We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental New Orleans to your Saves list
InterContinental New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #97 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Beautiful Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel is decorated beautifully. Rooms are gorgeous and clean. While making reservations, we were not informed that the hotel was under construction nor that there is no parking available other than valet for $45/day. Luckily there were open parking spaces in the Public Parking lot next to the hotel for $30/day. Management discounted our room rate in consideration for the construction noise after we complained. All in all...the stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanoGM, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Ford S,

Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased that you liked the newly renovated rooms and lobby. We hope that you tell your friends and return real soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    390
    171
    102
    54
See reviews for
147
308
62
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I visited in September we stayed here for 3 nights prior to the visit I read post online about the construction renovation and issues with the hotel.
Please ignore those posts.
This hotel is fabulous the service from check in to check out was superb our room was luxurious not a fault to be found at this property. Thank you for making our visit wonderful. As for parking do not use valet but park at the Harrahs casino 3 blocks away free 24 hour parking with 30 minutes of game time. If you are visiting you will walk everywhere anyway so you don't need your vehicle. This will be our go to hotel for any future visits

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanoGM, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Raymond L,

Thank you for your 5 star review of our property. We are pleased that you liked the newly renovated rooms and lobby. Please tell your friends and return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

our first trip to New Orleans and it was so good. the hotel was fabulous. we were given a newly refurbished room and we were not disappointed in any way. the bed and pillows were so comfortable we slept like babies. the hotel lobby etc were also beautifully furnished. also it is just 2 blocks from Bourbon St and there are some lovely shops 1 block away. If you go to N.O. dont forget to try the amazing beignets (donuts). they are to die for!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanoGM, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Lynn F,

Thank you for your 5 star review of our property. We are pleased that you liked the newly renovated rooms and lobby. Please tell your friends and return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were within walking distance to all of the popular places to eat and party, and only a short can ride away from the rest of the whole city! Quite beautiful inside, and a little biddy told me that CERTAIN NFL teams stay here regularly before games! ;)

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanoGM, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sharon C,

Thank you for your review of the property. We hope that you return many times in the future. We will see you in Chicago on December 15th at 7:30.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was going through a little remodel but what a great location and design. I've stayed at only one other InterrContinental and that was in NYC. This was every bit as nice and about 1/4 of the price. It was only a couple blocks from the "action" which was actually very nice. You could GO to the insane drunky world of NOLA but then go right on back to the nice clean and safe hotel only a few minutes walk.

The staff were great and the place spotless clean!

Room Tip: I had a corner room which was a little odd because my window looked out onto a really large patio/de...
See more room tips
Green Features: If you don't want the towels washed they won't - I like them washed.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanoGM, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Rodney1988,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review. I hope that you will tell your friends and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first time to NOLA and I stayed at the IC for a Software conference.

It is in the midst of renovations and per staff have 2 more floors to be renovated before everything is completed. It was a bit noisy and if you are looking for a hotel to sleep in then you may be annoyed by the noise. Also, the trolley runs next to the hotel and can also be noisy depending on what room you are staying in.

The staff was extremely friendly. During my stay, I got wet walking back from the French Quarter and did not know where to go for dinner. Manager on Duty, Anthony Tate, went above and beyond to make sure that I had a nice meal in spite of my "soggy" day. Also, Timothy, the bellman was always attentive and asked about my day. Everyone wished me a good morning or greeted me with a smile. Top notch staff!!!

I found the room to be quite comfortable and beautifully renovated. The carpet has a nice design but can be hard on those with rolling luggage.

I am definitely coming back to NOLA and looking forward to my next stay at the IC.

Room Tip: Try staying on the side where the trolley passes. A bit noisy but at least you will have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanoGM, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear BluefieldsGal,

Thank you for your review and your very kind words regarding our team. Anthony and Tim are outstanding. Please come back soon and tell your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am a new fan of InterContinental after having stayed with them in San Juan. I often find myself at the Intercontinetal here in NYC for drinks as well since it is absolutely beautiful. That all being said I was a bit disappointed in this hotel. I really didn't feel like it quite met the standards that I have come to expect from a hotel of this caliber and star rating. Sadly, this is mostly due to the staff in my opinion. There is a major renovation and overhaul going on...be aware of that...I was not when I booked the room and there is construction noise starting very early in the morning. The lobby area is well decorated and nice though the bar and restaurant are set back and feel a bit removed and also have very little ambiance. The room was huge and lovely. It was comfy, elegant, well appointed, nice vanity are and separate bathroom.
I found myself in the hotel one day because there was torrential rain outside. I decided to get a glass of wine and sit in the lobby watching the rain and checking some emails. I found the service in the bar/restaurant to be awful!!! I stood at the bar, which was fairly empty and an employee behind the bar finished helping another customer, walked past me any number of times and never even acknowledged me. She then went over to where she was obviously doing her sidework in an attempt to finish her shift and began rolling napkins and silverware without ever having said a word to me. I stood there for well over 5 minutes without even being able to find a menu or drink list anywhere. I finally stepped away from the bar and had to stop a waitress and demand service. The waitress did take care of getting me a drink but was neither apologetic nor particularly friendly.
There was a group of people who were lingering back by the restaurant and their young children were running rampant through the lobby screaming and playing games completely unsupervised. This is a public area for all guests relaxation and enjoyment and at no point did any staff member, and there were a few behind the front desk, make any effort to maintain order in the lobby. I ended up taking my wine back to my room because i could not sit in peace in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanoGM, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mair_h,
Thank you for your review. Our team take your comments to heart and have review them with everyone. Our hotel will have our signature open in November. We hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New Orleans

Address: 444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental New Orleans enjoys one of the city s most coveted locations: two blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Harrah s New Orleans, six blocks from the riverfront and come Mardi Gras time a front row spot on the St. Charles Avenue parade route. The Morial Convention Center, Uptown and the Louisiana Superdome are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.