We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best of Waldorf Credit
Ranked #7 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Smyrna, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here during the Essence Festival and we truly enjoyed our stay! The hotel was very inviting...the room was spacious and we were surrounded in true luxury! We will be staying here again next year! Took the advice of another vistior from Trip Advisor and parked in the garage acroos from the hotel...saved $160!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Frank1269,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you had a magnificent time at our hotel during Essence Festival. We hope that you have a wonderful year and look forward to you’re future visit.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,238
    439
    133
    64
    33
See reviews for
255
764
84
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have a hard time believing these reviews are from real people who actually stayed in this hotel. The lobby reminds me of an old beleaguered train station, hardly the spectacle that some of the reviewers are describing. The distance to the French Quarter is reasonable and you are a block from the St. Charles Street trolley. Canal Street is a half block away. The "suite" includes a nice-sized bedroom with a comfortable bed; the sitting room is the same size as the bedroom, actually too large for a warm inviting sitting area: very awkward, to say the least. The bathroom was honestly comical: it was so small that the towels had to be kept in the bedroom closet. Not the spare towels, but the bath-towels were actually kept in the closet 15 feet away. There was no room to place any extra toiletries in the bathroom. When I asked incredulously at the front desk if they were serious about the bathroom size in our "suite," the manager noted that this was an "historic hotel........." The front desk, as noted by others, was poorly staffed, with the clerk often leaving for prolonged periods. I have not recently stayed in a Waldorf or any other supposed luxury hotel with similar non-chalance. The bar was lovely, although not enough tables were available and the restaurant was very nice. Overall experience was barely average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Greetings MFHLouisville_KY,

Thank you for choosing the Roosevelt New Orleans and taking time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We welcome comments such as yours so that we can be aware of area in which our guests enjoy their stay as well as for where we can improve our service levels, physical attributes and amenities offered. It is clear that the particular room we selected for you did not meet your expectations and for this please accept our sincerest apologies on behalf of the entire Roosevelt staff. We are looking forward to our newly renovated restaurant opening later this year and will pass on your comments regarding the seating capacities in our temporary dining location. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you consider us during your next visit to the wonderful city of New Orleans.

Jason Egli
Front Office Manager
Jason.Egli@WaldorfAstoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Sleeping rooms are very spacious, comfortable and well decorated. The hotel staff does an excellent job of attending to guest needs.

The hotel is located just across Canal street from the French Quarter. The entrance to Bourbon street is only 2-3 block away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear gibson270,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to read that you found The Roosevelt Hotel first class in all ways. Thank you for your kind words about our team members and we will absolutely pass this information along to them. We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back our way.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayne, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was the first time we stayed and it should be on your list of hotels to try. This property is a wonderful place and the staff was excellent. attention to detail and cleanness was outstanding. The bedding was first class. Very clean hotel, the lobby is a must see.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Jack M,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to read that you feel The Roosevelt Hotel should be on everybody’s hotel list. Thank you for your kind words about our team members and we will absolutely pass this information along to them. We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you our way.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Really liked the Roosevelt. Very friendly staff, comfortable clean rooms, within walking distance to many attractions and good restaurants. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends. Had 2 teenagers with us and they really liked it too. Pool is much smaller then it appears on the website.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Dana L,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful time during your stay. Your patronage and loyalty are highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to our next opportunity to welcome you and your family back for another family trip.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is the first time I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria in New Orleans. I felt like a celebrity. The hotel is beautiful, clean, elegant. Hotel staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. When i'm back in New Orleans, this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Ursula J,

We are delighted to read that you felt like a celebrity during your stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are overjoyed that our hotel staff was friendly and welcoming. We hope that you travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and The Roosevelt Hotel.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. The hotel accommodated us perfectly for relaxation and luxury. We were able to walk to all of our New Orleans destinations. Additionally, I felt comfortable with lounging at the hotel whenever we felt like staying inside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Ursula J,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor Community . We are delighted that you were able to spend your 20th wedding anniversary with us! Thank you very much for sharing that special occasion and we are delighted that our hotel was perfect destination for some needed relaxation and luxury. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we look forward to your future stay.

Best,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Otel, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.