We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental New Orleans to your Saves list
InterContinental New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #98 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel staff was by far the best thing about this hotel. Everyone was nice and friendly.

The hotel is located in a good area. It is about 5 minutes from Bourbon street and Canal Street. It was clean and was well decorated.

We chose to get a balcony because I love to hang out on the balcony and enjoy views. However, the balcony on all of the rooms faced an office building with no views except people working and eating on one of the floors across the street. On top of that, the rooms adjacent to us had easy access to our balcony if they wanted to climb the small divider. With the window shades open there was no privacy in the room (including the full time view of the people in the next building that was always occupied during the day) and offered an insecure feel unless you kept the balcony door shut and locked at all times.

So if you fear some crazy jumping onto your balcony and possibly into your room, skip the balcony. It was about $50-$70 more anyway. (One note on the balcony: I am not a first timer in a city like this. I just expect a little more out of my balcony. On the other hand, it did not look like any other hotels had better balconies. So it might just be my perspective).

The room itself was a bit noisy. I could hear people above us and next to us. Nothing loud, but the noise was definitely present.

Room Tip: If you can get the breakfast included, it is good buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    413
    183
    108
    56
See reviews for
152
324
65
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We traveled to New Orleans for a medical procedure for our son, so our goal was a hotel that would be comfortable, as we would be in the room 90% of the trip. This hotel fit the bill.

At check in, we explained that we probably would not be leaving the room much, so if we could have something more 'comfortable', it would be greatly appreciated. The clerk consulted with her manager and they put us in a room with two king beds, and told us to go look and if it wasn't alright, they would switch us to another room. On inspection, we discovered it did not have a balcony, yet many of the rooms did. We returned downstairs and asked about getting a room with a balcony, and they upgraded us for $20/night. It was worth the upgrade to be able to have a place to sit for morning coffee and to read the paper.

The room was of decent size and beds were comfortable. None of the rooms have a 'view' from what we could tell. We overlooked an office building and the other side viewed a parking garage.

The French Quarter is easily within walking distance...three blocks to Canal Street, four blocks to Bourbon Street. Harrah's Casino was also about three blocks away. If you want to be close to Bourbon Street, but far enough away for a good night's sleep, this fits the bill. Rooms are equipped with a small fridge/mini-bar, a safe, and a workstation. Walgreens and CVC are all close by too along Canal Street should you need groceries, etc.

A negative was parking...$30 per night. Valet was even higher. There is an open lot next to the hotel for $25 per day. This seemed to be standard fare in all of downtown, not just the InterContinental. If you are willing to walk five or six blocks, you can find cheaper parking along Poydras Street which is the main street that leads to I-10, but the way it just seems to rain all of a sudden, we opted to keep the car closer.

Another negative was if someone is on their balcony outside and somewhat loud, you hear everything. The way the buidling is constructed echoes the noise and it sounds as though they are on your balcony. Had we been in New Orleans for fun...heck, we very well might have been some of these 'noisy folks', so we took it in stride.

We booked through a site where you don't have the name of the property, simply location and star level. We got the room for $80/night which was well worth the money. But if you have your own vehicle, factor in another $25-35 per day for parking to get a truer cost of downtown accomodations.

When we go back for follow-up appointments, I would have no problem staying at this hotel again, as it's so convenient to Bourbon Street and Harrah's.

Feel free to e-mail any questions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

First the positives...staff was exceptionally friendly and positive, from the Club Room (breakfast and happy hours for people staying on the Club Floor) to the bell staff to the housekeeping staff. Great people. Management, not so much. So the toilet in our room (1435) kept running, we could live with that. The AC never got the humidity down, although in the next room (1436, a family member) the humidity was just fine. The killer? The Shriners were having a convention and their hospitality suite was directly across the hall from us! The are an incredibly self-absorbed and insensitive group of middle-aged frat boy partiers well into the wee hours (around 1:30AM) who were shouting and laughing and slamming the door every time someone came or left to their party room. AND THE HOTEL MANAGEMENT KNEW THIS WAS THEIR HOSPITALITY SUITE BUT PUT US THERE ANYWAY! In fact, we were upgraded because we are Platinum Priority Club members. Despite many complaints from us, and other guests, the hotel security did not make the partiers leave, and the desk staff kept telling us that they were sorry and management would do something to make it up to us. They did not. When I checked out and paid my $1300 bill for two rooms and dining, there was no mention of apology, no mention of making it up in some other way, there was no response from management. Two nights out of the three we were there we were kept awake until after 1:30, as was our daughter and grand daughter in the next room. Total management failure. Intercontinentals in Boston and Baltimore have been fabulous, but this aging hotel suffers from management in absentia.

