We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Convento

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Convento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Convento
616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location and great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband, 2 year old, and myself, were traveling from Daytona Beach FL to El Paso TX. We had never been to New Orleans and really wanted the full experience, but didnt want to go broke. I wanted to stay in a hotel near the french quarter, but not too close because it was Mardi Gras. I read reviews for this hotel and decided on this one. We were originally booked for a queen bed room (budget room I believe is what its called). The gentleman at the desk was very friendly and helpful. When he saw there was 3 of us he offered to upgrade to the queen with twin for the same price (I believe it was around $100<-- remember mardi gras) because a guest had cancel. He was very helpful with directions and ideas of what to do. The location is perfect! Walking distance from french quarter and bourbon st, but far enough away to where its not noisy. I will have to say the parking garage was a pain to find and looks like a SHADY area! But they keep it locked and only allow one room at a time to go to the garage (theres a key to get into the garage). The rooms and bathrooms are old. So if your looking for something new and fresh, this is not for you. However, if you want the experience of New Orleans, new and fresh is not it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villa_Convento, Manager at Hotel Villa Convento, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are so happy that this reviewer enjoyed their stay with us and look forward to having them again.

To clarify, our (free) parking garage is located at the corner of Frenchmen Street and Decatur in the center of the Frenchmen Street entertainment district, the second largest strip in the city and the center of New Orleans' live music scene. We are sorry that this guest did not have the time to explore this area of the city while parking their car as it also happens to be in one of the more affluent areas of town.

It is a common misconception that anywhere in New Orleans outside of the French Quarter is "shady" but actually these areas are where some of the city's best attractions are. Granted, our old homes, leaning balconies and eclectic characters may be a strange site for some visiting from other parts of the country but this is also what makes New Orleans unique. We are always happy to offer our recommendations so that guests may see the city outside its more touristic areas without feeling disoriented.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    92
    26
    19
    20
See reviews for
36
108
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I'm a former resident of the French Quarter and was traveling with friends who were not familiar with the area. We stayed over the weekend at the Villa Convento because of its central location and great prices, we'll certainly stay again thanks to the gentleman at the front desk. The room was very comfortable with a view overlooking the central courtyard, at night the breezes were wonderful. The building also has an interesting history. Vince at the front desk went above and beyond with recommendations on restaurants and what to do/where to go. It had been years since I was a resident of the quarter and I'd forgotten many of the hidden gems the area had to offer, in talking with Vince though it all came flooding back to me and I remembered what it was like to call the French Quarter home. My friends and I became separated late saturday night(very easy to do once the drinks start to flow) and when they couldn't find their way back to the room or reach me on my cell, Vince (with the patients of a saint) coached the pair back to the hotel over the phone. Thank you so much! I'll make sure all my friends come stay with you soon.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have a great street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

To whom it may concern:

Hello, we stayed at this hotel recently during our trip to New Orleans. Great location! Maybe not the most fancy hotel but it was nice and authentic. The night guy at the front desk was very helpful; with thorough knowledge of the city and some great recommendations!
However, we were alarmed and disappointed by the morning person. She was basically civil when speaking to us directly but then she was openly gossiping about her co-workers in front of us and other guests then proceeded to discuss some sordid details of her personal life (definitely NOT for children's ears!). This isn't what we want to deal with when we take a much needed vacation! We'll be back in New Orleans as soon as we can, but we'll probably consider a different hotel considering this experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff was very friendly, especially Barbara. We were treated well, had a clean and comfortable room, and were close to everything. The street was quiet which was nice. My wife and I like places with character, not the chain types, and this was perfect for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villa_Convento, Manager at Hotel Villa Convento, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We absolutely love to hear positive reviews from our guests. We believe that the staff here is what makes this hotel a great experience for those visiting our city.

For security reasons we only keep two keys to the garage behind the front desk. Sometimes both keys are being used by guests who are parking their vehicle and one might have to wait. We apologize that you had to wait. Please know that this was not done with ill-intent; as mentioned above we pride ourselves for our hospitality.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at this hotel during our impromptu visit to the French quarter this weekend. After stopping by the hotel to check it out (it's thought to be the same hotel from the song House of the Rising Sun) we were quoted a rate that we quite frankly could not turn down. Barbara (at the front desk) was so adorable and helpful. I can not say enough sweet things about her. And the hotel was so conveniently located that going to and from bourbon street was no sweat! Also, the room felt like home! It was so quaint and it truly felt like you expect staying in the quarter to feel like. Overall this was a great experience (despite one encounter with Vince at the front desk regarding a "missing" garage key, but Barbara more than made up for the trouble he caused)! I will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villa_Convento, Manager at Hotel Villa Convento, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We absolutely love to hear positive reviews from our guests. We believe that the staff here is what makes this hotel a great experience for those visiting our city.

For security reasons we only keep two keys to the garage behind the front desk. Sometimes both keys are being used by guests who are parking their vehicle and one might have to wait. We apologize that you had to wait. Please know that this was not done with ill-intent; as mentioned above we pride ourselves for our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I seriously LOVE this hotel! The staff is super nice and they go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. If you are looking for crystal chandeliers and snobby desk help you should go somewhere else. This hotel may not have 5 stars, but it is so charming. The courtyard is lovely and the rooms are clean. This is the 2nd time we've stayed here and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location : 5min to the french quarter and bourbon street.
Staff super friendly and helpfull. Barbara is wonderfull!!
Typical New Orleans architecture.
A MUST go!!
We payed $100 for 3 people, one night on june 25th.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Convento

Address: 616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the French Market and Mississippi River in the heart of the French Quarter, the Hotel Villa Convento is a warm and cozy guest house, offering guests the personal service of seventh-generation New Orleanians, the Campos. Rumored to be the legendary House of the Rising Sun, this building is a Creole townhouse dating back to the 1830s. Here you can encapsulated by the sounds and smells of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Hotel New Orleans
Convento New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.