurants downstairs and central location on Canal Street (0.7 mile walk to WWII Museum and less to the French Quarter). Guest laundry available (sometimes your only option at a JWM is the ridiculously overpriced dry cleaning service, but not the case at this location). Gym facility is very good (several high quality treadmills, stationary bikes, and ellipticals, plus a few weight machines and a full set of dumb bells).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.