We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable haven just off Bourban Street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Convento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Convento to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Convento
616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Claremore, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable haven just off Bourban Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a lovely and very friendly hotel close to the corner of Urselines and Royal. It is a short stroll to Jackson Square (maybe 2 minutes in strolling time). They have a private, secure, off site garage. The hotel is old but so charming. If you are someone who wants a 5 star hotel, do not stay here. If you want a hotel that is convenient, charming and a quiet refuge after a day in New Orleans French Quarter, this is the place for you. I called the hotel and told them it was my first trip to NOLA and I was bringing my mother. The man who answered my call was so kind, looked through the rooms and chose a room that he thought we would enjoy. It was room 208 (I think) and it was right off the courtyard. You could take the elevator, but we choose to take the stairs. The room is clean and comfortable, though showing its age (in a truly charming way). The building is old (what like 200 years or more) so I expected the wear. My mother and I were completely happy with the location, atmosphere and helpful, friendly nature of the staff. I would definitely come back to this place. Though you should not, this is not a young, lets get loud and drunk, hotel. They pride themselves on their quiet haven just off Bourbon Street atmosphere.

Room Tip: Try to get a courtyard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    93
    26
    20
    20
See reviews for
36
110
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I've stayed here several times, and I still can't find anywhere with the same kind of balance of being near the French Quarter enough to walk, or stumble, yet far enough away to avoid the continual parade of yahoos. Hotel Villa Convento manages both. And you couldn't ask for a more accommodating host than Vince. Some reviewers complained about A/C noise, but maybe I got lucky. With the bakery across the street and everything else within a few blocks, it's hard to beat the convenience of the place. The good news/bad news is that there's indoor locked parking, but it's a bit of a hike to get to. Still, I'd rather get the exercise than risk leaving my car on the street, especially with NOLA cops as capricious about ticketing and towing as they are these days, not to mention random vandalism. There's no room service, and it's not a 5 star place, but you're still treated like a 1st class citizen there, and you've got your choice of regular or chicory Community coffee in the lobby.

Room Tip: If you've got a lot of luggage, get a room on the same level as a level where the elevator stops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We arrived at the Villa Convento about an hour and a half prior to check in time, hoping we could drop the bag off, maybe park the car and stroll a bit before the room was ready. To our pleasant surprise our room was ready when we arrived! We were lucky to find a parking spot on the street right in front of the hotel, so we didn't end up at the garage. Warren was very helpful on suggesting what to do for the night. The hotel was far away enough from the nightlife area that we slept pleasantly, and the bed was very comfortable. We did have some noisy neighbors the second night that were coming and going, and hanging out on their balcony until we got up the next morning. But hey! It's New Orleans, who cares! We just joked that they were the vampires we had heard about on our ghost tour. Barbara suggested the best part of our trip, a swamp tour! Overall, the hotel is a great place to stay. The staff was great, our room was great, and they only charge a dollar for drinks at the front desk!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 300, with a balcony. Excellent! Balcony rooms may be a bit smaller, but if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The people who work here are very friendly and accomodated your needs. Gave great hole in the wall places to eat cajun and cheap fried food. Even invited us back to party that night. Relaxing balcony view but still only a few blocks away from the bar scenes. Awesome experience will always stay here on future returns. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glen, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

On arrival into Room 103, we first had to kill a cockroach - luckily he was the only one we saw. We then experienced all that New Orleans had to offer getting back rather late at night. We were woken rather early by the sound of the rain hitting the AC outside and the noise was incredibly loud! Had no idea what time it was as the room was pitch black - the only window faced the air shaft where the air conditioner was placed. After a fun night, we needed some sleep and we got very little! Asked the front desk employee for some compensation and he said well the rain did not start until after 7 so ---. He did discount the room but in doing so he was arrogant and demeaning. So watch out for any room on the air shaft, especially 103, because when it rains you will get no sleep!

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

jus got home from my stay at Villa Convento and I must say I love this place more every time I stay there ! Now this is NOT a big chain hotel, no room service, no coffee pots in your room..Now that said..Where else can you stay that the guests actually hang out with the wonderful folks who work there ?? This is the best kept secret in New Orleans. Its like being in someones home ! Warren, Vance and Barbara are the absolute best !! and literally right out the front door is the best french bakery in the city ! they always have hot tea and coffee in the lobby ..anythng you need or want..they can accommodate !!! There are wonderful restaurants just a block away..and their court yard is so cozy and homey !! I have already made my reservations for my next visit !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just around the corner from Royal St - great area close to Bourbon St and Jackson Square. Loved the internal courtyard (our room was just off it). Check in easy and Vincenzo was helpful advising us of location of shops etc

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Convento

Address: 616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the French Market and Mississippi River in the heart of the French Quarter, the Hotel Villa Convento is a warm and cozy guest house, offering guests the personal service of seventh-generation New Orleanians, the Campos. Rumored to be the legendary House of the Rising Sun, this building is a Creole townhouse dating back to the 1830s. Here you can encapsulated by the sounds and smells of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Hotel New Orleans
Convento New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.