We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel - Wrong Address!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Hotel Credit
Ranked #15 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel - Wrong Address!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was a fabulous hotel and being Diamond we were upgraded to a stunning suite. However, that was all after a frustrating time, (after driving from Florida) spending ages trying to locate the address which no longer exists! In the end we called the hotel (fortunately the number was right) and were casually told that the address on the website is wrong and the street name was changed 6 months earlier!! Later on checking in, when I suggested they fix it, I was told with some sarcasm that that would be a good idea, yes. Seems on new Orleans time, 6 months was premature to change an outdated address. Unbelievable for a hotel of such standing...or indeed any hotel that cares about its patronage. NEVER encountered anything like it in a LOT of travelling.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear amberlower,

Thank you for sharing your recent trip with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you were able to stay with us the last time you traveled to New Orleans. We are delighted to hear that you were able to upgrade your room to a stunning suite. However, we are sorry to hear that you did have a time locating our property. Having a hotel lobby with two street entrances, the hotel actually has two addresses which currently might be confusing. In the future, navigation maps will be able to locate the new 130 Roosevelt Way address that will direct people right to our valet which is our main entrance. Thank you again for your loyalty and visiting The Roosevelt New Orleans.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

1st there is a Catholic church right across the street so that is a huge plus!

The traditional feel and historic location feed your excitement for staying at this hotel.

The service is great at the bar and front desk. The restaurant and coffee shop need some attention to service standards.

Can't think of why you wouldn't want to stay here over any other downtown hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatholicFather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear CatholicFather,

We are delighted that you were able to stay with us the last time you visited New Orleans. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We see that you did find our lovely neighbor, Immaculate Conception, one of New Orleans historic churches. We hope that you were able to take a look inside this beautiful building. Thank you for your kind comments about our bar and front desk and how they made your stay memorable. Thank you for recommending us to others and we hope you are able to visit us again soon.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkadelphia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I have never stayed in a place that was this accommodating. From the time you drive up, they make you feel special. Everyone was so polite and helpful. Randy helped us with our luggage and everything else we wanted to know about the city, he was there for us. Such a nice man. Great location for almost everything you wanna do. So much within walking distance. The beds were AMAZING!...so comfortable! I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Pat W,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you had an amazing time the last time you stay at our hotel. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and we are delighted to learn that they made your stay memorable. We are delighted that Randy was able to help you with your luggage and direct you to fabulous places in our city. He is a true asset to our Roosevelt Team. We hope that the next time you stay in New Orleans you are able to visit us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beebe, Arkansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Impressed with the friendly and helpful staff, beautiful rooms. Lots of history. My 23 year old daughter with Asperger's is very friendly and has a unique way of looking at things and does not always follow social norms or cues. Every member of the staff went out of their way to make her feel very comfortable and special. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: Our room was incredible the staff was so very nice and friendly. My 23 year old daughter has Asperge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lianeg614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My (20 year old) daughter and I just returned from a 4 day stay. This hotel was AMAZING! The service 10 stars and it's location, EXCELLENT! If you are a new visitor to the area, make sure you stop by the concierge's desk and speak with Don Starr. He made our trip PERFECT. He is extremely knowledgeable of the area, was attentive to what my daughter and I wanted to experience, and took the time to ensure we knew exactly where the cab driver needed to take us to make our trip memorable. He made several reservations for us, and his advice for "restaurants" was spot on. We stayed in a "standard queen" room during our stay. These rooms are small but cozy and beautifully decorated. Having said this, if you are staying for several days and sharing this room with a guest, you might consider upgrading to a larger room as two sets of rollers, makeup bags, shoes, and suitcases will make for a cramped experience. But, for our short stay it was perfect. The hotel gym was very nice and visits were complimentary. Brunch and breakfast were EXCELLENT at the hotel restaurant and the service was incredible. The coffee is fantastic at Teddy's and this deli is loaded with fabulous "eats." I just can't say enough about this hotel. We normally venture to New York for our mother daughter Christmas get aways, but the staff at the Roosevelt and this hotel's ambiance, history, and beauty in addition to the "liveliness" of this interesting city, have changed our minds.We will return here instead. You will not go wrong with a stay at the Roosevelt!

Room Tip: This is a PARTY city, so if noise is a problem for you book a room on a higher floor. Also, queen si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I can certainly understand why this hotel is consistently rated as excellent--our two room luxury suite was perfect. The claw foot tub and high end bath products are a spa experience in themselves! Our suite was on the top floor directly across from the beautiful church--we heard the bells regularly and loved the sound--they just complimented a heavenly experience.

Room Tip: I recommend the luxury suite--we had room service several times and the extra room and eating area w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hotel is a bit pricey, especially during Essence Fest. Book early to get better rates. Expect to prepay hotel room and incidentals upfront rather than at checkout. We stayed in one of the Walforf Suites, spacious and well appointed. Extra towels are automatic if more than 2 women are checking in, extra towels just kept coming. Beautiful well appointed suite. I don't want to stay in any place that isn't as nice as my home and this place fit the bill. Except the pool was a bit small and drinks were slow. The Waldorf is right off Canal so the location is excellent. Close to Walgreens, beauty supply stores, shopping, trolley cars and right outside the French Quarter but close enough without being too close.

We saw Niles Rodgers in the lobby so that was a treat. He put on an excellent show at Essence. I would stay here again, now that I know what to expect. Pricey but in the end it was worth it for me. Domenica restaurant has good happy hour, the other two restaurants were adequate and not too pretentious. Staff was courteous.

Room Tip: Choose tower 2, Get a suite, get ice from Walgreens and don't open the bar or they will charge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,061 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,244 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Q&C Hotel
Q&C Hotel
#7 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#28 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,850 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#16 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian Dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music at the Fountain Lounge and Blue Room • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing