We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lafitte Guest House

Save Saved
You added Lafitte Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lafitte Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1003 Bourbon St., New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Metairie
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I live in Metairie, a suburb of New Orleans, and wanted a nice weekend in the French Quarter. My stay turned out to be a great idea. The Lafitte Guest House offers a perfect location being close to Frenchmen Street and the restaurants I enjoy going to. It was so relaxing to sit on the balcony for breakfast and to enjoy a glass of wine without having to worry about driving home. This was a minivacation I intend on doing again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh S, Owner at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your mini-vacation and we hope we can become your home away from home. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    52
    20
    10
    31
See reviews for
38
129
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the lafitte guest house was exceptional. We took the hauted ghost tour back in nov and this is how we found the guest house. We gave our daughter any choice of hotel stay in the new Orleans area for her 21 st birthday. She fell in love with the guest house and since the house is right next door to the oldest bar in the country,Lafitte blacksmith bar it was the perfect location and setting to celebrate. Thanks again to the staff and Mr Ed. We felt like we were staying with family and we will be back. There is no place like home. The guest house has now become our second home.
Lyle & Stacey Babin
Raceland, La

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh S, General Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We enjoyed having you and your family at our Guest House. I still have the Valdemeir Kush print that you liked. We hope your daughter had a great birthday and enjoyed everything that New Orleans had to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thanks again & please continue to spread the word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanerette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

As repeat customers to Lafitte Guest House, my husband and I absolutely love this hotel. Centrally located to every must see in the quarter and the local jazz music on Frenchmen Street, Lafitte Guest House provides great value, beautifully furnished and decorated rooms on the quiet end of Bourbon street. They offer the best balcony views of the quarter, complimentary soft drinks and snacks right off the kitchen on the second floor. The beds are the most comfortable I've slept in. We've watched the transformation from all of the renovations take place under the new ownership and I must say there is no other place in the French Quarter that offers all of the luxuries and amenities that this hotel offers. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable and they take care of any requests we've had. Don't forget to check out Room 21 which is said to be haunted. Read the history of the hotel here

http://www.hauntedhouses.com/states/la/lafitte_guest_house.htm

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh S, General Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Lafitte Guest House for your recent stay here in New Orleans! We are so very pleased that you had a pleasant time during your stay with us. I couldn't agree with you more; New Orleans is so full of history and culture and we pride ourself in knowing that we are located right in the heart of the French Quarter, the perfect location for our guests to take in all that New Orleans has to offer. We are so thrilled that you took notice of the renovations the hotel has just under gone. We will continue to strive to give our customers the very best! Thanks for providing the link below about the history of the Lafitte Guest House. Many of our other customers have no idea how much history our guest house holds and your link will be very helpful and insightful to other guests looking to make reservations with us. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you & your husband again soon. We want you to know that we value your business and your comments. Thank you for your time and review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at Lafitte Guest House and really liked it. It is perfect for feeling the true New Orleans culture and history. So authentic! Staff really friendly. This isn't a 4 star fancy hotel full of amenities, but it is a great place to stay to really appreciate New Orleans and the Lafitte's Bar right across the street is also great! Great location!! Loved it, can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Look at all the rooms they offer before choosing the one you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh S, Owner at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Lafitte Guest House for your recent stay here in New Orleans! We are so very pleased that you had a pleasant time during your stay with us. I couldn't agree with you more; New Orleans is so full of history and culture and we pride ourself in knowing that we are located right in the heart of the city, the perfect location for our guests to take in all that New Orleans has to offer. We want you to know that we value your comments and hope to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest. We hope to see you & your husband again soon! Thank you for your time and review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Well located (in the heart of the french quarter), Lafitte guest house is a beautiful traditionnal New-Orleans house. The whole house is decorated with taste and even the smallest room there is both cosy and convenient. Access to a balcony where to enjoy your breakfast as well as to a little kitchen provided with simple but good food for your comfort. Reasonnable prices, friendly welcome from the reception desk to the cleaning lady we really enjoyed our to short staying there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh S, General Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Lafitte Guest House for your recent stay here in New Orleans! We are so very pleased that you had a pleasant time during your stay with us. We want you to know that we value your comments and hope to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you for your time and review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanerette, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Lafitte's Guesthouse this past weekend. This is a great hotel, right on Bourbon, across from Lafitte's Blacksmith Bar. Surprisingly the noise from the bar does not carry into the hotel. Very quiet and the most comfortable beds we've slept in. This hotel should have an overall rating of 5 stars. It is currently under new ownership and the remodels that have taken place are wonderful! We usually do multiple trips to New Orleans a year and we will definitely stay here again! Very safe area, close walk to all attractions!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 33, fantastic view from the blacony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful old building on the residential end of Bourbon St. A must stay for anyone who enjoys old buildings, New Orleans style architechture, or bed and breakfast type places. Staff was very friendly and always around when needed. Room and hotel was very clean and decorated wonderfully. The only small ding we had against it, was that the tempurature cannot be controlled for each room(no surprise for a 200+ year old building), so we did find it a little warm at night, but that's just a matter of opinion. This is definitely a place to go if you want a place to stay in the quarter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh S, Front Office Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Lafitte Guest House for your recent stay here in New Orleans! We want you to know that we value your comments and hope to have the pleasure of seeing you as regular guests, as we are close to completing our renovation process, which I'm sure you will be most impressed ! As far as the temperature in the rooms, we try to monitor all of our central units to satisfy the guests. Once again, thank you for your time and review on Trip Adviser.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lafitte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafitte Guest House

Address: 1003 Bourbon St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafitte Guest House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique hotel, Lafitte Guest House is located in the residential area of Bourbon Street. Visitors will enjoy the sights and sounds of Bourbon Street as well as a retreat into their own personal French Quarter home. The rich and colorful history was born in 1849, when the Gelieses family built this private home. The Mansion offers 14 expertly appointed rooms; all enjoy private baths and many even have private balconies. The rooms are spacious and uniquely decorated with antiques and reproductions from around the world. On Bourbon Street, all guests can gather on our shared balcony which includes a self service kitchen. Our elevator-served home features other amenities including wireless internet, hair dryers and modern guest amenities. Enjoy complimentary coffee, tea, biscuits and fruit in the morning! Staying with us is like staying in a private French Quarter residence. We will personalize your visit...just let us know how we can be of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Lafitte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafitte Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lafitte Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.