We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful !!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental New Orleans to your Saves list
InterContinental New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #98 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dreadful !!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

For $289 per night before taxes, hotel fees, valet etc it was like we were in a time travel to a Holiday Inn circa 1982. Literally. The rooms had not been updated in years and years and years. Everyone we talked to at the hotel had booked through Orbitz, Priceline etc and paid around $65. A much more reasonable rate but the hotel is still very tired and dated and worn out. Really put a negative spin on my first trip to the Big Easy.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    413
    183
    108
    56
See reviews for
152
324
65
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

This was a very nice hotel. Stayed here for one night after our cruise. Used our priority point's to book two room's on the priority club website. The front desk was very accomodating when we checked in. We arrived at the hotel around 11:00 am and they allowed us to go ahead and check in even though one of the balcony room's wasn't ready yet. They just called us when it was ready and we moved everyone to the new room. They even upgraded us to the club room level at check-in. Nice surprise. The club room has complimentary beer,wine, mixed drink's and snack's from 5-7pm. They also have a complimentary breakfast here in the morning's.
The room's were very nice with a min-bar, very comfortable bed's and a decent size bathroom with separate vanity area. This is alway's a big plus to me. It was also nice to be able to sit out on the balcony in the evening and enjoy a drink.
All in all I think this hotel is in a decent area close to many attraction's with great customer service.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

We spent 5 nights in December here with only one being a weekend night. Our room was very clean, spacious, and was as expected and at $59/night (before tax) really couldn't be beat. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food. We found that ~$35 for internet the whole time we were there to be very reasonable and the NY Times delivery was a nice touch. The room also has wine glasses and a corkscrew which is very convenient.

The location was ideal as mentioned in the other reviews as I enjoyed being able to leave the french quarter. Our room was very quiet (11th floor). The only disturbance was on the first night in which the room adjacent to us must have had the alarm clock reset and it went off at midnight, but within minutes of calling the front desk this issue was addressed. In general the concierge and front desk were extremely friendly.

Overall a very good experience and would definitely recommend this hotel for business or leisure. A minor point of concern was that our bed was bizarrely soft and while this doesn't bother me if your a very finicky sleeper I would keep this in mind.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

We got our room through Priceline for $50 a night. For that kind of money, this place was quite the deal.

It is an upscale hotel with all the amenities (and expenses) which one would customarily expect. They clearly take good care of and great pride in their hotel. Like another reviewer, we were there during the Bayou Classic. Not only were the elevators overtaxed, but so were the dining facilities. The guy at the bar told me that we could order food, but it would take about an hour and a half to get it! I would think that a hotel which is within easy walking distance of the Superdome would know how to handle these big crowds a little better. Perhaps not.

Aside from this minor inconvenience, it was a very nice place. It is within easy walking distance of about anything a tourist would want to do in New Orleans (i.e., French Quarter, Superdome, Riverwalk, etc.). And it's nice that it's not IN the French Quarter, which can get a little loud and boisterous. If you're looking for the Madri Gras style setting, this is not it. It is much quieter and upscale. But you're only a few short blocks from the party scene.

The rooms were nicely appointed, with marble and granite in the bathroom. All in all, it was a very comfortable and nice place to stay . . . especially when you can snag a deal on Priceline!

One last issue: parking. If you park at the hotel, they'll want $30 a day. Not a lot of good alternatives though. There is a small lot next door where you can park for $15 a day, but security is not guaranteed. Parking anywhere in downtown New Orleans is just expensive and you should prepare yourself for that.

  • Liked — Very upscale; Great location
  • Disliked — Parking expense and lack of ability to handle big crowds
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

We booked this hotel as part of a Priceline package for a very good rate. The hotel is in a great location for wandering the French Quarter without staying right in the madness. There is a streetcar stop right across the street for Garden District access.

The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was well laid out, with a large marble vanity separate from the rest of the bathroom.

Staff was pleasant and helpful. We ordered room service once from the late night menu, food was pretty good and arrived quickly. We didn't get a chance to use the pool due to a cold weather snap.

All in all, the Intercontinental is a great choice especially if you can get a Priceline or Hotwire rate.

  • Liked — Large comfy room
  • Disliked — Shower curtain caused water to get all over the floor
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

We got a good package deal through travelocity for the InterContinental. We came in for the holiday weekend, as well as my birthday on Saturday.

Randy greeted us and got our bags at the entrance. We checked in at 2pm with John. I mentioned to him that if it were possible, if we could get a nicer room for my special occasion. When we got to the room, it was nice, but standard, and it overlooked the parking deck next door.

In terms of amenities, it was nice...comfy bed, clean and new looking bathrooms. Halfway through our stay, the remote control for the TV stopped working, but we were too lazy to ask them to replace it. We wished that the internet would have been more affordable, if not free. I used the exercise room one morning and it was good-sized and well equipped. The pool was located just outside of it, but since it was rainy, I didn't use it.

We really liked the fact that it was within walking distance to the French Quarter, Harrah's, as well as the Riverwalk and the Aquarium, although sadly it was raining on and off all weekend. One of our favorite meals was across the street at Luke.

When we returned to the room to freshen up before dinner on Saturday night, I was surprised by a bottle of champagne waiting for me. It was a very nice touch from the hotel to remember my birthday.

All in all, we had a great trip in New Orleans and would definitely consider staying here at the InterContinental should we get a good rate again.

***One issue that did somewhat affect the enjoyment of our stay was the fact that the Bayou Classic was the same weekend. Unfortunately, the elevators could not hold up against the volume of people elevator riding to party in various hotel rooms, and thus there was a backup at the elevators. Also, when we left our room early Sunday morning to check out, we saw a man sleeping on a chair in the corner of the elevator waiting area, which shocked us. (I suppose that you could argue that perhaps better security would have prevented this.)

  • Liked — The staff was great
  • Disliked — Internet was expensive
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

Stayed here for a Saints game at the superdome. Very pretty hotel and quiet. Good location on streetcar line with lots of close restaurants. Close to dome, quarter, and riverfront.

Room very nice. Very comfortable bed. Quiet room and hotel, although like any in the city, some noise.

Gym good. Pool cold for winter. Staff very nice and accommodating.

  • Liked — bed
  • Disliked — cold pool
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New Orleans

Address: 444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental New Orleans enjoys one of the city s most coveted locations: two blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Harrah s New Orleans, six blocks from the riverfront and come Mardi Gras time a front row spot on the St. Charles Avenue parade route. The Morial Convention Center, Uptown and the Louisiana Superdome are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.