We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November stay at The Roosevelt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best of Waldorf Credit
Ranked #7 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Inverness, United States
1 review
“November stay at The Roosevelt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hats off to the entire staff. I don't think I have ever been to a hotel where even the staff working to change linens would greet you so kindly in the hallway, and with a smile. I'm not sure if it is because of Waldorf Astoria, because of New Orleans or a combo between the two but it made us feel extremely safe and welcomed. Every time we ran into someone in the hallway the greeted us with a smile and a kind, sincere "good morning." The thing that we missed the most at the hotel, however, was the presence of complimentary tea/coffee. I realize there is a barista downstairs so its a conflict of interest, but most hotels at least have a way to heat up water and with my wife being sick on this trip it would have been very beneficial. I found myself going outside the hotel often to get reasonably priced tea/coffee. Everything else about the hotel was outstanding. We attended a wedding reception and the found was amazing. I wish I had time to eat more of it! My daughter and I also got to meet Chef John Besh in the lobby which was a really cool touch. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    439
    133
    64
    33
See reviews for
255
765
84
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Enjoyed the old'school theme. Friendly and helpful staff, variety of on-location restaurants and sparkling rooms. A few blocks off the Riverwalk, but still a good location. I will definitely go back and recommend others to try it out.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The lobby is beautiful and the hotel is extremely quiet and well maintained. The room was extremely comfortable and the shower was awesome. The pool is outdoors with a hot tub and bar. The issue is the price. For the rate the concierge was virtually useless (they couldnt even recommend an oyster bar thats attached to the other hilton and couldnt be bothered to know anything about tours), the location was a bit farther than some of the other hotels, and the "status" perks are poor. As a gold member we received a drink ticket, to a bar you couldnt get a seat at (sazerac). If you're getting married or having a bar mitzvah this hotel would be stellar, but for a vacation in NO I'd seek out a different hotel. There is another Hilton property on St Charles avenue that seems to be more of a vacation spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a classic hotel that captures the beauty and elegance of its history and origin. The amenities were all there with impeccable attention to detail - nothing was missing. All of the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. One of the best restaurants we experienced was right in the hotel - Domenica.

Room Tip: Even our room near the elevator was great - no noise or even aware of its presence
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great place ... Sazerac bar was something from the past come to life! Staff was very cordial and helpful. Meeting rooms were very ornate and the perfect temperature. I would recommend this location to anyone looking for a classic hotel stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, United States
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel has exactly two things going for it: the fitness center, which is fabulous, and the restaurant Domenica, which we ate at 4 times in 6 days. I wouldn't recommend spending $400 a night to stay here. I'm sure you can find a room where the tv doesn't work properly and the bathroom is rundown and has absolutely no ventilation for a lot less per night if that is the kind of experience that appeals to you. The bottom line is that I think I have to right to expect more for what it costs to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Alison,

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to consistently provide our guests extraordinary experiences in every facet of their stay, and we have reported your concerns with guestroom appointment and amenities to our maintenance team to ensure we are presenting the best accommodations possible. We hope you will give us a second chance to demonstrate our commitment to timeless luxury and unparalleled service the next time you are in our area.

Thank you,
Jason Egli
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in October. The hotel was beautiful and and every experience from check-in to check-out was pleasant. The room we had was in tower 1 on the 14th floor (I think) and was very comfortable. We had a chance to hang out at the rooftop (4th floor) pool and bar for a bit and thought it was really nice to be up there in the hot tub with drinks. The concierge was helpful with suggestions, maps, and such. As for the location of the hotel it was a block from Bourbon St. so it was nice being across the street from the French quarter. Overall it was great and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.