We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Exquisite Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn up to 4x points!
Ranked #8 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Exquisite Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked the Roosevelt for our vacation to New Orleans because of its proximity to the French Quarter, restaurants, and other attractions. We were not disappointed in the least. What a beautiful property. I commend the property owners for the fantastic job in renovating the hotel after Katrina. The trim work, the ornate fixtures and the service was fabulous. What a delight in seeing the hotel in its glory.
Rooms: were very clean and the care can be seen how the staff keeps the room up.
Service: a 10 out of 10. What a great cadre of of house keepers and room service. Well attired and very polite.
I will book again at this hotel. Thank you Roosevelt!

Room Tip: If you can, get the suite. What a treat with the upgraded showers and separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Mlmora,

We are so delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. Thank you very much for taking time and letting the TripAdvisor community know about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our recent renovation and soak in the history of our hotel. Thank you for your kind words about our house keeping staff and how their attention to detail surpassed your expectations. We hope that your travels does not keep you to far from New Orleans and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,089
    392
    117
    58
    31
See reviews for
235
685
79
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Magnificent grand dame of New Orleans with wonderful staff rooms and amenities. A must see and stay at hotel; right next to the french quarter. Excellent suggestions from entiere staff and the bar is a great place to have drinks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear TripAdvisorMember,

Thank you so much for taking time and letting our Trip Advisor community know about your recent stay. We are so very pleased to hear that you believe our hotel is magnificent grand dame of New Orleans. Thank you so much for these kind words. We will look forward to your return and hope that your return soon.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at the Roosevelt for five nights in April. The rooms are modern, well-appointed, and. I travel frequently for work and the bedding is very comfortable. The coffee bar, Teddy's, is an elegant place to conduct business or get a dessert. The hotel personnel go out their way to provide excellent hospitality. This is my hotel of choice when visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Rumbera1967,

Thank you so much for taking time and letting our Trip Advisor community know about your recent stay. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your room and our many outlets. Thank you again for the kind words about The Roosevelt Team Members. We will look forward to your return and hope that your travels do not keep you far.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

One can feel and see that this hotel has history. The bar is something to see so is the hallway. Unfortunately the rooms with this amazing ugly carpets need desperately a refresher. Unfortunately the beds are also not the newestest on the other hand the bathrooms are ok. The fitness is not up to the standard this hotel would like to be.
The pool and the bar is also a little bit dated. The cappucino is not worth its name.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Go100go,

Thank you for staying with us. I understand that you found our hotel to be somewhat dated. I do appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room appearance is an area we are actively examining. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share. Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts with us. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Best,
Mark Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My favorite thing about this hotel is the linens they use. There beds are to die for. There is no evening restaurant so plan ahead for dinners out. The bar is great. The history of the hotel is great. My watch went missing from my room not so great. Oh and the charged my for valet parking-I didn't have a car, again not so great. Of course the removed the charges when made aware.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking time and letting the TripAdvisor community know about your recent stay. We are so delighted to hear that one of your favorite things about our hotel is the linens. Many do love our beds and we are so pleased that you were able to sleep soundly during your stay. We regret that you had an unfortunate experience during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We want you to know that the comments we receive from our guests are taken very seriously. We invite you to contact our Front Office Manager, Mark T. Remer at mark.remer@waldorfastoria.com to speak further about your stay.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

So my husband and I are hilton honors members, I actually gold which is significant since if they have availability they are supposed to upgrade the room and also include breakfast. or give hilton gold members access to their lounge (which has food and drinks at certain set hours), anyway, the reason I bring this up is because this hotel does not participate in such nonsense. I've notice as a whole Waldorf Astoria claims that every single guest should be treated equally and so that is the reason they don't like to participate in such a program that distinguishes individuals. But the truth is that there are differences between guests. If I travel a lot and always stay at a Hilton I think I should be recognized as VIP AND TREATED SO.

That being said the hotel is divine, it is beautiful , service is great and it is centrally located without being on top of Bourbon street which you would never want to do. But if I knew that there would be no perks I actually would have just at the W or somewhere else because this was pricier.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear em m,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at our hotel. We at take a great deal of pride in meeting our customer’s expectations and are disappointed anytime we fall short of that goal. Your input and concerns are appreciated.

Again, thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to my attention. We value your business and will continue to work hard to exceed your expectations.

Thank you,
The Roosevelt Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Before I jump into my review, I will attempt to qualify myself as a worthy reviewer. I travel every week, all over the world, and am OCD about cleanliness, especially when I am traveling. I always look forward to coming to the Roosevelt. Yes, I have Hilton Honors status, but the items I list below are regardless of status.

This hotel is the best. Why?
- The rooms are ALWAYS immaculate, beautifully decorated, stocked with all the complimentary items you need (Ferragamo toiletries, sewing kit, complimentary shoe shine...).
- The rooms are quiet (this is New Orleans...right in the French Quarter after all)
- The wifi works. This should be enough.
- The beds are absolutely divine comfortable. The sheets are the softest things ever.
- The bathroom linens - ALWAYS white, soft, and new. I hate when you stay in a hotel and the towels are 15 years old, dingy gray, and hole-y.
- Did I mention the rooms are awesome?
- The gym is fully equipped with free weights, the best up-to-date and well kept cardio machines, kettle bells, even foam rollers.
- Dominca restaurant is in the hotel, is reasonably priced, and I prefer the food here over the 5 star $$$$ restaurants any day. (Note: I am also a food snob)
- Teddy's Cafe and Sazerac Restaurant will bend over backwards to give you what you are looking for. 2 scrabbled egg whites without oil? No problem. And only $4.xx. Arugula salad with fresh lump crab meat? Always my favorite...and < $20.
- Service..omg everyone is super nice and the "real" nice...not the fake nice. I needed a cab to drive me a few blocks. The cab drivers were mean and wanted the "airport" customers. Bellman told them to keep moving...and wouldn't accept that behavior.
- The location - very convenient to Walgreens/CVS (for when you need something quick), the French Quarter (for when you need something FQy), the CBD (for when you need to get work done), the mall, etc...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear tipsypink,

Thank you so much for taking time and letting our Trip Advisor community know about your recent stay. We really do appreciate your detailed review and ecstatic that you are a patron of our hotel. It brings us great joy to hear that are outlets are more than wonderful, and that you have a pleasant experience each time you stay. We are also very pleased with the compliments you had for our bellman, and we will pass them along to their manager. We will look forward to your return and hope that your travels do not keep you far. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.