We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing stay at the Roosevelt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frisco, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another amazing stay at the Roosevelt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed at the Roosevelt July 17th to 20th. This is our third stay at this beautiful hotel. We were fortunate enough to stay in the Huey P Long, Governors Suite. Absolutely perfect in every way. The location is great, a very short walk and you are right in the quarter. The staff was wonderful, from the bartenders and serving staff in the Sazerac to the staff in the gift shop. A special thanks to Zaine Jack for taking such good care of us. This will be the only place we stay in NOLA.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Tammy K,

We are delighted that you and your loved one were able to stay in the Huey P Long, Governors Suite during your last stay. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to learn that you feel our hotel is the only place to stay in New Orleans and we thank you for your patronage. We do appreciate your kind words about our staff members at The Roosevelt Hotel and will be sure to pass the compliments along to their managers. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and The Roosevelt.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    495
    155
    69
    37
See reviews for
299
853
89
575
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, the staff courteous. The value of the luxury that we received for what we paid for a deluxe king room was amazing with my husband's military discount. A wonderful, wonderful price for a wonderful, wonderful hotel. It was lovely to hear Michael, the shoe shine fellow, singing "Good Morning," as I walked down the hall. Even with what looked to be a slow week for him, he was jolly and sang so beautifully. We had a lovely stay that set a fantastic tone to a fabulous vacation in New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Carmen R,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor Community. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time during your stay at The Roosevelt. Thank you for your kind words about Mr. Mike. He is absolutely a joy and definitely brightens our lobby up in the morning for our guest. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We cannot exclaim enough about how lovely this property has become. it is luxurious in every respect, close to interesting places in New Orleans, and the service is incomparable. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Sylvia P,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor Community. We are overjoyed that you would highly recommend our hotel to others. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Roosevelt for a conference in mid-July. Everything was top notch, from the room to the way the hotel staff handled the conference. The rooms are small compared to your typical hotel room, but they are updated and have everything you need for a comfortable stay. Location is great, right off Canal and just a short walk to Bourbon. The outdoor pool and Jacuzzi were one of the best I've seen in the French Quarter / Downtown area for a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Tampa 1029,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor Community. We are delighted that you were able to travel to New Orleans for a conference. The Roosevelt Hotel is absolutely the perfect location for work with the option to enjoy the city around us. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy our rooftop pool and relax from a day’s work. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and that you consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and escorted inside for checkin. There was great attention to detail in making sure our needs were met. An room upgrade was provided at checkin. Our time at the pool was outstanding. The bar service was exceptional. We also enjoyed how close the hotel was to everything we wanted to see and experience in New Orleans. Our stay was very enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Jim C,

Nothing means Southern Hospitality than a warm greeting and escorting inside The Roosevelt Hotel. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor Community. We are overjoyed that you had an extremely satisfying stay and that you were able to experience all of New Orleans. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from the Crescent City and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights including 4th july.Diamond member so I was upgraded from Junoir suit to luxury suit.
the luxury suit ,though old fashion in design was very large in every way.Huge lounge-large bedroom--largest bathroom ever--most storage areas ever including a closet as big as some hotel rooms--no kidding.
pros-
1.excellent comfortable bedding
2.brilliant for Bourbon st etc --so close yet so so quiet!
3.brilliant staff
4.pool area ok
5.great cocktail lounge--ask for a mango champage !!
6.excellent staff and housekeeping is so efficient.
7.spa staff great and gym ok.
cons-
1.if you are like me and go for ultra modern new hotels takes a little adjustment but this is a great old clean property.
2.do not expect views from rooms.
3.corriders are basic!!
A big thank you to all the staff for our excellent stay.

Room Tip: Suits a must--basic rooms are small we were told ???
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Bluenose01,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you were able for an upgrade your room making your stay extra special. Comments like yours are greatly appreciated. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from the Crescent City and we look forward to serve you again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I thoroughly researched hotels before arriving in New Orleans. We wanted to stay in a very nice hotel but were not sure if we wanted to stay IN the French Quarter or within walking distance of the French Quarter. We opted to stay outside the French Quarter. THIS WAS A WISE DECISION. It would have been too noisy, and it was nice to go to our hotel where the pace was quiet and relaxing. The rooms were beautiful and the bathroom was updated and modern. The bed was fabulous. I have a bad back and usually always have somewhat of a backache whenever I sleep away from home. Not a twinge in my back and I slept great. Treat yourself - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear djs9171950,

We are delighted that you were able to stay at The Roosevelt Hotel during your recent visit to New Orleans. Sharing with our community certainly helps in their vacation planning and your comments are greatly appreciated. We are delighted that you were able to stay steps away from the historic French Quarter, but able to escape the excitement when you return to rest. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from the Crescent City and we look forward to serve you again.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Amex, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.