We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for the Essence Festival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #26 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for the Essence Festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Went with a Large group for Essence Festival and this Hotel was perfect... Location was great, & it was clean.. Could look right out my window and see the crowd.. but heard no noise. The double beds are truly full size.. but there pretty comfortable. We didn't have a refridgerator in our room, though there was a space for it.. and some of my friends rooms had them, didn't understand how some came with refridgerators and some didn't, we were in a group and all paid the same price... When we called to ask for a refridgerator they were out... No Microwave.. but this is a nice hotel I would definitely stay again. The prices were doubled during the Essence Festival but I guess that's to be expected.....

Room Tip: Make sure you ask as soon as you check in does your room have a refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    492
    143
    47
    22
See reviews for
174
408
54
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel we could tell it was under contruction. No one ever likes to see that while it is going on during your stay, but the girls trip could not be compromised by construction, we were determined to HAVE FUN! We soon found out that the customer service of the employees was phenomonal by ALL that crossed our paths. We soon forgot that it was under contruction! From the bell hops to the bartender to the host and hostesses, everyone was on their A game. The lobby was blocked in one area but there was still room to check in, sit down and even grab a complimentary sweet treat and a cold beverage at the front desk! The rooms were nice with crisp white down comforters and our view was perfect. We could watch the action or go and get in on some of it. The shower and bath facilities were nicely tiled and clean. The housekeeping was visible and ready to help. I even met the GM "Ted" several times and observed him interacting with his employees and lending a helping hand. The bellhop Paul was wonderful and was always there with a suggestion of a good place to eat and even passed us a box of kleenex when we needed them! The bartender was the best and we felt like she was our friend upon our first meeting. She was great! We are excited to return to see what the new construction will look like, so get ready the girls are coming back!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the steet side. It is good to see the action!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was a trip for my 40th birthday on 4th July with 2 friends. I have stayed with Marriott a lot for business (currently Gold Elite) and booked this hotel on my reward points. On arrival the lobby was being renovated and we couldn't hear a word they said to us at check-in! They misheard my name and worried us by saying we only had a 1 night booking when I was expecting 4 but it was all resolved quickly. We were also upgraded to an amazing 2 bedroom suite with jacuzzi bath on the 30th floor, which made my birthday trip extra special - so thank you so much.
The room was amazing, the four poster a little wobbly and the second bedroom shower soaked the bathroom but the beds were the usual Marriott comfort. Due to the size of the room it was a little difficult to keep the temperature right but we sorted it out in the end. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is in a great location for the streetcar, the French Quarter and riverfront and generally getting around New Orleans. There is a great diner a few blocks away called the Ruby Slipper (200 Magazine St) that does amazing breakfasts.
The hotel has a small pool, which we didn't use, and the view from the Executive Lounge is great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel was conveniently located and the rooms were fairly new looking. It was also very clean. The gym was on the larger side. It wasn't spectacular and not as nice as other JWs, but a fine choice and I can't complain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel was a bit difficult to access with all the construction and one way streets, but our overall experience there was great. The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating, and the hotel was clean. (Wish I could say the same for the city itself).

As a note of warning, you almost have to valet park your vehicle, so be prepared to unload everything you need when you arrive. The charge is $35, which seemed a bit steep, but we felt it safer than risky the security on the streets.

Room Tip: You might request a room on one of the upper floors to distant yourself from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed here with friends and the hotel was excellent. My room was upgraded and we had an excellent view. The only this is that parking is expensive and we never used the car.

Room Tip: When you arrive ask if you can be upgraded. Higher floor have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Found a good deal on this hotel at the last minute.
It's about a block from the French Quarter. Very clean. Friendly staff. Nice pool. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.