We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best of Waldorf Credit
Ranked #9 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Super hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I was recently in the Big easy for a professional conference, and the Roosevelt was the meeting hotel. This is usually a ho hum situtaion. You stay where the organization has negotiated special rates, etc. But, this was a great surprise. The Roosevelt is a wonderful hotel. The lobby is very atmospheric; the rooms are large, well furnished and spotless, even the free slippers and toiletries are extra nice. The hotel is well located across Canal Street from the French Quarter. hence, its convenient to the action, but quiet enough for a relaxed stay. The only problem is the high cost of food and drink. I'm not sure what the regular prices of rooms are because the conference negotiated special rates (still pretty steep). Regardless, this is a super place to stay in NO.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    419
    122
    59
    31
See reviews for
241
721
82
461
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The Roosevelt is a beautiful and comfortable place to stay. More importantly the staff was friendly and courteous as well as knowledgeable and helpful. In particular I have to give props and thanks to the Concierge as they really made a difference in our stay. I could tell they really enjoyed helping us and sharing about their fun and lovely city. Well done Roosevelt.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Such a charming hotel. The lobby is beautiful and the bar is lovely and quite famous too. It is shown in several movies! We had a beautiful suite and lovely view of the city. I would stay here again and also enjoy the location of the hotel. Great coffee shop in the lobby too for morning pick me up!

Room Tip: We picked a room close the elevators. We had a corner room which worked out great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

This is an old school hotel with a lot of history attached to it, but given a nice upgrade. The rooms are very nice and the lobby and bar scene is vibrant, rooftop pool is great--saw a celebrity there last time I stayed. It's right on the edge of the French quarter, which is a total dump and to be avoided unless you are 19 and inebriated. However, if you must be in this area, stay here and then visit the other lovely areas of the city. Make sure to have at least a half-dozen beignets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel itself is gorgeous! Very clean for the most part. Our room faced the pool, we were on the 6th floor, which was great. However, there is a church across the street on that side as well and the chimes started at 7am and continued EVERY 15 minutes until 9pm and at the top of the hour in which you still had chimes, you'd get bongs for the hour that it was (i.e., 7am/pm, 7 gongs; 8am/pm, 8 gongs, etc.). I had a robe that I put on and it had a blood stain on the pocket, requested a new robe so they brought new robe and towels, new robe had a blood stain on the sleeve and a hand towel had a blood stain on it, neither of which had been used by us! The hotel did nothing to make up for the 2 unfortunate incidents but oh well....I guess. If it wasn't for the church chimes every morning starting at 7am, I would highly recommend this place. If you do stay there, ask for a room on the side opposite the church!

Room Tip: Request a room on the opposite side of the church! Inspect all robes and towels before you use them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The Roosevelt is considered one of the nicer hotels in New Orleans. The lobby is beautiful, the bar a true gem and its location is close enough for those who want the French Quarter without the noise or crowds.

I have stayed at the Roosevelt before and have experienced inconsistent service, but this times it hit a new low. Traveling with my children, I had two rooms booked and requested the same floor. I reconfirmed the request a few days prior check in only to be given rooms on different floors. After complaining and receiving no satisfaction we went up to our rooms. My children's room was beautiful and then we went to our our more expensive room, it was half the size, dark, across from the elevator. When I complained, I was told that since we had a king bed, even though the room was more expensive, was smaller. I asked to be moved to the same type of room as my children's. After multiple calls to the front desk, we were moved to another slightly larger room; however this room was dark, small and looking directly at another building. Then that night, at 4:30 am, had extremely loud neighbors, who were obviously teenagers or young adults with about 6 people in the room. The hotel said they could not do anything about this and did not even contact the other guests.

The hotel never adequately addressed the problems, never apologized or even acknowledged and when I checked out, completely ignored my comments, literally walking away from me after I paid.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Twice now we have stayed at this great Hotel. Nicely located to Bourbon Street but far enough to get away from the noise. Excellent service. The spa is first class. The decor in the lobby is worth a visit to see. The roof top pool is a great place to hang out and they make excellent drinks!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Amex, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.