We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time last time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental New Orleans to your Saves list
InterContinental New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #98 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First time last time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

In March I reserved two double rooms at this hotel for 4th of July weekend. My confirmation indicated that "A deposit for the entire stay is due at time of booking". If they had at least followed their policy my first issue could have been avoided. I arrived at the Intercontinental on July 3, to find out that my reservation had been cancelled! Even though I reserved through the Intercontinental website and received a confirmation e-mail, they could not notify me of the action they were taking. I was told that they contacted me twice and that I didn't respond, so they cancelled my reservation. I received one phone call which I did return. I have cell phone records to prove it. After being repeatedly told there was nothing they could do because they were full, I asked what I was supposed to do since they let me travel hundreds of miles with no idea I didn't have a place to stay. I was told that I was welcome to sit in the lobby to try and find other accommodations!! I finally asked to speak with the person who claimed I didn't return her call, and instead, a manager came out. She did restore my reservation but there were no rooms available with two beds. Had to share a bed,at least it was with my daughter. And for all my trouble, I didn't even get an apology! Day 2 was spent outdoors in heat and humidity. I couldn't wait to get back to the hotel to take a shower. We returned to our room to find that we only had one towel. I hit the "instant service" button to request more towels, and the phone rang the entire time my daughter was in the shower. There was one other day when we only got one towel, we just borrowed from our travel mate. I liked that the sink was separate from the shower and toilet area. When you turned on the hot water though, the pipes made a loud noise The bed was not as firm as I like, and the furniture seemed a little old, but those things are not deal breakers for me. We did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel, we did have a nice Hurricane at the bar though. I chose this property because of the Intercontinental reputation and its proximity to the activities we had planned. The hotel was a disappointment. This was my first trip to New Orleans, and I plan to return next year but I would not choose this hotel again. If you do decide to stay here, you should know that the St. Charles Trolley can be a bit noisy at night. I would have given a Terrible rating but the Concierge on our first night was amazing. I regret that I didn't get her name because I would like to give her kudos.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor St. Charles side and the trolley was pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear NoWaysTired,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service, housekeeping and the bed. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    412
    182
    108
    56
See reviews for
151
324
65
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed the Intercontinental Hotel for the Essence Music Festival. The hotel is in a great location. It's about .5 mile from the Mercedes Super Dome and the Convention Center, so we could walk to all the Essence events. The hotel is also blocks away from shopping and French Quarter. Unfortunately, that is all the positives I can mention based my experiences. The room was OK. The bathroom only had 1 sink in the vanity in a room with two double beds. The cable was out during out stay and when it returned the signal was so weak that the video or sound was intermittent at best. We call the front desk for maintenance but gave up after 2 days of bad signal. By the way, the weather channel isn't part of the cable package at the hotel. A hotel in New Orleans doesn't have the weather channel, really!
We ate breakfast at the hotel and the service was slow and our waitress forgot requests repeatedly. The room service menu is very limited and food is average. Again location is very convenience but the service is mediocre. I would stay at the Intercontinental again because of it's location but for the price service is sub par.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Jodeci2000,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you found our location to be convenient to some of the local attractions.

On the other hand, I am sorry for the shortcomings you have encountered in you room and deeply regret the poor experience and service issues you had in our restaurant. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Rest assured that your comments will be used to reconsider improvements. Once again, we appreciate you taking time to help us continually improve our guests' services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel was okay. It was my birthday and I wanted a birthday cake for myself, so I ordered a cake with a birthday candle for myself. It took forever, then I had to go back downstairs because they did not give me any utensils to eat it with, then I noticed they put the candle directly in the middle of the cake (which was a small bunt cake of sorts) so it melted entirely. I then complained to a manager. They got me a new cake....but no offer of compensation or much of an apology. When I checked out, I asked for compensation and the front desk agent helped me out a little, which I really appreciated. I'd stay there again, but it was overall a pretty poor experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Asher P,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience at our hotel. At the same time, we are really sorry to hear about your unhappy experience. We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced during your stay especially on a very special day. We always encourage our guests to let us know right away if there are any issues or needs that they experience during their stay with us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

I want to extend my personal apology, and to thank you for helping us improve our hotel and services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this quaint hotel for a quick business trip. It was my first time to New Orleans, and the staff was very helpful in letting me know of all the "must-sees" around town! My room was fantastic, and the bed was very comfortable to sleep in after a long day of traveling.

I believe the resort is going to be undergoing a spruce up soon, and am looking forward to planning another trip back to this already very charming hotel with my fiance so we can further explore the city with a great home base of the InterCon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Manager On Duty at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear LaCostaCommunityMgr,
Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent experience with us at the InterContinental New Orleans! I am glad to see that you had a pleasant stay with us during your first visit to New Orleans. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our property after we complete our multi-million dollar renovation. Again, thank you for choosing the InterContinental New Orleans!

Regards,
Bradley Latham
Manager On Duty
InterContinental New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 6 nights in mid May. I wanted to be near the French Quarter but did not want to be in the noise and crowds - this hotel was in a perfect location in the business district. The St Charles streetcar was right outside the hotel for a trip to the Garden District. The French Quarter and the Canal St streetcar were within walking distance. Our king bed room was a good size but a bit dated. The sink area was separate from the shower and toilet which was good for getting ready in the morning - but the bathroom door was warped and did not close properly. We had to ask for extra towels every day - I would think a high end hotel would give you more than one set of towels. Our room overlooked a parking garage and had no balcony and no views but I was out sightseeing most of the time. We did not eat at the hotel because there are too many restaurants in NOLA to try.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear gardenhappy_10,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am happy that you liked the location of the hotel. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I spent the day in New Orleans on business, the Intercontinental was my home base, it was very convenient, very comfortable and very clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly, always willing to give local advice on places to try for dinner and lunch. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Manager On Duty at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Jessie V,
I'm glad you enjoyed your recent business visit with us at the InterContinental New Orleans! I'm thrilled you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms and friendly staff! We look forward to seeing you when your travels bring you back to New Orleans!

Regards,
Bradley Latham
Manager On Duty
InterContinental New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and very pleased with the balcony with table and chairs so we could sit outside too! It was definitely a highlight of our trip to NOLA and all that we wanted to see do plus great seafood restaurants within walking distance. Would be very interested in staying here when we return. This was a joint fun trip along with my husbands professional organization's conference. Did have a problem with our TV which was not fully resolved, thus cannot give this a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Ask if you can upgrade to a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Manager On Duty at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear 53589WI-Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us at the InterContinental New Orleans! I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your business trip/ fun getaway and were able to enjoy our great balcony room! I apologize that you had an unresolved issue with your television. Again, thank you for staying with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back when your travels bring you back to New Orleans!

Regards,
Bradley Latham
Manager On Duty
InterContinental New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New Orleans

Address: 444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental New Orleans enjoys one of the city s most coveted locations: two blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Harrah s New Orleans, six blocks from the riverfront and come Mardi Gras time a front row spot on the St. Charles Avenue parade route. The Morial Convention Center, Uptown and the Louisiana Superdome are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.