We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Heart of the French Quarter with ambience and history...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Convento

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Convento
616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Carmichael, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“The Heart of the French Quarter with ambience and history...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I wanted a real NOLA experience and were thrilled with our stay at the Villa Convento. First off the staff is extremely knowledgable about NOLA. Any question we had was quickly answered by Warren, Vincenzo, and Barb. By the time we left, I felt like Barb was family!! I don't believe I have ever felt so comfortable in a hotel.

We had a second floor balcony room and loved the wonderful people watching from the deck in the morning with our great cuppa joe, from the office. After a cup we were ready to wander across the street to the Croissant D'or for amazing pastry and baguettes.

The Villa Convento is perfectly located and it's easy to walk anywhere in the French Quarter, yet it's off Bourbon St. so you get some peace and quiet as well but the action was only two blocks away. We stayed for a full week, and were so pleased with everything, that I know we'll be returning to stay again.

The hotel is old, it's got wonderful ambience and personality. Ya, gotta ride the elevator at least once! Our room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom spotless. It's got some water damage on the ceiling, with a slight musty smell, but that was easily taken care of once we'd open our door and let in some air while hanging out on the balcony. The air conditioning was so efficient, we had to turn it down to keep from being cold! It's a quirky place, with some fun historic tales and even a ghost or two, or so we were told. Our experience was ghost free and quite pleasant, and just hearing some of the stories that floated up from the "haunted tours" was enough to put a big smile on my face.

I can't rate the hotel highly enough!! I miss it and long to return.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are small with a huge balcony where the rooms without balconies are larger, so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    90
    24
    19
    20
See reviews for
33
107
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have stayed here twice; first in 1999 and again in May 2011. The location is excellent; far enough from Bourbon street to get some sleep, but close enough to enjoy everything NO has to offer! The style of the building situates the guest rooms around a central courtyard. Though the courtyard is small, it is pleasant to sit out and enjoy the fresh air and sunshine. Our room was dark and the fixtures somewhat worse for wear, so we appreciated passing time in the courtyard when we weren't out on the town. At the time, I would give this hotel a lower "good" rating if not for the location and history of the building. I believe the owners were working at refurbishing, so please trust more current ratings. There are other hotels more luxurious, but the prices here are most affordable and, since you won't be hanging out in your room anyway, the French quarter location is the best!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a wonderful old hotel in a quiet part of the French Quarter. The building is old and quirky, with lots of character. Our room (201) had a large balcony overlooking the street. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and quiet. The staff is great and have lots of tips for places to eat, etc. It is close enough to walk to the hustle and bustle of Bourbon Street and Jackson Square, but far enough away to be quiet and safe. It is also a short walk to the clubs of Frenchman Street. There is a wonderful bakery across the street and we enjoyed croissants and coffee on our balcony in the morning. But remember, this is an old, old building so don't complain about cracks in the ceiling and the old, slow elevator. If you want the Hilton, stay at the Hilton. If you are looking for a unique French Quarter experience, by all means stay here. We certainly will.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking the street if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in this wonderful hotel for one night. It is situated near the old Ursuline monastary and in a very quit street. We had a balcony room which gave us a beautiful view on the monastary. Our room was large, beauiful and very clean. It was really a pleasure to chill in the room or the (large!) blacony. The atmosphere in the hotel is very quit and peaceful . The staff (Barbara in particular) is extremely helpful and welcoming. Yes, this place almost feels like home! On top op that, prices and policy regarding check in and check out are very reasonable. Really, there is no better place to stay in New Orleans than this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a lovely old hotel in the french district. We stayed in a balcony room and it was wonderful to sit and watch the carriages go by. Short walk to Bourbon St and French market. It is a little rough around the edges as it is a very old hotel but it is very clean and has comfortable beds. Could not have picked a better place to stay would stay again and recommend this hotel if you are looking for a hotel with history and charm.

Room Tip: Recommend balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Me and my daughter stayed here for here 21st birthday. Location to all areas in French quarter were great. Barbara and Vince to great care of us. This is where will stay on future visits. The rooms were clean and comfortable and each one is unique. We stayed in one of the loft rooms and in one of the queen rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We selected this hotel because it is IN the French Quarter -- not "near" as many other hotels state. We could not have chosen better. Yes, the Grande Dame is a bit run-down in places, but for goodness' sake, she was built in the 1830s. The owners are trying to upgrade and spruce up, but it is not the place to stay if you want valet service, a chocolate on your pillow, or any of the other amenities that the chains offer at 2-3 times the price. If you want Radisson or Hyatt, stay there.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed talking with the owners at length about the history of the hotel -- and what a history! At one time, a brothel, a convent, a private home, and haunted at that! The courtyard is peaceful, shutting out all of the city's noises, yet it's only blocks to the river, the French Market, and Bourbon Street.

Yes, "Grandma" the elevator, even has old charm -- which one can NOT get at the newer, fancier and more expensive hotels.

This will be a permanent stopping place whenever we're in New Orleans!

Room Tip: If you're looking for ghosts, try room 206. If looking to see the NOLA skyline, ask for rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Convento

Address: 616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the French Market and Mississippi River in the heart of the French Quarter, the Hotel Villa Convento is a warm and cozy guest house, offering guests the personal service of seventh-generation New Orleanians, the Campos. Rumored to be the legendary House of the Rising Sun, this building is a Creole townhouse dating back to the 1830s. Here you can encapsulated by the sounds and smells of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Convento Hotel New Orleans
Convento New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Convento to your Saves list