We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary In All Ways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental New Orleans to your Saves list
InterContinental New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Extraordinary In All Ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had travelled extensively, but never visited New Orleans. We debated staying in the French Quarter but chose the Intercontinental based on excellent reviews. We stayed two nights a few days after Mardi Gras, and it was the perfect choice. With the exception of the viewing stands still on the street, you would never gave guessed there was a huge party and parade two days earlier. Every aspect of the facility was beautiful--from the lobby to the expansive exercise center to our bathroom. The staff was universally professional, welcoming and helpful: the bellman, valet parking, concierge, and especially Anthony and Salman at the registration desk. Our room was spacious with new, beautiful furnishings, a most comfy king bed, lovely linens and a great view of the city. We really appreciated the easy-to-use safe, robe, separate bath/toilet and sink areas, and Keurig coffee maker. I repeatedly told my husband I felt constantly pampered--even the toiletries were generous and top-of-the-line. The location is perfect--away from the constant hustle and bustle of Bourbon Street but only a 3-block walk away. Also an easy walk to all the famous sight-seeing spots in the French Quarter, the mule-drawn carriages, tourist bus tours, cable car stops and the World War II Museum (a MUST see!). Dozens of wonderful restaurants within a few blocks, and we also highly recommend the Hotel restaurant (Trenasse). Excellent food at reasonable prices and terrific service. We thought this long-overdue trip to the Big Easy would be a "one and done," but we now agree a few nights at this hotel must be an annual event for at least the next few years.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
18
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The service was outstanding from the bellman, to the front desk to housekeeping to the food and beverage team. They all went out of their way to share a smile, greet with you with an uplifting hello and enjoy you were taken care of. They ensured I had a fabulous conference and great stay.

The hotel itself was centrally located to be close to everything in town. The rooms were over-sized and extremely clean! I wish I could have taken the comfortable bed home with me! The food in the lounge was top-notch, along with the drinks!

The hotel made my conference and my stay away from home truly amazing! I would recommend this property to EVERYONE!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanoGM, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Kohmart,

Thank you for your 5 star review of our hotel. We deeply appreciate your feedback from the conference that you attended. Please tell your friends about us. We hope to see you back very soon.

John Romano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Intercontinental is located conveniently in the middle of the CBD & The French Quarter. Most of the things people come to NOLA are within walking distance. If you need to go further, the trolley system is excellent and the St. Charles line runs right in front of the hotel. As for the street noise, it is a major city so you're going to have that anywhere. Enjoy the wonderful service provided by a great staff.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanoGM, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Bidredtomato,

Thank you for your 5 star review of our hotel. We deeply appreciate your feedback. Please tell your friends about us. We hope to see you back very soon.

John Romano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a very nicely appointed hotel. It is a couple of blocks off of canal st and 4 blocks to Bourbon St so reasonably convenient and quiet. I was really satisfied except for the knocking pipes which was quite annoying and should be fixed. I am sure people have complained.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanoGM, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jim_T068,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We deeply appreciate your feedback. The air hammer noise that is occasionally heard by our guests is a pressure problem that we are in the process of repairing.

I hope that you will return to our hotel so that we will have the chance to earn that 5th star.

John Romano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was there visiting a friend for 2 nights on points. I was amazed to discover how clearly I could hear car audio from my room on the 16th FLOOR!!! When the hotel was built I know loud car audio I hesitate to call music was not the societal problem it is today so they did not sound proof the rooms accordingly but, I felt as if I was paying to be miserable even on points.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanoGM, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear M B,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am very sorry that you heard the noises of our busy city and that it interrupted your rest. I promise that if you return, we will put on the quiet side of the building. In addition, if you contact me via email john.romano@icneworleans.com I will make it right on your IHG points that you stayed with us on.

I look forward to hearing from you.

John Romano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was a very nice hotel excellent staff 1 block away from Burbon street. However, we had the king standard room and it is very small for the amount of money they charge. I wouldn't recommend driving your car if you're not touring the entire city because valet parking is $44 a night. Also make sure you take your own regular sodas with you because a bottle of water in the room is $7 and can drinks (sprite, coca-cola etc..) is $4. I would recommend this hotel!! But I seriously think they should reconsider their prices because you're only paying for location.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanoGM, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Chandread,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback. We are constantly shopping our pricing to ensure that we are competitive with all of the luxury hotels in our neighborhood and market. We hope that you will return soon.

John Romano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The intercontinental is the place to stay in New Orleans. I stayed for 5 nights over Mardi Gras weekend. The hotel is beautifully remodeled, staff is wonderful and the environment is great. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanoGM, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Bpendergast,

Thank you for your glowing 5 star review of our property. 5 nights for Mardi Gras is hard to beat. I sure hope that you tell your friends. Please don't wait till next Mardi Gras to visit us again.

John Romano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New Orleans

Address: 444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental New Orleans enjoys one of the city s most coveted locations: two blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Harrah s New Orleans, six blocks from the riverfront and come Mardi Gras time a front row spot on the St. Charles Avenue parade route. The Morial Convention Center, Uptown and the Louisiana Superdome are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.