We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off Dining
Ranked #7 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Roosevelt for a business meeting and it was beautiful. The location is convenient also and the service was outstanding. We have added the Roosevelt of our list of favorite hotels in New Orleans. It was the perfect location for a large meeting. The food was also very good. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Pati S,

We are delighted to learn that we are on your list of favorite hotels in New Orleans. Thank you for sharing your last visit with us and our TripAdvisor community. We strive to make sure that every guest leaves The Roosevelt Hotel with memorable memories that will last a lifetime. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and The Roosevelt Hotel.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,022
    365
    109
    55
    31
See reviews for
211
653
76
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel (Roosevelt Hotel) in New Orleans, Louisiana, for 6 nights on a hectic business trip. The hotel room was excellent for my needs, with ample space for working online with my laptop computer and hundreds of pages of documents (to segregate and review). The room was a free upgrade (to a suite) and was exceptionally clean and pleasantly decorated. The lobby areas, restaurants, and bars in the hotel were very elegant - reminding me of the oppulence of grand hotels in the U.S. from the 1930s. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to New Orleans on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. At The Roosevelt Hotel, we strive to make sure that all guests have a memorable experience. We are delighted that we were able to upgrade your room, making your business trip a little more comfortable. We hope that you travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we hope that you return to The Roosevelt Hotel soon.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel setting is gorgeous and great location. We stayed 3 nights from 23Aug2013 and the whole time experienced the worst service we have had to date in our Trip across the US. All the staff make sure there is no eye contact so you are generally ignored when in the lobby. This is ok unless you need them. If you approach reception expect to wait (even when they are not serving anyone) and be prepared for arrogant pretentious lazy responses. When we asked for help on where to go we got nothing. When leaving we had to drag our own bags (not even an offer for trolley) and struggled to open doors ourselves with luggage while a number of staff just hung round and watched. It was infuriating! We will try the other 5stars next time for sure in NOLA.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Srini R,

Thank you for choosing the Roosevelt New Orleans for your most recent stay and for providing us feedback on your time at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our location within the city and that our grounds were to your liking as well. We pride ourselves on providing each and every guest with the highest levels of service possible and are disheartened to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We have noted your comments and will ensure they are acted upon to improve the service our guests receive. We hope that you choose the Roosevelt for your next visit to New Orleans and thank you again for the feedback you have provided.

Best,
Jason Egli
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here during the Essence Festival and we truly enjoyed our stay! The hotel was very inviting...the room was spacious and we were surrounded in true luxury! We will be staying here again next year! Took the advice of another vistior from Trip Advisor and parked in the garage acroos from the hotel...saved $160!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Frank1269,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you had a magnificent time at our hotel during Essence Festival. We hope that you have a wonderful year and look forward to you’re future visit.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have a hard time believing these reviews are from real people who actually stayed in this hotel. The lobby reminds me of an old beleaguered train station, hardly the spectacle that some of the reviewers are describing. The distance to the French Quarter is reasonable and you are a block from the St. Charles Street trolley. Canal Street is a half block away. The "suite" includes a nice-sized bedroom with a comfortable bed; the sitting room is the same size as the bedroom, actually too large for a warm inviting sitting area: very awkward, to say the least. The bathroom was honestly comical: it was so small that the towels had to be kept in the bedroom closet. Not the spare towels, but the bath-towels were actually kept in the closet 15 feet away. There was no room to place any extra toiletries in the bathroom. When I asked incredulously at the front desk if they were serious about the bathroom size in our "suite," the manager noted that this was an "historic hotel........." The front desk, as noted by others, was poorly staffed, with the clerk often leaving for prolonged periods. I have not recently stayed in a Waldorf or any other supposed luxury hotel with similar non-chalance. The bar was lovely, although not enough tables were available and the restaurant was very nice. Overall experience was barely average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Greetings MFHLouisville_KY,

Thank you for choosing the Roosevelt New Orleans and taking time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We welcome comments such as yours so that we can be aware of area in which our guests enjoy their stay as well as for where we can improve our service levels, physical attributes and amenities offered. It is clear that the particular room we selected for you did not meet your expectations and for this please accept our sincerest apologies on behalf of the entire Roosevelt staff. We are looking forward to our newly renovated restaurant opening later this year and will pass on your comments regarding the seating capacities in our temporary dining location. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you consider us during your next visit to the wonderful city of New Orleans.

Jason Egli
Front Office Manager
Jason.Egli@WaldorfAstoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Sleeping rooms are very spacious, comfortable and well decorated. The hotel staff does an excellent job of attending to guest needs.

The hotel is located just across Canal street from the French Quarter. The entrance to Bourbon street is only 2-3 block away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear gibson270,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to read that you found The Roosevelt Hotel first class in all ways. Thank you for your kind words about our team members and we will absolutely pass this information along to them. We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back our way.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayne, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was the first time we stayed and it should be on your list of hotels to try. This property is a wonderful place and the staff was excellent. attention to detail and cleanness was outstanding. The bedding was first class. Very clean hotel, the lobby is a must see.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Jack M,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to read that you feel The Roosevelt Hotel should be on everybody’s hotel list. Thank you for your kind words about our team members and we will absolutely pass this information along to them. We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you our way.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.