We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grenoble House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grenoble House to your Saves list
Grenoble House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   323 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The Grenoble House is located in the French Quarter, only minutes walking distance from all the clubs and attractions. We stayed in a first floor suite (living room, kitchen, bedroom) arranged in "shotgun" fashion from front to back. As with most older buildings in the area the front room has windows to the street, but you will want to keep the shutters closed unles you want to meet the wandering public eye to eye. With the bedroom in the back, it was notably quiet and secluded feeling. Very secure with a locked front door to the "lobby" front desk, requiring all to be buzzed in by the desk staff. The walled courtyard out back was also a great place to relax.

Staying here was like staying with your great aunt, complete with eclectic antique furniture and super friendly staff that felt like distant relatives after a couple of days. You will feel like a resident of the area after a few days. The desk attendant actually came out to see that we got our car packed and safely off, waving good-bye when we left. When was the last time you got that attention from the Hilton? Unless you want the plastic and glass glitz of a "modern" hotel, I highly recommend the Grenoble House.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
70
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Found this place from trip advisor reviews... TA never lets me down. What an awesome stay! The owners and Staff are friendly, personable, and knowledgeable of the area. The place was comfortable, the room (we had a 2 bedroom suite) was large, living room, kitchen, etc. Very clean, water bottles in the fridge, coffee, free wifi, I can go on and on.... You will not be disappointed with the place.. right in teh Quarter and a short walk to evrything.. its far enough away form the crazy stuff, so not load or noisy,,

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel with a family of 4. We had a suite (room 301) which comprises of a large living room with kitchen, two bedrooms and two baths. The suite is huge! The staff was super friendly and the hotel location is perfect to visit the French Quarter. Will come back.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We loved staying at Grenoble House. It is a simple, clean, and tasteful apartment. Because we were only staying for the weekend, I thought I did not need to book an apartment, but we are so glad we did. Firstly, having an apartment was the same cost as renting just a room in other hotels.Our apartment was on one floor and quite spacious -- about the size of an average on bedroom of a NY apartment. My friend, on the other hand, had a palatial two floor apartment with a funky winding staircase. The room comes with a little breakfast: coffee and pastries -- a very nice touch, although there is also coffee in the room. The apartment is equipped with the basic kitchen stuff. The staff is wonderful, friendly, and always ready with recommendations and directions. They gave us some excellent food recommendations. We are just sorry we did not have enough time to try them all. It is also well off the noise of Burbon for a good night's sleep and a little peace, which is not to say that you might never hear anything once you are ensconced in your safe little apt -- it is NOLA, after all. My only complaint, and this is not really a complaint, just a little note to the staff. Our bedroom was a bit light at night -- other more fussy folks might need a curtain to shade some of the light, but I did not have a problem.
Our next time in NOLA, we know exactly where we will be staying. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Staff is really great service and also great stay with the hotel and really helpful employee. The hotel have no dirty and i also walking with the hotel and its a really great environment so its a great trip with my all friend with the hotel so i want to return back with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Grenoble House at the beginning of August and would definitely recommend it. The location is perfect for those wishing to explore the French Quarter and the house itself is charming and very sympathetically furnished. The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable although we would have preferred an option for a twin bedded room since our grown up boys prefer not to share a bed. Also the housekeeping could have been a little more meticulous although the bed linen and towels were spotless. There were a few areas which had been overlooked in the bathroom and that was true for both of the rooms we occupied. Without doubt the crowning glory of this B&B is its staff. They are wonderfully accommodating and a true asset to Grenoble House.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Staff is really great and helpful (especially Chantal and Mark).
The room is big and clean.
The kitchen is very convenient but nobody actually cooks. A kettle might be a plus.
The bathroom is comparatively small, especially the shower. And the shower head is not supplying much water.
Housekeeping can vacuum a bit more, especially for those who stay for more than 3 days !

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grenoble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grenoble House

Address: 323 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grenoble House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grenoble House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grenoble Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grenoble House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.