We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the little touches to make it unforgettable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off Dining
Ranked #7 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“All the little touches to make it unforgettable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Walking in the hotel lobby, still decorated for the holidays, was absolutely stunning! Stayed at the Roosevelt for a special occasion. The hotel went out of it's way to help us celebrate. Champagne waiting in the room on the first night, mouth watering chocolate cake the second. The rooms are lovely - comfy beds, amazing spa shower. The coffee shop in the lobby is amazing as is the Sazerac bar. The spa has less amenities than the Ritz, but the staff are incredible and my massage was excellent. The Roosevelt is worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear RIFOSTER,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor Community. We are delighted that you decided to stay with us and that we were able to deliver a magical experience. Thank you for your kind comments about our Waldorf Wonderland, and we hope that you left our hotel with many memorable moments. We hope that you have a wonderful New Year and that you are able to travel back to New Orleans and stay with us.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,023
    366
    109
    55
    31
See reviews for
211
653
76
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, LA
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We recently stayed at the Roosevelt to experience New Orleans at Christmas. The decorations in the hotel are phenomenally good. Great picture opportunities and very romantic. The duck in the restaurant was some of the best I have ever tasted. Easy walking to any of the French Quarter destinations. Only drawback was no coffee pot in the room. May have been a mild mistake.

Room Tip: Higher floors afford a good view of the city. We had a corner mini suite and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Michael A,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you were able to stay at our hotel during the holiday season. We do have to agree that our lobby is the perfect backdrop for any holiday photo. We hope that you left your stay with many memorable moments that you will cherish for years to come. We hope you have a wonderful New Year and we hope that you are able to stay with us in 2014.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, FL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great clean rooms, nice front desk service, a restored 1920's look to the whole building. Christmas decorations were outstanding in the lobby – a must see. The restaurant and room service need a little work keeping the food warm and the order correct, but nothing major. Housekeeping and the staff was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Doug M,

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful experience at The Roosevelt Hotel during your stay last December. Thank you for taking the time and letting our Trip Advisor community learn about your stay last December. Holidays at The Roosevelt Hotel are a special time and we are overjoyed that you were able to experience it. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we look forward to your next stay.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have had the pleasure of spending lots of time at this first class hotel and it is everything and more. Especially check out their website and find out when they decorate for the holidays and it's a definite family portrait.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade if there are any available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Janice B,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with our Trip Advisor community. We are delighted that you feel our hotel is a must see in New Orleans. We are pleased that you were able to travel to New Orleans during the holiday seasons. We hope that your travels do not keep you far in the New Year and we look forward to servicing you again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed in several Waldorf properties and after reading other reviews on this location, I was a bit concerned that we would be disappointed. That wasn't the case, we loved our suite, and even though it was over Christmas holiday and the hotel was full, we never heard a sound in our room, it was like we were the only people on the floor. The lobby was beautifully decorated, and the room was lovely. We have no complaints about the property, and I would stay here again and recommend this to others. The location was perfect for us, close walk to Bourbon Street, but far enough away so we were not bothered with street noise. One drawback is the cost of the parking, $42 per day. The hotel should definitely have a more reasonable daily rate charge for parking. We were disappointed in the dining experiences, or should I say lack of, couldn't get a reservation for Christmas Eve or Christmas, and the coffee shop was a mess. They always made mistakes with our food orders and never apologized for their mistakes. We left messages for the restaurant manager to make reservations for brunch and they were never returned. Also spoke with the coffee shop manager about making reservations and he said someone would definitely contact us, but they never did. We stayed 4 nights and never dined on the property once, which was disappointing.

Room Tip: Loved our two room suite on the thirteenth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear 2zocean,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you were able to stay with us during the holiday season. We are pleased that you loved your suite and that you were pleased during your stay here. Thank you for your kind comments about our Holiday decorations and we hope that you left with many memorable moments. However, we are truly sorry that you did not have a wonderful experience with your dining . We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve during your recent stay. We strive for unparalleled service delivery at our hotel, and we are always looking for ways to ensure that each guest experiences the very best we have to offer. We believe that very best service experiences are genuine, anticipatory and personalized and we will continue to work to ensure our guests find that level of service at our hotel. Your feedback will help us to continue to improve our training processes, and we hope you will return to stay with us to experience the results of that work firsthand

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We visited New Orleans to attend the Sugar Bowl game between Alabama and Oklahoma. The hotel was located within walking distance to the Super Dome. The Christmas decorations in the lobby were beautiful and the service was excellent. In addition to being in walking distance to the Super Dome, the hotel was only a block away from Bourbon Street and the French Quarter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear William B,

We are delighted that you were able to travel to New Orleans for the Sugar Bowl game. We know that this is an exciting time for any fan and we are pleased that you decide to stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with our Trip Advisor community. Thank you for your kind words about our Christmas decorations and we hope that you left our lobby with many memorable moments. We hope that you have a wonderful New Year and we hope that you are able to visit us again in 2014.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A little background: I am a transplanted Louisianaian, having lived in Florida for the past 30 years. I still have family living in the New Orleans area, although as the years pass, sadly, the family is getting smaller and smaller.

My uncle and I are very close, and during a trip back to New Orleans last year, he and I walked through The Roosevelt to admire its beautiful holiday decorations. Although my uncle has lived in New Orleans his entire life, he has never actually stayed at The Roosevelt.

When I was planning this year's trip back home, I asked my uncle if he would be interested in our spending a night at The Roosevelt. You'd think I had just told him he won the lottery. He jumped at the invitation, and plans began to me made. (Be warned, the Waldorf-Astoria name does not come cheaply. Our double queen premium room was $299 for the night.)

A little history--The Roosevelt has been an institution in New Orleans ever since the 1800's. In its former life, it was known as The Fairmont. When Hurricane Katrina hit, the Fairmont flooded and was closed. During that time, Waldorf-Astoria bought the property and re-christened it The Roosevelt.

Our stayed at The Roosevelt occurred the week between Christmas and New Year's and I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this hotel.

Checkin was quick and efficient, and although I arrived there around 11AM, I was given a room, which I really appreciated. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, and have ginormous big-screen TV's.

The bellman brought up luggage within 15 minutes of it being requested. He even got ice for our ice bucket!.

The hotel was again beautifully decorated for the holidays, which added to our enjoyment of the property.

We dined at The Fountain Room, and were very happy with our meal there. The Sazerac Bar, a historic bar in New Orleans, located in the hotel, was too crowded when we were there, so we didn't get to try it out. Because the time we went is a VERY crowded time of year in New Orleans (upcoming home Saints game, New Years Eve, upcoming Sugar Bowl), I wouldn't expect the hotel or the Sazerac to be as crowded most other times of the year, with the exception of Mardi Gras or Jazzfest.

The only negative I have to report on regarding The Roosevelt is their daily parking fee, which is $42. Yes, I know this is an upscale hotel. But $42 a night for parking is excessive.

Everything else about the Roosevelt is wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, and again, remember the parking fee is $42 a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear fl_mermaid,

We are overjoyed that you and your Uncle were able to stay at The Roosevelt Hotel during the holidays. We know that when you travel especially back home, you would want your experience to be wonderful. We are very pleased that we were able to live up to your expectations and that you had a delightful time. We want to thank your family for being a patron of our hotel. We hope that you have a wonderful New Year and if you are able to travel back home that you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.