We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have never had a better experience anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lafitte Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lafitte Guest House to your Saves list
Lafitte Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1003 Bourbon St., New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
La Jolla, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I have never had a better experience anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

I previously wrote a review about my hesitation due to some bad reviews I had read about the old management and how I decided not to cancel and even got a free upgrade to a newly rennovated mansion room. Well, I am here and I could not tell you how incredible and truley unique my experience has been here! The pictures of the interior of the house do not even justify how beautiful the home is. Its magnificant! When we arrivedwe were greeted by David who was extremely polite and gave us a tour of the home and background about the history of the house. We let him know that it was our first time here and he gave us a number of really fun places and ideas to indulge in. After the tour we walked to our room #2 - absolutely breathtaking beautiful! It reminds me of an 1800's king and queen suite...its beautiful with long drapes, a chandelier, historic furniture and a bed that you sink into and never want to get out of! Not to mention - I had let them know it was our anniversary and a complimantary bottle of champaign was iced and accompanied by fresh orange juice and two glasses on our tea table. all I can say is - I am shocked and so appreciative for the experience so far here. It has been incredible...not to mention perfect location!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    63
    22
    12
    32
See reviews for
47
161
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I fell in love with Laffite Guest House during my recent "girlfriends getaway" vacation from 7/19-7/22. The staff was amazing, as an avid traveler i seldom write reviews. I just had to write one for LGH. Myself and 4 friends drove 16 hours from Wisconsin to New Orleans, upon check in it felt not like we were checking into a business but that we had just arrived at a family members home. The staff was so kind, there was a guy (very cute, wondering if he is single??) who had just started working there and was being trained, every question i threw at him he graciously answered (he now knows where the iron is kept thanks to me).The kitchen was stocked and on the 2nd day after we returned from a swamp tour we found fresh squeezed OJ and Champagne in our room for Mimosas. This place is reccommended and is now my 1st choice whenever I am in NOLA.

Room Tip: any room is great, temperature in the rooms are controlled by the front desk, upon request they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This guest house was lovely and the people helping you are very friendly. It was the most comfortable bed and the freshest sheets I have ever had at a hotel. It was also in a very convienent location without being in the noisy section of Burbon St.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

So sad to be back at work today following a wonderful 5 night stay at LGH! My daughter and I
could not have enjoyed our accomodations more, and the history behind out room (21) only made it better. The staff was lovely and gracious and we felt as though we were staying with old friends by the time we checked out. The renovations they are doing on the rooms look beautiful and we were also able to meet the new owner during our stay. As other reviewers have mentioned, the location is great. This is a perfect place to choose for a trip to New Orleans with family or friends and I will be recommending it to everyone I know. We will be back next year so save Room 21 for us!

Room Tip: The balcony in room 21 is awesome and be sure to check out the haunted history behind this room as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subwaysubs, Owner at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for the kind words! We all
Appreciate your business and look forward too
Seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Me, my husband and our 12 year old son stayed at Lafitte a day prior to our cruise and also 2 days after. Eddie, Joanne and the rest of the staff were the best! The decor was timeless, the rooms were great and the beds were so comfy!!! I love the little extra touch of the snacks and sodas in the kitchen...I know our 12 year old did! LOL
We will definately be back to stay at Lafitte!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a treasure in the French Quarter! Almost hate to write how great this place is because they will get too busy!!! If you are into "old " New Orleans...this your place! Beds were comfortable ...if you can get the little ghost to quit playing with things!!! We had a ball! Staff is great. It was pouring rain when we arrived and the owners moved cars to make room for us since I had a broken foot!!! Highly, highly recommend Lafittes!!!!

Room Tip: We had Room 35..quiet but slightly haunted!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I just had my bachelorette party here at this fabulous place this past weekend. Being a Louisiana native, I loved the intimacy and authentic feel to this little, lovely place. The suites were amazing and the balcony a great place to congregate and relax. Its just far enough away from the crazy part of Bourbon street to feel well rested but just a short walk to all things in the French Quarter. The staff was amazing, attentive, helpful and kind and did a great job of taking care of all our needs and making us feel comfortable and welcome. Snacks were always plentiful in the kitchen along with sodas and water. It was a great experience !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lafitte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafitte Guest House

Address: 1003 Bourbon St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafitte Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rich and colorful history was born in 1849, when the Gelieses family built this private home. The Mansion offers 14 expertly appointed rooms; all enjoy private baths and many even have private balconies. The rooms are spacious and uniquely decorated with antiques and reproduction art from around the world all available for Sale. A luxury boutique hotel, Lafitte Guest House is located in the residential area of Bourbon Street & French Quarter. Visitors will enjoy the sights and sounds of Bourbon Street as well as a retreat into their own personal French Quarter home. On Bourbon Street, all guests can gather on our shared balcony which includes a self service kitchen. Our elevator-served home features other amenities including wireless internet, hair dryers and modern guest amenities. We also are pet Friendly (Small pets only) Enjoy complimentary coffee, tea, biscuits and fruit in the morning! Staying with us is like staying in a private French Quarter residence. We will personalize your visit. You also can contact us for your Bachelor, Bachelorette, party, reception, and weddiing needs. As we Provide a Beautiful, Fun, & exciting venue for your needs! *Call us for a Reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lafitte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafitte Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lafitte Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.