We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one complaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental New Orleans to your Saves list
InterContinental New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #98 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Only one complaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Everything was so nice in the hotel. Staff was very courteous. Easy to navigate around city. The only problem was our toilet ran and the tank was moldy. The shower had a small amount of mold as well. I would definitely stay here again as it was just a fluke. Who really cleans their toilet tank?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    412
    182
    108
    56
See reviews for
151
324
65
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn, ny
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The InterContinental is in the Central Business district, an ideal hotel location in New Orleans if proximity to the French Quarter is desired, while avoiding the carousal that goes on most nights there. At the same time, it is close to the many good restaurants and cocktails lounges in the Central Business and Warehouse Districts, the Mississippi river, and to the Garden District. It is indeed walkable to all these areas, and not more than 30 minutes even to walk to the farther end of the French Quarter.

Its neighboring streets are quiet, but feels fairly safe to walk about even at nights, although city caution should always apply. The hotel itself is standard business style; classic and straightforward, with the usual types of amenities. Rooms are a comfortable size, and decently plush.

The good and bad:
+ wi-fi inclusive; great location; spacious; comfortable room, beds, and linens; large sink area separated from shower/toilet; particularly helpful and friendly front desk service

- really nothing significant to say, although dresser storage space is less than usual for this type of hotel

While not cheap, it is quite reasonable for the area and for a hotel that probably caters much to convention attendees. Not exciting, but comfortable and exactly where I'd like to be located when visiting NOLA.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Love the stay me and my girlfriend stayed here and enjoyed every moment until the fire but they handled it so well I couldn't be mad at them great hotwire deal I would love to go back every body was so helpful with everything

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived the afternoon before a college bowl game. It was extremely crowded, yet the valet staff and hotel staff did a fine job of getting us checked in and luggage to our room. We liked the room but there was no easy chair in it. The bellperson who saw us to the room did not rest until a chair was delivered. The bed was a dream. It was perfectly comfortable. The hotel is located in a way that makes it an excellent base for moving around the French Quarter. There is a 4-star restaurant directly across the street. You can't go wrong here for the money or the property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived in New Orleans 3 hours late due to delayed flights ( 2:30 am). We were less than excited but the staff got us to our rooms quickly. We passed out and when we woke up we were happy to make the 3-4 block walk to Brennan's. Just 1 block off canal the hotel is perfectly situated. We basically used the hotel to sleep as we spent all day and night stuffing our faces and drinking bloody Mary's. It was perfect for that. We did notice a very cool bar/lounge on the main floor and after the terrible flights my sinuses were acting up and the hotels convenience store had everything I needed (airborne, cough drops, mucinex). Will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and couldnt wait to leave! I was hoping for a great experience as I had at other intercontinental hotels and it was nothing more than a 3 star mediocre stay. Actually I've stayed at 3 star hotels that were FAR better! The hotel was dirty and loud! I wouldnt walk without shoes on in the room as the carpets were horribly dirty- thank god they give you slippers - hideous ones at that! The walls must be paper thin as it was very loud. And when one of your neighbors shuts their door - its as if the pressure forces your door and walls to move!
I gather there is a tint on the windows or maybe it is the tremendous building blocking the view - but the room was ALWAYS dark!
The location was pretty good though. We walked ALL DAY around the French Quarter (mostly to avoid the hotel)...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Miami_MichelleC,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, your comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience the overall cleanliness of the room have caused and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwesterner007
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We've had good experiences at this hotel. The staff has always been friendly and quick. The rooms have always been clean and comfortable. The ambiance is very nice and upscale-looking. The only cavet this time was I didn't think that the room service was as good as last time. For breakfast, the servings looked smaller than last time. However, it still tasted fine and we enjoyed staying here otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New Orleans

Address: 444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental New Orleans enjoys one of the city s most coveted locations: two blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Harrah s New Orleans, six blocks from the riverfront and come Mardi Gras time a front row spot on the St. Charles Avenue parade route. The Morial Convention Center, Uptown and the Louisiana Superdome are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.