Room Tip: Ask about conventions in progress. Be aware that traffic is always very heavy in the area, but the F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear WXinDC,

Thank you for being a Platinum Priority Club Member and taking the time to write us a review. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was our first trip to New Orleans and we stayed at the IC for 3 nights in a Club Suite. The Suite was huge and beautifully appointed, with a separate seating/office area and 2 large flat screen TVs. The furninshings and decor were beautiful and the bed was huge. The bathroom was disproportionately small ( as was the tub) but had all necessary amenities. The view was not inspiring - a car park and other buildings. Given the situation of the hotel, I doubt that any rooms have an especially good view.
Being on the Club floor, we had access to the Club Lounge for breakfast and evening cocktails and canapes. The Lounge has an excellent food and drink selection in the evening, most of which is self service. Wine and beers are served by the staff (of one rather surly lady, who was like a strict school mistress) on request. Refills are not forthcoming - you have to ask. Beware weekday breakfast finishes at 9am, which I consider to be on the early side. We arrived at just after 9 on our first morning to be advised by the surly lady that breakfast had finished. Not even a cup of tea or banana to take away was offered. (When we checked in, we were told the opening times but I did not take enough notice. I just expected that it would be standard breakfast times)
On the 2 mornings we arrived on time for breakfast, the selection and quality was good. I have been to many IC Club Lounges in the past and the service is usually polite, friendly and helpful. While the surly lady was not rude, she was certainly not welcoming. All the other staff we encountered were exceptionally helpful and friendly, especially the Bellboy team.
The IC is in a great location, just a short walk from the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, Canal Street and the Mississippi. There is a St Charles line Street Car stop just yards down the road if you turn left out of the main doors. This will take you to the Garden District and the museums, including the WW2 museum, which is well worth a visit. You can buy an all day ticket on the Streetcar and at $5, this is very good value.
My partner and I enjoyed our time in New Orleans enormously and would certainly recommend the Intercontinental as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The Club Floor rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for the 2012 ELCA National Youth Gathering. It was hectic but the staff was all very nice and welcoming. The beds were very nice and comfortable and did not have a hard time sleeping at all. We were about equal distance from the Super Dome and the Convention Center so that was nice. Also not to far from the French Quarter. No continental breakfast though. Would recommend this hotel to many.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Not worthy of the Intercontinental name definitely needs an upgrade. Needs remodeling. Everything is rather dingy and needs a refresh. Service was average and not overly pleasant the way most new Orleans are

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown,PA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is about my 10th trip to NOLA in 5 years. We've stayed at many different hotels. A few more than once, depending on deals. I try to pay around $100 or less. A lot depends on what's happening in NOLA. If you go for Mardi GRAS , expect to pay a lot more. This hotel is very nice and in a good location. St. Charles is an active street, which is good. The street car runs toward the Garden District. The opposite way is toward the French Quarter. A somewhat safe area for a city. Our room was clean and large, with a balcony. Although the area is quieter compared to Burbon Street hotels, neighboring guests on balconies can be heard. I would definately stay here again, if I got a good price. Closer to the Super Dome is not as safe, unless you are traveling with a group. Definitely worth up to $140. I paid under $100. The time you go affects the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room with balcony. I did not even have to ask, just got one. It may cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New Orleans

Address: 444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental New Orleans enjoys one of the city s most coveted locations: two blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Harrah s New Orleans, six blocks from the riverfront and come Mardi Gras time a front row spot on the St. Charles Avenue parade route. The Morial Convention Center, Uptown and the Louisiana Superdome are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.