We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, central, within French Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Convento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Convento to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Convento
616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Basel
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great value, central, within French Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Granted, the place is a little old and worn, but has its special charm and is clean. I reckon it is best value downtown New Orleans. First night I was a little cold, so I mentioned it at the front desk and Barbara went out of her way to myke my room warm and cosy. I liked the different court-yards and the old building. Look for yourself, it is worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    93
    26
    20
    20
See reviews for
36
113
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This little spot has everything I want when I visit N'awlins: (in order of importance) Great location, finest-kind folks, (Many blessings to you Warren, Vince, Barbara) free parking, amazing rates, intriguing history and COOL FLAVOR! And the free-flowing CC's coffee is just over the top! The hotel is mere blocks away to all the best Quarter hot spots. This makes ducking back to your room for quick changes, dropping off packages, potty breaks, restin' up, etc. a VERY NICE perk! Now, if you're expecting the Holiday Express or Sheraton experience, pass up Villa Convento and leave it available for us who "get" the deal offered here. It isn't spotless (like the Quarter itself!) and it's old and quirky. (Uh....again...the whole French Quarter....) But if you want to settle into some memorable character while you fall in love with the staff, don't miss my new go-to place, The House of the Rising Fun! Kudos and thanks to the Campo family from Karen and Christine!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here a few times now and it's always been a great experience! The location is perfect. Only 2 blocks from the French Market and within walking distance of every must see of the Quarter. The staff are wonderful. They are so friendly and helpful. Also, there's a FABULOUS pastry shop across the street, Croissant D'or. I will stay here every time I come to NOLA!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for about 4 nights while staying in NOLA for New Year's Eve. It is perfectly located right in the French Quarter, blocks away from Jackson Square, Bourbon street, and Frenchman street, but it is quiet enough that we were not disturbed by rowdy party people on the streets. We were in the economy room, so the price was right for those on a budget. The room was a little small, but we did not mind at all. It also smelled a little musty from the heating unit, but, again, we didn't mind. The staff was amazing, and really helped us with parking our car in their garage. Parking is free in the garage, but it is first come first serve, and there are limited spaces, but it is a safe and easy way to park in NOLA. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Barbara, at the front desk, was AMAZING! She made sure we were well taken care of, even making reservations for the tours we took and going over great places to go and eat and visit. We had a great visit to New Orleans. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend and two friends. We were absolutely delighted with the rooms which had a lot of character and were very comfortable. Vince was absolutely the best and was very welcoming and eager to share New Orleans with us. The hotel is in a perfect area right in the middle of the french quarter and we felt extremely safe wherever we went and even walking at night was fine. We will definately return to Villa Convento next time we visit new Orleans- we were so welcomed it feels like a home away from home :) Thank you to all of the staff and especially Vince !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just spent one night here and while the place is very old and decidedly funky, it really evokes old New Orleans with the courtyard and exposed brick. If you need everything perfect, this isn't the place for you but if you like a little character in your lodgings, we recommend this place. The location is perfect (between hustle of French Quarter and bustle of Frenchman St. nightclubs). Saving the best for last, the staff was amazing; friendly and helpful beyond belief.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Convento

Address: 616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the French Market and Mississippi River in the heart of the French Quarter, the Hotel Villa Convento is a warm and cozy guest house, offering guests the personal service of seventh-generation New Orleanians, the Campos. Rumored to be the legendary House of the Rising Sun, this building is a Creole townhouse dating back to the 1830s. Here you can encapsulated by the sounds and smells of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Hotel New Orleans
Convento New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.