We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, price and Staff are amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Convento

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Convento
616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, price and Staff are amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our room was great! We had a great time! Very good location in the middle of everything near Jackson square and the French Quarter. Barbara was at the front desk, super friendly and accommodating. She helped us find everything and made sure we had everything we needed. I would recommend this place to everyone. Very good value and worth every penny !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    88
    21
    17
    19
See reviews for
30
101
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband, 12-yr old daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Villa Convento for 10 nights in October 2012. Location and price make this the best hotel in the French Quarter. We were in room 103 and paid $125/night plus taxes and $1/day fee during a big convention. The room is accessed from the courtyard, had a queen bed and a double bed, shower/tub with a good handrail for getting in and out. The room had two ceiling fans and a good, working a/c unit. The carpeting was a bit industrial, but had good padding underneath which is nice after a long day of walking to the convention center and back. The room has a window facing a work shed, and a window in the door which is covered, so really, there are no windows to speak of. Morning light does seep in a tiny bit so it's not like you are in a cave, however. You can open the door to the courtyard which is lovely if you are hanging around the hotel, which we didn't. The comforters were pretty (brown, teal) with bedruffles. The shower pressure was good and temp did not fluctuate (plenty of hot water). Shower spray feels like needles, but we fixed that by covering it with a washcloth tied with a hairband. Housekeeping was uneven (missed our room one day), but ok. Room was musty smelling but not terrible. No toiletries except soap provided, but there's an ice machine in courtyard and they sell cans of sodapop for $1 at the front desk. Close to French Market, and good restaurants (Mona Lisa:1212 Royal, Eat! @Dauphine & Dumaine, Angeli on Decatur & Gov Nicolls). Best place for breakfast or lunch: Camellia Grill on Chartres & Toulouse for the food, sitting at the counter and the waiters! The Croissand D'Or is not as good as it used to be, preKatrina). No ghosts in our room, but good ghost tour starts around the block at Flanagan's on St. Philip at 6 and 8 pm. I prefer to stay here for a convention because you'll want to eat in the French Quarter and after dinner you will be just a few blocks away from your bed. This is the real Vieux Carre experience. Front desk staff are good hosts.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights here and found the location to be perfect! Being able to walk around the French Quarter and being able to pop back to your air conditioned room to get out of the crazy humidity was great.

You're literally 5 minutes from Frenchmen which was exactly what we hoped New Orleans would be, great music (both in the bars and on the streets) great food and great drinks.

The staff were extremely helpful and gave us some brilliant recommendations for dinner and nights out off the beaten track.

The room itself will be a disappointment to those expecting a modern Hilton style room but the Convento is perfectly clean and has everything you need including bags of character (often lacking in the aforementioned Hilton rooms).

Finally the free parking was an absolute winner and although its a 5 minute walk once your car is parked up you can forget about it til you leave. From what I gathered during my hotel research in NEw Orleans parking is either non existent or horrendously expensive. Given how much time you're going to be spending in your room (not a lot) in such a cool city, I'd recommend booking here and using the money you save in parking fees on oysters and cocktails!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile AL
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just got back from a weekend stay here....The Hotel Villa Convento is the quintessential place to stay in New Orleans. Vince and Warren were great hosts it was like staying with family...very welcoming. We stayed in a king loft room RM 305. The king bed was very comfortable to sleep on....the twin beds up in the loft were ok according to my friends that stayed up there. Yes the room could used updating but the room was large enough for our group of five and clean. We have stayed at many B&B's and hotels around NOLA this hotel is a great value and location. With parking at a premium in NOLA we got free parking the parking is about a 10 min walk but not bad far at all. We parked the car on fri afternoon and didn't see it again until after we checked out. The location is great every place we wanted to go to was all in walking distance no need for a car. 2 blocks to Bourbon St, 2 blocks to French market, few blocks to Frenchmen St. you can't beat the location. We are already planning another trip to NOLA and another stay here!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I wanted a real NOLA experience and were thrilled with our stay at the Villa Convento. First off the staff is extremely knowledgable about NOLA. Any question we had was quickly answered by Warren, Vincenzo, and Barb. By the time we left, I felt like Barb was family!! I don't believe I have ever felt so comfortable in a hotel.

We had a second floor balcony room and loved the wonderful people watching from the deck in the morning with our great cuppa joe, from the office. After a cup we were ready to wander across the street to the Croissant D'or for amazing pastry and baguettes.

The Villa Convento is perfectly located and it's easy to walk anywhere in the French Quarter, yet it's off Bourbon St. so you get some peace and quiet as well but the action was only two blocks away. We stayed for a full week, and were so pleased with everything, that I know we'll be returning to stay again.

The hotel is old, it's got wonderful ambience and personality. Ya, gotta ride the elevator at least once! Our room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom spotless. It's got some water damage on the ceiling, with a slight musty smell, but that was easily taken care of once we'd open our door and let in some air while hanging out on the balcony. The air conditioning was so efficient, we had to turn it down to keep from being cold! It's a quirky place, with some fun historic tales and even a ghost or two, or so we were told. Our experience was ghost free and quite pleasant, and just hearing some of the stories that floated up from the "haunted tours" was enough to put a big smile on my face.

I can't rate the hotel highly enough!! I miss it and long to return.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are small with a huge balcony where the rooms without balconies are larger, so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have stayed here twice; first in 1999 and again in May 2011. The location is excellent; far enough from Bourbon street to get some sleep, but close enough to enjoy everything NO has to offer! The style of the building situates the guest rooms around a central courtyard. Though the courtyard is small, it is pleasant to sit out and enjoy the fresh air and sunshine. Our room was dark and the fixtures somewhat worse for wear, so we appreciated passing time in the courtyard when we weren't out on the town. At the time, I would give this hotel a lower "good" rating if not for the location and history of the building. I believe the owners were working at refurbishing, so please trust more current ratings. There are other hotels more luxurious, but the prices here are most affordable and, since you won't be hanging out in your room anyway, the French quarter location is the best!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a wonderful old hotel in a quiet part of the French Quarter. The building is old and quirky, with lots of character. Our room (201) had a large balcony overlooking the street. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and quiet. The staff is great and have lots of tips for places to eat, etc. It is close enough to walk to the hustle and bustle of Bourbon Street and Jackson Square, but far enough away to be quiet and safe. It is also a short walk to the clubs of Frenchman Street. There is a wonderful bakery across the street and we enjoyed croissants and coffee on our balcony in the morning. But remember, this is an old, old building so don't complain about cracks in the ceiling and the old, slow elevator. If you want the Hilton, stay at the Hilton. If you are looking for a unique French Quarter experience, by all means stay here. We certainly will.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking the street if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Convento

Also Known As:
Convento Hotel New Orleans
Convento New Orleans
Address: 616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the French Market and Mississippi River in the heart of the French Quarter, the Hotel Villa Convento is a warm and cozy guest house, offering guests the personal service of seventh-generation New Orleanians, the Campos. Rumored to be the legendary House of the Rising Sun, this building is a Creole townhouse dating back to the 1830s. Here you can encapsulated by the sounds and smells of the French Quarter. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Convento to your Saves list