We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental New Orleans to your Saves list
InterContinental New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #98 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Incredible Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were attending a wedding in NOLA and booked this hotel on Hotwire.com. Some of the reviews were mixed, but for us this place was an incredible value. Located two blocks from the French Quarter the location was excellent. The room was very large and the bed was very comfy. They did charge $32 per night for valet parking, but if you checked around for covered parking the price was not out of line. And with the hotel for $65 a night the total cost was great for a hotel this nice. The price incuded a well equipped workout room. We had wirless access in several public areas. The rooms were furnished and decorated like you would expect a classic 5 star hotel to be furnished in the 60's. It was rated 4.5 stars which was probably a bit high given the age of the hotel, but for what we paid at that location it was a great bargain. I would add that the staff there are extremely friendly and professional. They absolutely provide 5 star service!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    414
    183
    108
    56
See reviews for
152
325
65
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Nice clean hotel, comfortable stay. Excellent service, friendly staff. LUKE restaurant is right across the street. My only two minor complaints is that

a.) It's a short building and there's no chance for a room with a view. Our room was facing a tiered parking lot. The bright lights in the parking lot were on all night, so we had to use the blackout curtains at night. Didn't matter much, since we pretty much passed out at 4AM after returning from a day of partying.

b.) The hotel is located 3 blocks off Canal street, which means three extra blocks of walking from wherever you are in the Quarter. No problem in the morning, but makes a difference at night if you had too much to drink and walking is difficult.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The front desk staff was rude and unhospitable. Granted we stayed on a busy Friday night, however we have stayed at IC hotels before and never had such rude staff. Louis at the front desk, Gregory a "manager" and Shedrick also a "manager" had horrible customer service. The room had some sort of construction writing on the wall (see photo), rooms were not sound proofed properly, screw fell out of the vent in the bathroom due to doors slamming all night long in hallway. Contacted both managers for a barely there apology. I will NEVER stay here again and seriously question stays at other IC hotels. No Wifi...had to pay for it!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJDONE, Director of Sales at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
I'm sorry you had a bad experience with the front desk. We train our employees on customer satisfaction and it looks like we failed with your stay. Your feedback has been communicated to the Front Desk Manager for future training. Since ...reporting the issue with the wall, we have already removed the writing. Your experience does not reflect a true InterContinental New Orleans stay, please give us the opportunity to show you a better time when you come back to New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed at the InterContinental New Orleans in early March for the final few days of Mardi Gras. Check-In was straightforward despite the place being very busy. We were upgraded to the concierge floor- I had asked for a room with a balcony to see the parades, which of course was a reach since there are few of these and (I believe) most people probably ask. Instead we were given a lovely room on the concierge level and were able to enjoy an open bar each evening and a beautiful breakfast each morning. This transformed our stay into a more intimate one, since we met and mingled with other guests during these times. We did have drinks at the lobby bar one evening but were so busy out at restaurants and bars we did not have an opportunity to sample the restaurants otherwise. Our room was immaculate, of course. Staff was very friendly, and personable. Although others speak of noise at this hotel we did not notice and slept really well for all 5 nights. The location of this hotel is excellent, especially for Mardi Gras as it is close (within a couple of blocks) of the French Quarter, but not too close to all the revelry. The street car goes right past the hotel and we were able to jump on this to get out to the Garden District. We loved our visit to New Orleans. By the way, you do not need a balcony to enjoy the parades at Mardi Gras.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We had 3 generations and we all enjoyed our stay. The hotel was more on the European
style. It was convenient to the trolly, the Convention Center and even the French Quarter.
The restaurant in the hotel we wanted to eat in was closed for dinner but we went across the street to Luke's which was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011 via mobile

Service is good. Pool isn't as glamorous as the photos look. Gym is nice. Would like blinds that pull over entire window. Valet peeps are sweet.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This hotel was referred to my husband and I by my brother-in-law. It was perfect! It is a boutique hotel just 2 blocks from the Canal St., so within 5 minutes we were on Bourbon St. It was clean, well-decorated, and away from the noise of the city (but still close to the action). Staff was awesome, bar was great, and we felt special since they left us a gift for our anniversary. I am VERY PICKY about hotels and was VERY PLEASED with this one!

Room Tip: To save even more money on a room choose the windowless
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New Orleans

Address: 444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental New Orleans enjoys one of the city s most coveted locations: two blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Harrah s New Orleans, six blocks from the riverfront and come Mardi Gras time a front row spot on the St. Charles Avenue parade route. The Morial Convention Center, Uptown and the Louisiana Superdome are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.