We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off John Besh Cuisine
Ranked #9 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Malibu, California, United States
Level Contributor
410 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Roosevelt is a lovely hotel located on the edge of the French Quarter. The rooms are comfortable, excellent bed and shower bath facilities. Multiple shower heads are a real treat and the staff is very service oriented. Very good bars and eating establishments in the hotel. Parking is steep at $42.00 per day.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room and it will be quieter and you will still have plenty of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with the Trip Advisor Community. We thank you for choosing The Roosevelt Hotel and we are very pleased that you had a comfortable stay. We hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,485
    515
    165
    73
    40
See reviews for
317
901
91
615
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend trip to New Orleans which we found out when we arrived was during the French Quarter Fest.

The rooms were very large, clean, and well furnished. The front desk staff were fast and courteous and the concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful with educating us about the French Quarter Fest, places to eat, and things to see/do while we were in town.

While the room was expensive I guess that's what I get when I don't do my homework and get one of the last rooms in town during a major festival. All in all this was a fantastic hotel and we were glad that we stayed here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear RichieUT,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with the Trip Advisor Community. We thank you for choosing The Roosevelt Hotel and we are very pleased that you were able to experience French Quarter Fest. It gives us great pleasure that you enjoyed your room and that our team members made your experience memorable. We hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was in New Orleans "after" Mardi Gras for a conference held at the Roosevelt in New Orleans. In 23 years of attending meetings and conferences, this had to be the best. The entire staff, from the moment I arrived until I left was fantastic.

Always at a conference, there is some odd or bizarre happenstance, and the bellman & concierge were ready, willing, and able to help.

The Bartenders at lunch gave me various samples of their afternoon offerings (while the dining area was packed); the wait staff for our convention lunch were warm & friendly (thanks for the second salad); and maintenance folks were quick to help the vendors who were in need.

Rooms were great. Loved the shower! And the bed was very comfortable.

Business or pleasure - I highly recommend the Roosevelt!

Room Tip: Higher floors offered a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Bill F,

Thank you for taking time to stop by Trip Advisor and let the community know about your recent stay. We really do value your comments and take them into consideration to make sure future guest have a flawless experience. As a experience business travel, we are so glad to hear that our service was fantastic. We know that traveling for business can be hard, and we strive to make our guest feel like they are home. We will absolutely let our bellman, concierges and bartenders know of your kind words. We hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Waldorf is usually ok. In New Orleans WA keeps standards in general. However the room we had was quite small, you have to pay extra for wifi - In such a Garden Inn it is complimentary - and it is also a Hilton group. Ok i know i can take a G.Inn, but paying more than 400$ per night I can also expect basic services typical for the 21st century. Guests before us left their ice cream in the mini bar. Melted down. Three days nobody checked it, but they kindly and officially inform you that the fridge is monitored and whatever you take is automaticaly added to your bill, and for whatever you put into - your own bottle - they charge a daily storage fee of 25$. Nice. Good point was that finally we were not charged for it. We took the Best of Waldorf rate. That means: for extra 25$ you can get a credit of 50$ per day to be used at any hotel shop, spa restaurant. So we went to the restaurant called Domenica IN THE HOTEL and put the bill ON THE ROOM. But at the check out I was informed that this particular restaurant does not belong to Waldorf. WOW. But they officially and cordially invite there. Good food btw.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Kaukaski,

Thank you for your review. I understand that you were unsatisfied with some of the charges. I am so sorry if some of the charges were not clear with you when you first booked your room and if this inconvenienced you in any way. We do all we can to create a great experience for each of our guests; actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for comfort and convenience. I appreciate your review as it provides valuable feedback.

Again, I do thank you for your review and sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have gone through. I hope that the next time you are in the area, please consider staying with us at again.

Sincerely,

Mark Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in the 80's when it was a part of the Fairmont chain. It was dark, dingy, run down & in drastic need of a full make over. I was pleasantly surprised that the entire facility was given a restoration. The rooms are big & beautifully decorated. The public areas are grand. The gift shop superb. Restaurants were mediocre but Sazarac's bar was fantastic! Bartenders could have been a little more friendly. Bell staff always around to help. Front desk staff were exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear twocapemay,

Thank you so much for choosing The Roosevelt Hotel and we are grateful for your positive comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you truly enjoyed our current renovation and thank you for your loyalty. Thank you for your gracious comments on the hotel amenities. We will definitely pass your kind words along to our bell staff and front desk. They are a key part of our guest experience and a major asset to our hotel. Thank you for your patronage and we hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Roosevelt is a fine hotel in the tradition of the other Waldorf-Astoria properties. It is located off Canal St near the French Quarter, within a 5-10 min walk of the Riverfront and other distinations. The lobby is a remarkable and welcoming admixture of architectural style . The lobby bar (Sazarac) and Restaurant (Dominica's) are inviting and fit "just right" into the decor. There are two room towers--the original dating backto the 1890 and a second tower built (I think) in the 30s. I stayed in the older tower, and my room was spacious, comfortable and well-appointed by any standard.
The hotel took a major hit from Katrina and was out of commission for almost 4 years. Whoever came up with the $ to repair the place spent it well. If you have the chance to stay here while in New Orleans, don't pass it us. And have a Sazarac in the lobby bar--it's the only place in town that knows how to make it right.

One downside note: Canal Street at night is a very sketchy place even today. DO NOT go out for a walk after 10.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Hodmeister,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We really do appreciate your patronage and we hope if your business travels brings you back to New Orleans. Your words are truly kind and we are pleased that you enjoyed the history of our grand hotel. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding the Sazerac Bar. We will look forward to serving you again, hopefully in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama city, florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel offers elegance from the 1930's and 40's. The rooms are up to date with all the upgrades but there are tiny traces of the Deco influence remaining through out the hotel. The hotel bar is a special place with strong deco influences warmth and comfort. A great place to relax or meet for a business conversation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear pitstop53,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. We hope that our hotel made your business travel a luxurious one. Thank you for the wonderful comments of our elegant deco in our rooms and throughout the hotel. Your patronage is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming back next time you travel to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.