We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in the Big Easy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New Orleans

Save Saved
You added InterContinental New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #100 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Graham, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in the Big Easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a business meeting in New Orleans and stayed at the InterContinental. This Hotel is a nice hotel. It is clean, the staff are friendly, and the location was perfect for me for both business and to hit the town. The fitness center is a tad outdated but it is functional and served its purpose. The room was clean and provided a good place to conduct business and sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Manager On Duty at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear AnW520,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay with us at the InterContinental New Orleans! I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay for your business meeting and that we provided excellent guest service to you. Again, thank you for your review, and I hope you return to the InterContinental New Orleans soon!

Regards,
Bradley Latham
Manager On Duty
InterContinental New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    376
    167
    101
    54
See reviews for
141
299
61
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was nice. The people were very friendly. However, although the website indicated there were bathrobes, there was no bathrobe in the room. They did bring one up right away when I called. However, I forgot and left it with the towels and it was never replaced. The room could have used a better cleaning as dust could be seen under the entertainment center. The bed was very good however. The room could use an update but overall the hotel was fine, good location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors because the streetcar is quite loud, even up as high as the 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Manager On Duty at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear skdaisysmith,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the InterContinental New Orleans. We appreciate your comments and feedback and use them as a training tool for our staff. Your comments about the missing bathrobe and your housekeeping staff have been passed on to our Executive Housekeeping department. Again, thank you for your review and we hope that your future travels bring you back to the InterContinental New Orleans!

Regards,
Bradley Latham
Manager On Duty
InterContinental New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for 1 week. Room was clean but quite outdated. The food in New Orleans is awesome but not in this hotel. Peolpe were nice and helpful. Close to the french quarter so convenient if that is wehere you want to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Manager On Duty at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Stephan_Soucy,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent visit to the InterContinental New Orleans. Please accept our sincere apologies that our facilities did not exceed your expectations. However, we are excited to announce that we are about to embark on an extensive full-property renovation that will greatly enhance the stays of all our valued guests! Again, thank you for your review, and I hope that if your travels bring you back to New Orleans, you again chose the InterContinental!

Regards,
Bradley Latham
Manager On Duty
InterContinental New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fellsmere, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Upon check in the service was excellent. Quick fast and friendly. Had to wait for my room but received a call within 10 minutes and it was ready. Room clean. Shower good. Small tile work that could be redone (I am a stickler about that). Nice amenities. Coffee in room. Nice. Only one issue has been with the speed of service at the Veranda restaurant for breakfast. Got up and got my own coffee twice. Water glass never refilled. :( would stay here again because of proximity to everything.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Manager On Duty at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear AnneMThomas,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us at the InterContinental New Orleans. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable visit at our hotel. I have passed your concerns regarding the shower tile to our Engineering team and your service in the Veranda Restaurant to our Food and Beverage team. I assure you that your comments will be used to better our service for you and other future guests.

Regards,
Bradley Latham
Manager On Duty
InterContinental New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very good central hotel. Minutes away from Bourbon Street. Got a deal on a Club room. The best Club lounge we have been in. Good hot breakfast and hot evening snacks plus 2 hour happy hour, free drinks. A lovely comfortable lounge too. Bedroom very clean with everything you need. Valet parking expensive $80 for 2 days. Enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Choose a club room if possible. Rooms are higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Manager On Duty at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear YvonneManchester,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent visit to the InterContinental New Orleans. I am very pleased that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for mentioning our Club InterContinental executive lounge. I am glad that you and your party enjoyed our club experience, and I hope that your future travels bring you back to New Orleans and to the InterContinental!

Regards,
Bradley Latham
Manager On Duty
InterContinental New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

On a recent visit to New Orleans my wife and I stayed at this property. It was quiet and very close to the French Quarter but the staff made the stay. From front desk, bartender to bell captain and most especially the concierge (Danielle) made this a most pleasant visit. Will definately book here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Manager On Duty at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Ken K,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay at the InterContinental. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and that our staff made your stay. I have passed along your praise to Danielle and the other staff you encountered during your visit. Again, thank you for taking the time to post about our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back for your future travels to New Orleans!!

Regards,
Bradley Latham
Manager On Duty
InterContinental New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed at the above hotel was disappointed as the hotel is in need of an upgrade. Breakfast was not the best, cold coffee, dried bacon, and basically a help yourself mentality. Room was sufficient in terms of space. Pillows well, not too good, small and hard. Service was fair but it seemed to me that the staff didn't really want to be there. Guess that's a problem with BIG hotel groups, i.e. motivating etcetera. All in all the experience was in my view a little under class in relation to the amounts charged. Oh, also the fact the hotel took the full amount when we booked on our credit card(3 months in advance) caused me to rethink my staying with IHG hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Manager On Duty at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Shotokan_63,
Allow me to thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us at the InterContinental New Orleans. Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not live up to your expectations of our hotel. Your comments about the cleanliness of the room have been passed on to our housekeeping management team for review and further training. I am also deeply sorry that our staff did not provide the top notch guest service that we provide ourselves on a the InterContinental, and we will use your comments for re-training our staff. If your future travels bring you to New Orleans, I hope you will give us another chance to restore your opinion of our hotel.

Sincerely,
Bradley Latham
Manager On Duty
InterContinental New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New Orleans

Address: 444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental New Orleans enjoys one of the city s most coveted locations: two blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Harrah s New Orleans, six blocks from the riverfront and come Mardi Gras time a front row spot on the St. Charles Avenue parade route. The Morial Convention Center, Uptown and the Louisiana Superdome are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.