We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay in the big easy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off Dining
Ranked #7 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
kansas city, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay in the big easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I enjoyed the Roosevelt. wife and 13 year old had a jr suite accommodation. great location close to quarter, but not in it. Rooms are spacious, and great lobby. Had drinks at the very cool bar, and service there and other places in hotel were just great

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,038
    372
    112
    55
    31
See reviews for
214
658
79
419
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The location is perfect for the business person and or couples/friend! Everyone was friendly and helpful, a plush bed awaits you after a long day and journey~ The Sazerac Bar is a must (it take you way back in time)... never had one, but I will tell you, I am hooked! Walikng distance to everything... So, if you are looking for a class act, crawling distance to Bourbon Street and the Warehouse district.. this is your place! Laissez les bons temps rouler!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a beautifully renovated hotel worthy of the Waldorf Astoria name. Its location is superb, near the French Quarter and close to other convention, meeting facilities and the central business district.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a weekend here for a conference and enjoyed our stay immensely. The staff was a cohesive team with solid training and earnest desire to please and make sure your stay is wonderful. The room and bed were modern-a tad small-but completely appointed with a great shower experience as well. The events were well organized and put on with style. We popped into a wedding down the hall and our breath was taken away-the room was amazing! Brides to be must check out the ballrooms and put this place on your list to consider. Any travel has hiccups and ours turned on postal issues. UPS is in the hotel and manages the mail. They never informed us our package had arrived and there was great confusion in finding it....the hotel staff is superb, but their partnership with UPS in house is a weak link. People watching at the pool was fun, but chairs run out early on summer days. Also, with our southern heat, I was surprised there were no misters-but the shower in one of the bathrooms was ICE cold and the bartenders/servers were wonderful so all was well....this property is all about history and location location location. You may ask for an in house tour of the property which is well worth your time. Also, being just across the street from the quarter makes dining and dancing easy and safe. We walked to Bayona, and returned later for drinks in the Sazerac. A MUST when staying here. Try something new, figure out the fantastic murals, and talk to the brilliant concierges who will undoubtedly help you feel like you have found a new home in a beautiful old property.

Room Tip: There is a new "wing" that I believe is all suites. Check which "tower" your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear crymnd,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful time at The Roosevelt Hotel. It is always a joy to read that our guest leave with such fond memories of our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor community. New Orleans is a city that is filled with history, culture, and entertainment. We are delighted that our location allowed you to experience all of these elements during your stay. Thank you for your kind words about how our staff made your stay at The Roosevelt pleasurable and comfortable. We hope your travels do not keep you far from the Crescent City and we look forward in serving you again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights during Jazz Festival in early May. The foyer is just stunning. The room was well appointed with one of the most comfortable beds you will ever have the pleasure to sleep in. Breakfast was superb with some great example of local cuisine added to the usual Hotel breakfast menu. My only problem during my stay was the fact that I was overcharged $300 on my final account. One staff member was unhelpful dealing with the problem . I was able to go back to the desk about an hour later and found another staff member who sorted the problem out for me immediately. It didn't concern me or detract from my stay - I just had to find one of the many incredibly attentive staff to sort it out for me!

Room Tip: Best to face away from Canal St - the noise of the Police cars and Ambulances at night can be quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Leylandbros,

Jazz fest is a wonderful time to travel down to the Crescent City and we are delighted that you chose to stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. Thank you for taking time and telling our TripAdvisor community about your experience during your stay. We truly regret that you had a disappointing experience with a staff member at the front desk, but delighted that the issue was resolved. At The Roosevelt Hotel, exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and The Roosevelt Hotel.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, LA, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I wanted to treat my wife to an enjoyable weekend in the "Big Easy" to celebrate her birthday and the it turned out to be fabulous. It all began with the help of the receptionist in Reservations for the Roosevelt and ended with all the pleasantries of a luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Bernie D,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you were able to have a special weekend for your wife at The Roosevelt Hotel. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from our hotel and we look forward in sharing many memorable moments with you in the future.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed at the Roosevelt July 17th to 20th. This is our third stay at this beautiful hotel. We were fortunate enough to stay in the Huey P Long, Governors Suite. Absolutely perfect in every way. The location is great, a very short walk and you are right in the quarter. The staff was wonderful, from the bartenders and serving staff in the Sazerac to the staff in the gift shop. A special thanks to Zaine Jack for taking such good care of us. This will be the only place we stay in NOLA.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Tammy K,

We are delighted that you and your loved one were able to stay in the Huey P Long, Governors Suite during your last stay. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to learn that you feel our hotel is the only place to stay in New Orleans and we thank you for your patronage. We do appreciate your kind words about our staff members at The Roosevelt Hotel and will be sure to pass the compliments along to their managers. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and The Roosevelt.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.