We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to rest your head!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Convento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villa Convento to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Convento
616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming place to rest your head!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

When staying the French Quarter, you have to keep in mind that modern amenities are not always at your disposal. Sometimes it's nice to step away from every day life and immerse yourself in all that New Orleans has to offer. Hotel Villa Convento is just the place to rest your head after that awesome day of taking in all that the city has to offer!

I came across this hotel by pure accident and I have never had a single regret! This charming hotel in the middle of the French Quarter is my home away from home when I'm in New Orleans. It's set on the quieter side of the Quarter, a block from the French Market and has the most wonderful, helpful staff I've ever come across in my travels.

Price is exceptionally reasonable compared to what you will find anywhere close to this location. We often book the loft rooms that can sleep up to 6 but I've stayed in the single rooms which are quaint and lovely for that romantic weekend! I highly recommend Room 207 or any of the balcony rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms 305 and 306 are loft rooms that are great for a friends' weekend! Room 207 is a larger, qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    97
    27
    21
    20
See reviews for
36
119
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I've stayed in some pretty horrible hotels in New Orleans on several trips, and this is by far the best hotel for the best price in the French Quarter. It's old. It's brick. If you want a hotel room with impeccable rooms & linens, 500 cable channels don't stay here and don't expect to spend less than $300 a night in the French Quarter. If you want a clean, lovely room with character at a very reasonable price, stay here.
I stayed in 2 rooms over a few days and both were rather pleasantly appointed and clean. The staff are wonderful, helpful and friendly, they really know the city. The history of the building itself is fascinating and because it's family run they really bend over backwards for their guests.
The elevator is interesting...but if you're good to her, she'll be good to you.
I'll definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great off-Bourbon St location so sleep a good possibility until the early morning garbage trucks, a scourge of the French Quarter. Well-located across the street from a very good and beautiful bakery or one block from a Community Coffee store. Avoid the elevator which is ancient if you can or send up the luggage separately. Some of the rooms are well-situated with balconies overlooking Ursuline Street but don't lean against the faux metal railings as the wood has serious rot. The rooms are small and contain the basics. I found the bathrooms adequate, the rooms a bit dreary with brick walls and the bed linens rather in need of replacement. There's a nice enclosed place to park your car for free a few blocks away and you're not going to find anything cheaper that's bearable in the The Quarter. Staff is good and helpful. We had two rooms and one had mold in the non-fanned bathroom and the other I considered reasonably clean. The rooms are small but who stays in their room much in the Quarter? Depending upon the room you may have a fairly good stay or one that you may want to only spend one night.

Room Tip: The middle room on the second floor overlooking Ursuline had water issues after a recent rain with w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

Old fashion "charm"
Zero amenities
Old furniture
Minimal decor
High tolerance for dirty
Nice people
Great location
Historic building

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in mid March. The location is great. The pastry shop across the street is very convenient. We enjoyed coffee overlooking the street in the morning. On the down side was the cleanliness of the room as well as the old bedding, specifically the sheets and blanket. They were old and scratchy Our room smelled of mold. Towels never dried. The elevator is very unique. I would stay here again, but hope the management steps up their expectations of their staff.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed two nights this past weekend at the Hotel Villa Convento on Ursuline Street. The location is mid point between the Marigny section and Jackson Square and also close to the
French Market. Our room overlooked a small but very nice courtyard and had the feel of an old creole home. We had one wall that was old time brick and we had a large four poster bed. And the elevator that slighly resembles a padded telephone booth should be a tourist attraction. The entire staff here treats you like a long lost, and liked, relative that has come home for a visit. They are so helpful and accommodating and this family aspect is what others have said and attracted us to see what this place was like. We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Sadly, we'd have to agree with the previous reviewer. Like them, we like to find hotels that have character, rather than corporate ones, but that doesn't mean we don't care about simple standards.

On the plus side, the price and location of this hotel are probably second to none in the French Quarter. Also, all the receptionists were very pleasant and helpful in their attitude, but pretty ineffectual - they all seem to be there for one shift, then you don't see them again. No-one seems to be in charge, or if they are, we didn't see them. Another plus is the cafe opposite, the Croissant d'Or, which was excellent for a croissant-type or pastry breakfast.

Unfortunately the cleanliness of the rooms, in particular our bathroom, let the hotel down. There would seem to be a lack of anyone in charge here too, and someone needs to be checking up on the cleaning. We were there for 4 nights, and after the first day, I took our damp, used floor towel and wiped the bathroom wall, which was smeared in dirty stains - guess what? The marks all came off with one wipe, i.e. no-one had even tried to clean it!

With regard to the noise from other guests - we had one night where people seemed to be sitting outside their rooms talking in loud voices, from the time they arrived home drunk at 3.30, until 5.30 am!

But there is a solution to this! We mentioned it to the receptionist (never saw her again!) who was extremely apologetic, but our solution to this was to switch on the noisy air conditioning unit in our room when we went to bed - this nicely muffled all outside noises!

It's a real pity that a lack of someone being in overall charge seems to be the root of this hotel's problems, when it has a lot of potential to be really good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Convento

Address: 616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the French Market and Mississippi River in the heart of the French Quarter, the Hotel Villa Convento is a warm and cozy guest house, offering guests the personal service of seventh-generation New Orleanians, the Campos. Rumored to be the legendary House of the Rising Sun, this building is a Creole townhouse dating back to the 1830s. Here you can encapsulated by the sounds and smells of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Hotel New Orleans
Convento New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.