We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, lots of charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Convento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villa Convento to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Convento
616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value, lots of charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed this place for its great location, and it's charm and character. It is right in French quarter but not noisy, with a delightful courtyard in the middle. The rooms were clean with great showers but is not the hilton, the staff were really helpful. Yes it is a bit tired, needs paint etc but they are working on these issues

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    97
    27
    21
    20
See reviews for
36
119
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have stayed at Villa Convento about 4 times over the past 15 years. It used to be a clean quaint simple place that was a good value. Now it has fallen into serious disrepair and is not clean. After arrival, we walked up dirty carpeted stair that had an area of crushed crackers on a few steps. 5 days later the crackers were still on the steps. Actually the carpets were filthy throughout. In our simple room, the chest of drawers was literally falling apart. I tried to tighten the drawer pulls and realign a bit to make it work, using a nail file. Why doesn't the person at the front desk get up and start vacuuming? Get a screw driver and fix the furnishings? The place could be whipped into shape with consistent elbow grease, but it appears no one cares - the reviews on the web are misleading and will shift with time, I believe. The courtyard is run down and unattended and there were guest smoking cigarettes and drinking beer there 24/7. Well, it's NOLA, but the place has the feel of a flop-house.

In short, the only positive is the location of Villa Convento. There are places for the same price nearby (I checked).

Room Tip: If you must stay here, and you are a non-smokerm be sure you get a room on the street because otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed there last September and we are headed back this year. We even booked the same room. There is a mystique you feel when you walk in the door. The rooms are simple and elegant. I like the old feel of the place and the price is amazing. Just a hop, skip, and a jump away from wherever you want to be in the french quarter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My now husband and I stayed here 4 nights last week while in the quarter to get married. We enjoyed the convenience to the quarter and Frenchmen's street and the lovely view over the roof tops. The receptionists (all of them) could not have been more helpful or kind. This is not a place that you would stay if you are a hotel snob, but someone who would enjoy character and understand and appreciate the age of the building. She has some quirks and oddities, but we liked that about her. We couldn't get our tv to work, but I am sure if we had asked it would have been taken care of. We will be back! Thanks Warren, Barbara, and the other receptionist who so kindly played the player piano for us (sorry we didn't catch your name), you made us feel special and right at home!

Room Tip: We had a great balcony room on the third floor corner that had a fantastic view, with another window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Hotel is not like your usual modern Best Western or Marriott. Everything is a bit old and tired but it is all clean. It is also in a very convenient and quiet location. Another reason to stay here is one receptionist, Barbara. She will try her best to make your stay comfortable. My husband and I found the mattress to be too soft. She had someone place a wooden board under the mattress. It made a difference. There should be more receptionists like her.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at the Villa Convento for what turned out to be ten wonderful days in February, 2014. The hotel is small and charming with lots of character and sense of place and history--which is exactly what we were looking for in our New Orleans stay. Yes, the elevator is old and slow. Yes, the place is careworn and has some imperfections…just like the city…and just like the city, by the end of our stay it had seduced us.
First, the location couldn't be better for exploring the French Market and the river, the French Quarter, Treme, the museums in the Warehouse District and the music clubs on Frenchman St.. We walked everywhere from Villa Convento.
Second, the staff was welcoming and so helpful. When there was a problem with the first room we stayed in, they found us another. When our stay was extended because of cancelled flights, they found us yet another room at a very affordable rate. Thanks especially to Barbara for the extra time and effort to make us so comfortable at Villa Convento.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

harming boutique hotel with a lot of history (it used to be a brothel...ask Barbara!), that feels very authentic and cozy. Online booking was easy; and per a note that I included in my booking, they upgraded us room to a Courtyard room since we were celebrating a birthday.

The price was reasonably ($115/night excluding taxes), especially for the excellent location. It's in the French Quarters and close to all the action, but not smack dab in the middle of it all. So, you can easily get around and have your fun, and get your sleep. (Though I should mention that the walls are pretty thin, to the point that you can hear neighbors conversing late at night or in the morning).

And I have to note Barbara's awesome attitude. She's not "customer service oriented." That's something that people who don't care have to forcibly present. She's innately hospitable. It's obvious, and awesome. Thanks for being so cool, personably, and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Convento

Address: 616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the French Market and Mississippi River in the heart of the French Quarter, the Hotel Villa Convento is a warm and cozy guest house, offering guests the personal service of seventh-generation New Orleanians, the Campos. Rumored to be the legendary House of the Rising Sun, this building is a Creole townhouse dating back to the 1830s. Here you can encapsulated by the sounds and smells of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Hotel New Orleans
Convento New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.