We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lafitte Guest House

Save Saved
You added Lafitte Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lafitte Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1003 Bourbon St., New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Jeanerette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We love discovering New Orleans' old hotels and Lafitte's Guesthouse is one of my favorites! The location is fantastic! I felt I had stepped back in time as soon as we entered. We were in room 22 (next to haunted room 21), a balcony room overlooking Lafitte's Bar and right next to the common kitchen for our 1 night trip to NOLA. Although Lafitte's Bar is right across the street, there is no outside noise to disturb your sleep. The rooms are newly remodeled, bathroom is small but very functional with fantastic water pressure, the furniture is period style pieces, beds are so comfortable, and the room are very spacious! If you choose a room without a balcony, there is a balcony off of the kitchen that overlooks Bourbon for all guests to use. They do offer complimentary snacks, soft drinks, juices, and coffee. It's in a prime location, we walked to the French Market, Jackson Square, and of course down Bourbon. The staff was very friendly and even allowed us a late check out. We will definitely return to Lafitte's Guesthouse

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    52
    20
    10
    31
See reviews for
38
129
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kenner
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We always go out of town for our anniversary but decided it was time to experience our own town. So glad we did! The Lafitte House is a quaint, romantic and cozy hotel. We loved loved loved room 21!! The furniture is old and antique as should be but the mattress, linens and towels are plush and smell so yummy! Everyone of the staff are so nice and helpful. We took advantage of our balcony as much a possible and brought some of our meals back with us so we could eat outside- so much fun! There is only one negative- the time went by too fast :( We hope to go back and play tourist again. Thankyou so much Hugh, Eddie, Joanne, and David, ya'll made anniversary 41 perfect!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochranville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The house is amazing. The rooms are beautiful, clean, and beds are very comfy. The staff is so wonderful and really go out of their way to make sure you have the best New Orleans experience possible. Thanks Eddie, Joanne, David and the rest of the Lafitte team for such a wonderful visit. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The rooms are spacious, updated, and clean. The staff is friendly and the location is convenient without being on the noisy end of Bourbon St. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Could not have asked for an easier experience. I felt like I was at home the entire time. The room was spectacular, the bed was actually better than my own! Without a doubt will be going back. Great staff, great location, only place to stay in New Orleans!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed the other night and what a wonderful room and location. The rooms are very well appointed, you wont find a more comfortable bed, and the view is unparallelable. From our balcony we could down Bourbon Street and the New Orleans skyline at the same time. The staff is super friendly and everything is neat as a pin. The art work in the building is an attraction all by itself. If you want a great place to stay I would recommend this location.

Room Tip: Room 32 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the LGH while celebrating my birthday. We loved everything about it! The mattresses were new,(and SO comfortable) the linens were new, and smelled awesome. The staff was so attentive, and the owner took the time to show us around his place. They are currently renovating an 'attic room'. Very impressive! We really enjoyed having the kitchen and snacks available to us. Nice touch. We'll definitely visit there again when staying overnite in NOLA. Loved the place!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lafitte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafitte Guest House

Address: 1003 Bourbon St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafitte Guest House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique hotel, Lafitte Guest House is located in the residential area of Bourbon Street. Visitors will enjoy the sights and sounds of Bourbon Street as well as a retreat into their own personal French Quarter home. The rich and colorful history was born in 1849, when the Gelieses family built this private home. The Mansion offers 14 expertly appointed rooms; all enjoy private baths and many even have private balconies. The rooms are spacious and uniquely decorated with antiques and reproductions from around the world. On Bourbon Street, all guests can gather on our shared balcony which includes a self service kitchen. Our elevator-served home features other amenities including wireless internet, hair dryers and modern guest amenities. Enjoy complimentary coffee, tea, biscuits and fruit in the morning! Staying with us is like staying in a private French Quarter residence. We will personalize your visit...just let us know how we can be of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Lafitte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafitte Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lafitte Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.