We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #26 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Frankfurt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

All fine. We can recommend the hotel. The rooms are nice, spacious and good sleep in the beds. Though a bit disturbing is that one cannot switch off the air condition which made a bit of noise and the ceiling of the room would need some paint since it had got a water damage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    492
    144
    47
    22
See reviews for
174
408
54
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in November. Been to New Orleans many times and first time not staying directly in French Quarter (business conference). Location is fine - right across the street from French Quarter, but for me New Orleans is all about the French Quarter so something missing staying in just another chain hotel on just another downtown city street (nothing at all worth seeing or doing on Canal Street.......). Room was just ok - decent size, EXCEPT for bathroom - ridiculously small - you drip all over toilet when you get out of shower. Other issues: main dresser drawers hidden behind irritating folding door - pain to open each time you wanted to access something and blocked entrance to bathroom to boot. Also, one bathrobe in room???
Lobby was nice but small and was often very crowded during busy times. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
No huge misses but so many hotels in New Orleans, wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Todd,

Thank you for reviewing your recent four-night stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. Feedback like yours helps us maintain a consistently high level of service. We regret to learn, however, that your stay was not entirely satisfactory. We have many different types of rooms, and we would be more than happy to help you find the one that suits your needs. In addition, if you ever need anything, such as an additional bathrobe, while you’re staying with us, just call or stop by the front desk. We hope you’ll consider staying at the JW Marriott again, as we’d love the opportunity to show you what really makes our hotel special.

Sincerely,
Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very accommodating and helpful staff. We stayed there for 4 nights. Everything ajd everyone are lovely. There seems to be a huge difference between this and the Marriott hotel across the street in that its quieter and doesn't have the very large groups of people all over the place.

The rooms are fairly big, bedding is comfortable, be warned pillows are v soft. There is a coffeemaker, robe, free bottles of water, tea or coffeee provided too. No fridge

My peeve is the carpets are actually quite dirty and only noticed after I saw how black my toddlers feet were after she was busy walking around

Secondly out of all the days there only 1 occurence for each of us where there was no hot water. We realized it must take a while to heat up or you can't use the sink and bath at same time. This isn't a deal breaker for me as it happened for such a short period of time.

location is fantastic, walking distance to a lot of really nice restaurants. You are just on the border of french quarter and so not affected by noise at night when you are asleep.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just back from four days at this property for business. Thus hotel is clean and updated with excellent service at every turn. The full service hotel had excellent room service for breakfast and the executive lounge had plenty of choices for both breakfast and happy hour food. the central location is ideal for checking out all the French Quarter has to offer. I also used the Serenity Spa for a 90 minute massage and Deron did an excellent job. The spa prices were about average. If I were in NOLA for pleasure, I would probably burrow further into the French Quarter, to get more of the New Orleans flavor, but for busienss thus was fine.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorville ca
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I travel often. It is important that we find a hotel that is comfortable, has a welcoming staff, and has enough luxury that we feel we have spent our money wisely. Upon arrival all of the staff was extremely welcoming and friendly. Gracie checked us in and gave us a beautiful room. (We were in 2610-totally spacious corner room. Our friends were in the Marriott and their rooms were tiny in comparison.) The room has all of the amenities that one would expect from the JW Marriott brand-including a refrigerator. Now let's break it down:

Location: I thought this was the perfect location. We did not rent a car, so we relied on walking and local transportation. This hotel is close to all of the dining options, Jackson Square is about a ten minute walk, and Bourbon street about a 5 minute walk. You can easily hop on the bus to take you anywhere you want to go. ($3 for the day). The street cars were not running due to construction.

Beds:The beds were comfortable and that was wonderful after our long days/nights in New Orleans. Lovely bedding. The view was fine. Slight view of the Mississippi river. Lots of tv channels!

Bathroom: Large vanity area, decent sized shower ares. The shampoo and conditioner were nice (surprising, because most hotel shampoo is gross.) The only thing I didn't like was the quality of the towels. They are a bit rough. However, the rooms come with a luxurious robe that I used everyday!

Rooms: The rooms have neutral colors and are warm and inviting. I felt that they were extremely clean and well-maintained.

The true test of any hotel-Would I stay again? I will book every time I visit New Orleans!

Room Tip: Ask for the highest room to get the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I spent five nights at this JW Marriott and was very unimpressed. The room I was in was small and the bathroom was very tight. The decor was bland and cold. Rooms were clean. Location was okay, but next time I would much prefer staying inside the French Quarter. I had thought that JW Marriott was a step up from the regular Marriott, but not in this case. I was disappointed that this was not a more fun and colorful hotel given its location in New Orleans. Basically, it serves a business crowd that is there for conventions. It is not a special place to stay while on vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

After reading other reviews of this hotel I decided to book my recent 3 night vacation at the JW Marriott. The entire staff was extremely friendly and courteous throughout my stay. The hotel itself is very well maintained and in a terrific location. The French Quarter is right across Canal Street and the streetcars for both the Canal Street and St. Charles routes run right by the hotel. You can pretty much walk to anywhere in the French Quarter in 30 minutes or less and for just $3.00 a day purchase an all day pass on the streetcars and busses.
I stayed in a corner king room, which was decorated very nicely and was a good size. The bed and pillows were quite comfortable and there was an HD large screen tv with cable and HBO to view. Each day the maid service cleaned the room thoroughly and left a new set of towels and toiletries. The air conditioning worked quite well and the temperature in the room was always very comfortable. Besides Shula's Steakhouse in the hotel there were also a number of restaurants and fast food joints within easy walking distance from the hotel.
Prior to arriving for my visit I had emailed one of the managers at the hotel, Cole Wallace, about a special request I had and he responded back within a very short time period and was very gracious in fulfilling my request. I also contacted the concierge, Isabel, prior to my arrival about setting up a city tour for me and she also returned my email in a brief time with a number of options to choose from and once I made my choice she handled all of the arrangements. I thank them both for making my trip a very special one for both my wife and I and highly recommend this hotel to those planning on visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.